CTR Current Contests and Events

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Summer Knight by Jim Butcher

Released: September 3, 2002
Publisher: Roc
Rated: YA
Buy Summer Knight (The Dresden Files, Book 4)here

Private detective/wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden is suckered into tangling in the affairs of Faerie, where the fate of the entire world-and his soul-are at stake.

Yes, this is all that was offered as a description. Effective.

What I thought:


Ah, I just can't get enough of Harry. While he may act like a bumbling idiot quite a bit, he still has a good heart and just wants to do the right thing, even if everyone else doesn't want him to.

Harry is always in trouble, this time with the Council. If the vote doesn't work in his favor, he's dead. While this was an interesting plot, by the time we found out the who dun it stuff, I had forgotten all about this! Not sure if that is a good or bad thing, but it was definitely a 'How could I forget' moment.

Mr Butcher is really a great writer. He uses wit and sarcasm flawlessly that keeps me laughing while able to write the serious scenes that keep me trying not to cry. This book is definitely worth the read!

I gave it 4 stars!

Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday (7)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
 

Twice Bitten by Chloe Neill  
A Chicagoland Vampires Novel, book 3
Release Date: July 6, 2010

Shapeshifters from across the country are convening in the Windy City, and as a gesture of peace, Master Vampire Ethan Sullivan has offered their leader a very special bodyguard: Merit, Chicago's newest vampire. Merit is supposed to protect the Alpha, Gabriel Keene-and to spy for the vamps while she's at it. Oh, and luckily Ethan's offering some steamy, one-on-one combat training sessions to help her prepare for the mission.

Unfortunately, someone is gunning for Gabriel, and Merit soon finds herself in the line of fire. She'll need all the help she can get to track down the would-be assassin, but everywhere she turns, there are rising tensions between supernaturals-not least between her and a certain green-eyed, centuries-old master vampire. 


WWW Wednesday is hosted by Should Be Reading.

To play along, just answer the 3 questions...

*What are you currently reading?
  - Summer Knight by Jim Butcher

*What have you recently finish reading?
  - The Highlander's Touch

*What do you think you'll read next?
  - Kiss of the Highlander (book 4 in the Highlander series) by Karen Marie Moning

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Teaser Tuesday (7)

 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

    Summer Knight by Jim Butcher
    The Dresden Files, book 4

    "Well, I was going to settle down with a porn video and a bottle of baby oil, but I really don't have enough for two."  Morgan's expression twisted in revulsion, and I felt an absurd little burst of vindictive satisfaction.

    Sunday, June 27, 2010

    Busy Weekend

    Oh, it feels like ages since I last posted on here!  Only a couple of days, really, but I haven't had much time to finish reading Summer Knight by Jim Butcher, although I should be done with it soon.  My boyfriend proposed Friday night (and I accepted!) and well, you know, reading just took the back seat for the weekend.   Luckily, I have a great guy who supports my book addiction (I support his gaming addiction, it is only fair!).  I will be playing catch up the next couple days to get back on schedule!

    Thursday, June 24, 2010

    The Highlander's Touch by Karen Marie Moning

    Released: November 7, 2000
    Publisher: Dell
    Rated: Adult
    Buy The Highlander's Touch (Highlander, Book 3) here

    A Warrior Of Immortal Powers

    He was a mighty Scottish warrior who lived in a world bound by ancient laws and timeless magic. But no immortal powers could prepare the laird of Castle Brodie for the lovely accursed lass who stood before him. A terrible trick of fate had sent her 700 years back in time and into his private chamber to tempt him with her beauty—and seduce him with a desire he could never fulfill. For this woman he burned to possess was also the woman he had foresworn to destroy.

    A Woman Caught In The Mists Of Time

    When Lisa felt the earth move under her feet, the fiercely independent 21st-century woman never dreamed she was falling...into another century. But the powerful, naked warrior who stood glaring down at her was only too real...and too dangerously arousing. Irresistibly handsome he might be, but Lisa had no intention of remaining in this savage land torn by treachery and war. How could she know that her seductive captor had other plans for her...plans that would save her from a tragic fate? Or that this man who had long ago forsaken love would defy time itself to claim her for his own....


    What I thought:


    So far, I'd say this is the best in this series... but I am just barely getting around to reading them, so that may change later.

    I liked the idea better, that Lisa was pulled through time because of an ill worded curse, instead of meddling fairies. I was really drawn to Lisa, my heart ached for her with what she was suffering with. Watching her mother die and working herself to death. I'm glad she got a chance to love and more importantly, be loved in return (I know, totally stole that from Moulin Rouge, but very fitting).

    The story itself was very interesting. Precious hallows that must be guarded, the battle between Scotland and England and the destruction of an ancient order of Templars. This was a very enjoyable read!

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Blogging 101

    Blogging 101 is hosted by Candace here.  Since I'm pretty new to blogging, I will be answering her questions she has posted.

    How many posts do you put up in a day (or do you blog everyday)? And what are your thoughts on it?

    I post just about everyday.  I don't like my blog to be filled with memes only so I only am participating in three right now.  I post every time I finish a book, which is about every day to every other day.  But it doesn't go long before I have another post.  While I love to participate in the memes I have, it interferes with my reading time and puts me behind, which is another reason I don't participate in more, at the moment.

    Candance listed her memes, so I will list mine as well:

    Tuesday- Tuesday Teaser
    Wednesday- Waiting on Wednesday and WWW Wednesday
    Thursday- Blogging 101


    What are some pet peeves when it comes to blogging?

    Well, I haven't been blogging long, two months, but I have to agree with several points Candace made.  Comment moderation, and word verification when it isn't on the comment box in the first place.  I don't know how many times I realized I closed the window when I thought I posted when it loaded to a page with a word verification.  Oi!  Then having to go back and republish my comments is a hassle.  Now, however, I have learned to wait to see if it will require me, but it is much easier if it is on one page.


     I don't allow anonymous comments anymore (whoa!  I learned fast too!).  I now only allow people who have open ID or google and whatnot, because it keeps it friendly.  I also get irritated when someone leaves a link in a code to their blog for their post, it takes you to their main page and you have to sift through posts to get to the one you want.  I link mine directly to the related post so readers don't have to wade through other stuff.  If they like my blog well enough they will hit home and explore, but if they just want to see my post they don't have to jump through hoops to get there.

    Wednesday, June 23, 2010

    Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday (6)

    "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
    The Sweet Series
    Sweet Possession, by Maya Banks 
    Release Date: April 2011
    Book 5 in the Sweet Series (cover unavailable so far) 

    She’s a singer who lives for the spotlight—and can’t resist her adoring fans…
    Outrageous and out-of-control, Lyric Jones is a spoiled pop star who lives hard and fast, always outrunning her past and the nightmares that haunt her. She’s used to getting what she wants—groupies included—because she can’t stand to be alone. So in bed, it’s the more the merrier, even if it means closing off the deepest part of herself…

    He’s a hands-on bodyguard—and a one-woman man.
    There is nothing Connor Malone wants to do less than babysit the celebratty songstress while she’s on vacation. But part of him relishes taming Lyric and showing her what it’s like to be possessed—body and soul—by one man. And though Lyric’s crazy antics nearly drive Connor to the edge, his quiet intensity penetrates her defenses, leaving them both vulnerable to the secrets that could topple Lyric from the stage.

    *Note:  I wasn't sure if people knew, but these are erotica books*

    WWW Wednesday is hosted by Should Be Reading.

    To play along, just answer the 3 questions...

    *What are you currently reading?
      - Banshee Cries (short story from an anthology) by CE Murphy

    *What have you recently finish reading?
      - Thunderbird Falls by CE Murphy

    *What do you think you'll read next?
      - The Highlander's Touch (book 3 in the Highlander series) by Karen Marie Moning.


    Tuesday, June 22, 2010

    Thunderbird Falls by CE Murphy

    Released: May 1, 2006
    Publisher: Luna
    Rated: YA
    Series: The Walker Papers, Book 2
    Buy Thunderbird Falls here

    After a fencing lesson at the university, Joanne stumbles on the body of Cassandra Tucker, a 20-year-old junior, in the showers. The autopsy report states that Cassandra's death was due to a heart condition, but Joanne suspects otherwise. In her role as shaman, Joanne investigates "the Dead Zone," a place between life and death, while her earthside sleuthing leads to a coven that in recognition of her special abilities invites her to take Cassandra's place in opening a passage between worlds for Virissong, an ancient Native American spirit who's expected to end a local heat wave and global warming. Unfortunately, if not surprisingly, Joanne discovers after several nightmarish and somewhat bloated magical misadventures that Virissong is one nasty lying serpent.

    What I thought:

    I liked both the first book and this one... but I'm noticing with Murphy sometimes she just draws things out too much. The details were killing me after a while.  I find myself skimming over parts that just drag on and on. The story is great, however, and I kept reading because I had to know what would happen next to poor Jo. But I was getting annoyed with her still resistant to what she is. It's been 6 months since her last misadventure, she's had to have learned something since then.... right? Well, apparently we start out with her in about the same state.  She regresses quite a bit throughout the novel, one step forward, two steps back.

    I liked the characters, for the most part. Sometimes I think it is a little strange for Gary and Joanne to hang out since, you know, he's old enough to be her grandfather. But in the end, I tend to forget he's 73. Not sure that is a good thing or a bad thing.

    I gave it 3 stars!

    Teaser Tuesday (6)

    teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
    Thunderbird Falls by CE Murphy
    A Walker Papers Novel, book 2

    "But Billy's starting to look like a prize bull."  Billy sat back.  "I think I'm offended."  "Well, let us know when you're sure." I beamed at him.  He snorted.  "See? Now your sounding like one, too."

    -Joanne and Billy-

    Saturday, June 19, 2010

    To Tame a Highland Warrior by Karen Marie Moning

    Released: December 1, 1999
    Publisher: Dell
    Rated: Adult

    Only her love could gentle his savage soul--

    He was born to a clan of warriors of supernatural strength, but Gavrael McIllioch abandoned his name and his Highland castle, determined to escape the dark fate of his ancestors. Hiding his identity from the relentless rival clan that hunted him, he called himself Grimm to protect the people he cared for, vowing never to acknowledge his love for ravishing Jillian St. Clair. Yet even from afar he watched over her, and when her father sent an urgent summons, "Come for Jillian," he raced to her side--into a competition to win her hand in marriage.

    Why had he run from her so many years before? And why return now to see her offered as a prize in her father's manipulative game? Furious, Jillian vowed never to wed. But Grimm was the man she loved, the one who urged her to marry another. He tried to pretend indifference as she tempted him, but he could not deny the fierce desires that compelled him to abduct her from the altar. She was the only woman who could tame the beast that raged within him--even as deadly enemies plotted to destroy them both....


    What I thought:

    I really enjoyed the first book, but this one didn't wow me like I thought it would have.  While it was an entertaining read, I just couldn't find it up to par with the rest of KMM's work that I have read so far.  The three suitors felt very forced, and while we see Jillian going after Grimm, there just wasn't any suspense on who she would pick after Grimm repeatedly rejected her. 

    We get to a scene that was supposed to be climatic, would Grimm come to the rescue and save Jillian from marrying the wrong guy?  Well, the plot was spoiled when the author spoils it several pages earlier and on several occasions.  While it would have been cheesy it would have been better if she didn't clue the reader in on it (even though most could have seen it coming).

    I liked the story, but it had its ridiculous and cheesy moments.

    I gave it 3 stars!

    Thursday, June 17, 2010

    Wings by Aprilynne Pike

    Released: May 5, 2009
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Rated: Young Adult
    Buy Wings here

    Fifteen-year-old Laurel has led a sheltered, homeschooled life in a very small town, so when her parents decide to move and enroll her in high school, she has trouble getting used to her new life. A life, as it turns out, that’s not at all like those of other kids. One clear sign is a winglike blossom that blooms on her back. Oh, and her new best friend, the scientifically minded David, reveals under a microscope that her cells are more plant than animal. But it takes an encounter at her old home with the handsome but decidedly different Tamani to convince her that she is a faerie. She also learns it’s up to her to save her land from the evil influences that are trying to take it away from her and her family. This first novel is clearly designed to attract the Twilight set, though there’s significantly less edge (and blood). There is, however, a familiar triangle. Will Laurel choose solid, steady David, or will she be unable to resist Tamani’s lure? Stay tuned. Fine escapist fare, this neatly mixes the everyday with the otherworldly.

    What I thought:

    This was a cute story, not something that blew my skirt up. It is a different twist on fairies, which I really like about it. But I have mixed feelings on the plot and characters of this story.

    I felt Laurel, at times, was too flighty. Sure, she needs to adapt and learn to be around others, but the longer it took the more frustrated I became. I really liked David, but he only had one emotion when it came to Laurel. He never seemed to get angry or upset. He's a teenager, he's allowed to get angry, even if it isn't really justified.

    The plot was interesting, and it kept me reading, but there were parts that didn't make sense whatsoever... and maybe they will become clear in the next book. Which I do plan to read, because while I was frustrated at moments in this book, it wasn't horrible either.

    I gave it 3 stars!

    The Paranormal Five Giveaway

     

    This is a contest from Undercover Book Lover.  Be sure to check it out and enter!


    House of Immortal Pleasures by Katie Salidas

    Released: May 23, 2010
    Publisher: Rising Sign Books
    Rated: Adult
    Buy House of Immortal Pleasureshere (ebook only)

    Explore the sensual side of the vampire world at the House of Immortal Pleasures.

    Blindfolded and kidnapped, Daphne is whisked away to the famed, House of Immortal Pleasures, a Vampire-run Brothel in Pahrump, Nevada.

    Sometimes the only way to mend a broken heart is to get back in the saddle. At least that is how Daphne’s friends see it. And since Daphne isn’t showing any signs of letting that happen, they take it into their own hands. With a few shots of liquid courage, a pat on the ass, and a donated gold card, Daphne is unwillingly sent into fantasy room 123 to meet her creature of the night, Connor.

    It’s Connor’s job to seduce and entice Daphne to try all the expensive, sexual services on the menu. And he is prepared to do just that, until he peers into her mind and sees the damage done by her broken heart. After learning of her past pain, Connor’s plans change. No more is this a game of seduction to pad the pockets of the brothel owner. Connor decides to lavish Daphne with real attention and affection. Something she desperately needs. He will heal her heart the only way he can, by showing her she is beautiful, desirable, and sexy.


    What I thought:

    I was really pleased with this, definitely worth breaking down and buying it before I got a couple others read.  I couldn't resist any longer!  This is a quickie, a short erotica story that got to the point.  I love how Katie writes and while I have problems finding some eroticas tacky, Katie writes with taste.  And she writes with vampires.  How could you go wrong?

    The only thing I didn't like about it was that it was so short.  I want more!  I needed my fix after reading her novel Immortalis Carpe Noctem and I think I'm already in need of another.

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Wednesday, June 16, 2010

    Released:June 1, 2008
    Publisher: Harlequin
    Rated: Adult
    Get Slow Hands for free here

    His price? Pure pleasure... This is Maddy Turner's lucky day. The civilized society girl just bid on sexy rogue Jake Wallace at a charity bachelor auction and won! But Maddy knows Jake's dirty little secret. And it should keep her from trying out her new boy toy. Too bad she can't stop herself from indulging in raw, quite uncivilized sex all the same....
    Jake Wallace is utterly bewitched by Maddy and utterly bewildered. How can this tantalizing woman melt so rapturously under his ministrations one moment, then turn into a haughty queen the next? He's determined to get to the bottom of Maddy's agenda. One slow, delicious inch at a time...

    What I thought:  


    This was an enjoyable book, but I have to admit, if it wasn't free I doubt I would have given it a shot. I found out, on shelfari, this is a long series, but it looks like you don't have to read them in order.

    While I liked the general story, much like the title, it was very slow going. To the point I ended up skimming through some of the slower scenes to get to a part where it started to pick up.

    I liked the characters... for the most part. Almost all of them had some annoying trait, others were just flat out annoying. I could forgive most of the traits because they are human, it happens. But the misunderstanding about Jake's profession was grated by the time the truth came out.

    I gave it 3 stars!

    Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

    Released:October 13, 2009
    Publisher: Simon & Schuster
    Rated: Young Adult
    Buy Hush, Hush here

    High school sophomore Nora Grey, a dedicated student striving for a college scholarship, lives with her widowed mother in a country farmhouse outside Portland, ME. When Patch, her new biology partner, is suddenly thrust into her life, Nora is both attracted to his charm and put off by his inexplicable awareness of her thoughts. Eventually, she learns that he is a fallen angel who wants to become human. She is susceptible to his control, but other forces are at work as well, and Nora finds herself caught in the middle of dangerous situations and unexplainable events. The premise of Hush, Hush—that fallen angels exist and interact with humans on Earth—is worthy of contemplation and appealing to teens. But stories with such supernatural themes require that the details of day-to-day life be realistic and believable. Unfortunately, most readers won't be convinced that a mother whose husband has recently been murdered would leave her daughter alone overnight in their home far from the nearest neighbor or that a school counselor would be replaced by someone whose credentials were not checked. While teens may enjoy the scenes of tension and terror, most will be disappointed by characters without dimension and the illogical sequence of events.

    What I thought:

    This was one of those impulsive reads.  I had no plans to read this, it wasn't in my tbr pile, I hadn't even heard of it before I ran across it on another blog.  I had made a spontaneous decision to read it and I'm glad I did.  It wasn't out of this world fantastic, but it was a very entertaining story.

    While for the most part I found Nora an interesting, while gullible and a big push over, she was pretty fun to read about.  Patch was a great one, I kept trying to figure out if he was the good guy or the bad guy... or both.  And while others may be able to really pin point which one he was sooner than I did, I enjoyed trying to guess where he fell.

    While most times the high school drama keeps me away from the YA scene, this wasn't horrible.  The biggest problem, for me, was Nora's best friend Vee.  I found myself wanting to knock her out and wondered why Nora didn't feel the same way.  She constantly pushed and manipulated Nora into situations that Nora wanted nothing to do with.  Oh well.  It didn't really take away from the story, it just made me wish Nora had better friends.

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday (5)

    "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
     House of Immortal Pleasures by Katie Salidas
    This is already out, but it is more of a budget thing that waiting for a release day.  I have a couple more books to get through before I can let myself buy another round of books.  But I won a copy of Katie's Immortalis Carpe Noctem and was really happy I got to read it.  So, I am excited to try more of her work.

    Blindfolded and kidnapped, Daphne is whisked away to the famed, House of Immortal Pleasures, a Vampire-run Brothel in Pahrump, Nevada.

    Sometimes the only way to mend a broken heart is to get back in the saddle. At least that is how Daphne’s friends see it. And since Daphne isn’t showing any signs of letting that happen, they take it into their own hands. With a few shots of liquid courage, a pat on the ass, and a donated gold card, Daphne is unwillingly sent into fantasy room 123 to meet her creature of the night, Connor.

    It’s Connor’s job to seduce and entice Daphne to try all the expensive, sexual services on the menu. And he is prepared to do just that, until he peers into her mind and sees the damage done by her broken heart. After learning of her past pain, Connor’s plans change. No more is this a game of seduction to pad the pockets of the brothel owner. Connor decides to lavish Daphne with real attention and affection. Something she desperately needs. He will heal her heart the only way he can, by showing her she is beautiful, desirable, and sexy.
     Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
    A Hush Hush Novel, book 2
    Release Date: October 19, 2010

    Nora should have know her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home. 

    The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine? 

    WWW Wednesday is hosted by Should Be Reading.

    To play along, just answer the 3 questions...

    *What are you currently reading?
      - Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

    *What have you recently finish reading?
      - Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead

    *What do you think you'll read next?
      - I'm not really sure, as I read Hush Hush out of pure impulse.  Maybe the second book in the Highlander series by Karen Marie Moning.

    Tuesday, June 15, 2010

    Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead

    Released: April 1, 2010
    Publisher: Kensington
    Rated: Adult
    Buy Succubus Shadows (Georgina Kincaid, Book 5) here

    Georgina Kincaid has formidable powers. Immortality, seduction, shape-shifting into any human form she desires, walking in heels that would cripple mere mortals--all child's play to a succubus like her.

    Helping to plan her ex-boyfriend's wedding is a different story. Georgina isn't sure which is worse--that Seth is marrying another woman, or that Georgina has to run all over Seattle trying on bridesmaid dresses. Still, there are distractions. Georgina's roommate, Roman, is cluttering her apartment with sexual tension. Then there's Simone, the new succubus in town, who's intent on corrupting Seth. 

    But the real danger lies in the mysterious force that's visiting her thoughts, trying to draw her into a dark, otherworldly realm. Sooner or later, Georgina knows she'll be too weak to resist. And when that happens, she'll discover who she can trust, who she can't--and that Hell is far from the worst place to spend eternity. . .

    What I thought: 

    Wow, I can't believe I have to wait until 2011 for the final novel!  I spend more time being miserable along with Georgina in the last three novels, and while most people think it is sad and that I wouldn't enjoy it, I did.  I find Georgina a very human character, despite her succubus status, and find her very lovable.  I want to be her personal cheerleader and I hope the best happens for her in the next novel because man!  She hasn't caught a break pretty much since the start of this series! 

    This had not only a great plot but a great way for us to get a feel of what was happening to Georgina while staying connected to the other characters.  Great writing! 

    I gave it 4 stars! 

    Teaser Tuesday (5)

    teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
     Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead
    A Georgina Kincaid Novel, book 5

    All my relationships -- friends and lovers -- were a mess.  I was either hurting them, or they were hurting me.  There was no peace for me.  There never would be, not for this servant of Hell.

    I know, it wasn't two sentences but I couldn't find something from what I have read so far (don't want to spoil it for myself either!) that made sense with only two sentences.

    Monday, June 14, 2010

    Succubus Heat by Richelle Mead

    Released: May 26, 2009
    Publisher: Kensington
    Rated: Adult
    Buy Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid, Book 4) here

    *Warning! Series spoilers are included in the book description!  If you are at all interested in this series, do not read!*

    Georgina Kincaid has been a bad, bad succubus. . .

    . . .which should be a good thing. But lately, thanks to her foul mood over breaking up with bestselling writer Seth Mortensen, she's been so wicked that Seattle's uber-demon Jerome, decides to "outsource" Georgina to a rival--and have her spy for him in the process. 

    Being exiled to the frozen north--okay, Vancouver--and leaving Seth in the cozy clutches of his new girlfriend is unpleasant enough. Then Jerome is kidnapped, and all immortals under his control mysteriously lose their powers. One bright spot: with her life-sucking ability gone, there's nothing to keep Georgina from getting down and dirty with Seth--nothing apart from his girlfriend that is. Now, as the supernatural population starts turning on itself, a newly mortal Georgina must rescue her boss and figure out who's been playing them--or all hell will break loose. . .

    What I thought:

    I had run across a review for this one with tons of spoilers and while I tried not to read, you know, you just can't help it.  Even knowing what would happen, I found myself hoping for the impossible.  I still felt sad for Georgina, 'breaking up is hard to do'. 

    This novel had a great plot that left me sitting on the edge of my seat, I had to force myself not to skim it, basically, to find out what would happen.  I do like Jerome and was pulling for him.  I couldn't imagine another boss for Georgina... at least not yet.  While I know it is very very unlikely, I was still hoping for more to happen with the relationship with Georgina and Jerome... one could only hope!  But with the appearance of unlikely ally, I am doubting it. 

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Succubus Dreams by Richelle Mead

    Released: October 1, 2008
    Publisher: Kensington
    Rated: Adult
    Buy Succubus Dreams (Georgina Kincaid, Book 3) here

    Some days, a girl just can't catch a break......especially when the girl in question is Georgina Kincaid, a shape-shifting succubus who gets her energy from seducing men. First there's her relationship with gorgeous bestselling writer Seth Mortensen, which is unsatisfying on a number of levels. It's not just that they can't have sex in case Georgina inadvertently kills him (generally a turn-off for most guys). Lately, even spending time together is a challenge. Seth's obsessed with finishing his latest novel, and Georgina's under demonic orders to mentor the new (and surprisingly inept) succubus on the block.

    Then there are the dreams. Someone, or something, is preying on Georgina at night, draining her energy, and supplying eerie visions of her future. Georgina seeks answers from Dante, a dream interpreter with ties to the underworld, but his flirtatious charm only leaves her more confused-especially as the situation with Seth reaches crisis point. Now Georgina faces a double challenge-rein in her out-of-control love life, and go toe-to-toe with an enemy capable of wreaking serious havoc among mankind. Otherwise, Georgina, and the entire mortal world, may never sleep easy again... 

    What I thought:

    Oh man!  I think this series is a really good one, but this one had me on the verge of tears from about 1/3 of the way through and right on through the end.  While I thought it was predictable where it was going (hey! That isn't always bad!) I was still hoping I was wrong.  No worries, no spoilers! I would just recommend those who are prone to crying to have a few tissues handy.

    When I first started reading this series, I thought the succubus was a pretty cheesy way of doing a novel/series with lots of cheesy sex.  Well, the first book proved me wrong, and the more I read the more I realize how much I love Georgina as a character.  She's not really happy with how she has to survive, but she makes the best of it, while still holding on to her dreams.  Even if they do tend to crush her later on when she gets low and gets defeated by the thought that it could never be.  She doesn't want to lose her humanity, and I love that about her.

    I gave it 4 stars! 

    Sunday, June 13, 2010

    Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning

    Released: March 9, 1999
    Publisher: Dell
    Rated: Adult
    Buy Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Book 1) here

    He would sell his warrior soul to possess her. . . .

    An alluring laird...

    He was known throughout the kingdom as Hawk, legendary predator of the battlefield and the boudoir. No woman could refuse his touch, but no woman ever stirred his heart--until a vengeful fairy tumbled Adrienne de Simone out of modern-day Seattle and into medieval Scotland. Captive in a century not her own, entirely too bold, too outspoken, she was an irresistible challenge to the sixteenth-century rogue. Coerced into a marriage with Hawk, Adrienne vowed to keep him at arm's length--but his sweet seduction played havoc with her resolve.

    A prisoner in time...

    She had a perfect "no" on her perfect lips for the notorious laird, but Hawk swore she would whisper his name with desire, begging for the passion he longed to ignite within her. Not even the barriers of time and space would keep him from winning her love. Despite her uncertainty about following the promptings of her own passionate heart, Adrienne's reservations were no match for Hawk's determination to keep her by his side. . . . 


    What I thought:

    I discovered KMM's work not to long ago with the Fever series.  I really like the way she wrote in the books she has so far, so I decided when I wanted to try my first time travel novel that I'd start with hers.  I still love the way she wrote it and I loved the story.

    I loved the characters.  While I was hoping for a bit more resistance, at first, from Hawk, I think the story was great.  I felt for Adrienne, going through a horrific relationship realizing at the end she was just being used and was deemed expendable, I was hoping she's find a great happily ever after ending.

    I was looking between this and Diane Gabaldon's books, I decided on this one because I wanted the steamy scenes, more of the romance aspect of it.  And I got it.  I may be a late comer when it comes to KMM's books, but I will be quickly catching up!

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Thursday, June 10, 2010

    Moon Sworn by Keri Arthur

    Released: May 25, 2010
    Publisher: Dell
    Rated: Adult
    Buy Moon Sworn (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Book 9) here.

    Some nights never end.
    Some desires never die. . . .

    She ventures where no one else dares—into realms of peril and pleasure. But will this next journey be her last?

    Shape-shifting werewolf and vampire Riley Jenson is through with death–causing it, solving it, surviving it. Her soul mate, Kye Murphy, is dead–and at Riley’s own hands. Not even the seductive embrace of her vampire lover, Quinn, can fully ease her mind, for she has begun questioning everything that makes her Riley–including her job at the Directorate.

    Now, the ritualistically slain bodies of ex-cons have started turning up. Reluctantly, Riley takes the case, but something even worse is waiting in the wings. For a vicious enemy from her past is determined to strip Riley of everything that gives her life any meaning: her lover, her brother–and even her own identity. Can Riley survive this ultimate assault? All she knows is, she must fight one last time to find answers, before everything goes dark forever…

    What I thought:


    This took me some time to finish.  It was a bittersweet ending to a favorite series.  While the story was a great one, well written, just the idea alone that it was the very last made me hesitant to read it.  I am just not ready to say goodbye to one of my favorite series.  But, alas, I have finished it and I loved it.

    While the rest of the books in this series have been case oriented for the most part, this one is different.  This focuses more on Riley and the past that haunts both her and her twin.  We didn't get to see much of our favorite characters who stand just outside of the limelight.  I'm sad we didn't get to see them much (Cole, Sal... etc) and they were missed.

    So far, this has been the only series I have picked up by the author, but I am looking forward to reading some of her other books out there.  I recommend this author and this series.

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Spanking Shakespeare by Jake Wizner

    Released: September 25, 2007
    Publisher: Random House
    Rated: Young Adult
    Buy Spanking Shakespeare here.

    SHAKESPEARE SHAPIRO HAS ALWAYS hated his name. His parents bestowed it on him as some kind of sick joke when he was born, and his life has gone downhill from there, one embarrassing incident after another. Entering his senior year of high school, Shakespeare has never had a girlfriend, his younger brother is cooler than he is, and his best friend's favorite topic of conversation is his bowel movements.

    But Shakespeare will have the last laugh. He is chronicling every mortifying detail in his memoir, the writing project each senior at Shakespeare's high school must complete. And he is doing it brilliantly. And, just maybe, a prize-winning memoir will bring him respect, admiration, and a girlfriend . . . or at least a prom date.


    What I thought:


    This is not my usual style of book, but I have to say I enjoyed this immensely. It was hilarious, reading about Shakespeare's journey through childhood and through is senior year in high school, recounting all his tales in all of its hilarious detail, even his sexual perversions that all teenage boys have whose only goal in high school is to secure a girlfriend.

    It was a refreshing change of genres and it really made me wish I had the ability to write the way Shakespeare does. To twist any moment and poke fun at myself, but most of us aren't capable of making fun of ourselves.  Even if there are those who are willing to give up a left testicle for the ability.

    While I felt he had the worst luck with parents, it could have been much, much worse. But then again, if his parents were in the least bit sane, he might not have had much to write about.

    I really did enjoy this one and I just might try other books from the author later.  There is a lot of sexual and adult humor in this, even though it is rated as Young Adult.

    I gave this 5 stars!  Yes, 5.  Pretty funny.  You should read it.

    I couldn't resist, I wanted to post the first couple sentences into this books, as a teaser.

    "I should warn you.  Some of the material you're about to read is disturbing.  Some of it will make you shake your head in disbelief.  some of it will make you cringe in disgust.  Some of it might even make you rush out in the stormy night, rip your shirt from your body, and howl, "WHY, GOD, WHY?"


    Then again, maybe you'll just sit back and smile, secure in the knowledge that your name is not Shakespeare Shapiro, and this is not your life."

    Wednesday, June 9, 2010

    Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday (4)

    "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
    Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost
    A Night Huntress world novel, book 2
    Release Date: July 27, 2010

    Chicago private investigator Kira Graceling should have just kept on walking. But her sense of duty refused to let her ignore the moans of pain coming from inside a warehouse just before dawn. Suddenly she finds herself in a world she's only imagined in her worst nightmares.

    At the center is Mencheres, a breathtaking Master vampire who thought he'd seen it all. Then Kira appears - this fearless, beautiful....human who braved death to rescue him. Though her burns for her, keeping Kira in his world means risking her life. Yet sending her away is unthinkable.

    But with danger closing in, Mencheres must choose either the woman he craves, or embracing the darkest magic to defeat an enemy bent on his eternal destruction.
    WWW Wednesday is hosted by Should Be Reading.

    To play along, just answer the 3 questions...

    *What are you currently reading?
      - Into the Mist by Maya Banks

    *What have you recently finish reading?
      - Immortalis Carpe Noctem by Katie Salidas

    *What do you think you'll read next?
      - Spanking Shakespeare by Jake Wizner, Kiss of Death by Rachel Caine, or Succubus Dreams by Richelle Mead.  Not sure what I'll be in the mood for next.
     

    Tuesday, June 8, 2010

    Immortalis Carpe Noctem by Katie Salidas

    Released: March 2, 2010
    Publisher: Rising Sign Books
    Rated: Adult
    Buy Immortalis Carpe Noctem here.


    Bleeding to death after brutal mugging on the campus of UNLV, Twenty-five year old Alyssa, is rescued by the cold and aloof, vampire, Lysander. Taking pity on her, he shares the gift-and curse-of immortality. She awakens as a vampire and is soon devastated by harsh realities of her new way of life: the loss of her friends, her independence, and her humanity.
    As if having her humanity stripped away wasn't enough to make life interesting, Alyssa finds out her
    Turning, did not go unnoticed by the rest of undead society. Old enemies; an ancient sect of vampire hunters, known as the Acta Sanctorum, as well as a powerful Vampire mistress, each set plans in motion to destroy both Alyssa and Lysander.

    Only by accepting her new-found immortality and seizing the night, will Alyssa hope to survive. She and Lysander will have to  fight together against two sets of enemies bent on destroying them.


    What I thought:

    I won this signed book in a contest and boy! Am I glad I entered that contest! I really liked this novel.

    Alyssa is the victim of an attack and is turned without consent. And we see her struggle with this, and I have to tell you the struggle is refreshing. Sometimes I think characters are able to get over some things too quickly and move on. There is a lot to move on from and I was glad that we got to see Alyssa mourn the life she is putting behind her.  I was worried about the generic girl gets beaten to an inch of her life, boy saves girl by turning her into a vampire storyline, but I did enjoy the story anyway.

    Sometimes, the religion aspect gets to me when reading a vampire novel, but in this it didn't bother me in the least. Relics are just relics, and only the church itself is after the vampires.

    I can't wait for the next, and look forward to watching for more books from this author. 

    I gave it 4 stars! 

    Teaser Tuesday (4)

    teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

    Immortalis Carpe Noctum by Katie Salidas

    The sweet honeyed smell of blood was too enticing.  Just the thought of it had me flicking my tongue against my teeth in anticipation.  "Quit licking your fangs," Lysander said sternly.  "People will notice that."

    Monday, June 7, 2010

    Guest blog with author Arlene R Crenshaw

     Domestic Violence (love shouldn’t hurt) 

    What is it about hurting someone that you claim you love? There are women and children that suffer everyday by the hands of someone who claims that they love them. There are women who are preyed upon daily by men who want to control every aspect of their lives. 

    Some of these women who find themselves in situation like these are women who at some point in their life dealt with some form of mental or physical abuse.

    There are men that prey on these types of women. They look and seek out women who can’t protect themselves. They look for women that are venerable in many areas in there life. Such as loneliness, low self-esteem, mental or even physical problems.

    Why do they do what they do?  I’d say “control,” abuse is abuse and no one has to tolerate this type of treatment from anyone.  Love shouldn’t hurt; domestic violence is a big problem in our world today.

    Not only are women suffering but children suffer as well. What a women may go through who has children, then children hearing and watching their mother being abused effects these children in ways that it can follow them for the rest of their live.

    Results from seeing these types of behavior are daughters growing up with dominant men controlling and abusing them, and sons growing up being abusers.

    I feel everyone who is in relationship deserves to be treated with the utmost respect. Children should be able to sleep at night, learn and play throughout the daytime. We all as individual look forward to being in healthy relationships, not dysfunctional relationship and if you are in a relationship that isn’t healthy remember love doesn’t hurt. Stop and put an end to “Domestic Violence.” 

          By Arlene R. Crenshaw


     I was given a chance to do a review of Twelves Roses for Uretta.  This is a tale of domestic violence and what was seen through a child's eye growing up, watching her mother suffer at the hands of those who had sworn to love and honor her, not beat her down.

    This was a very emotional read and powerful story of what a mother will do to survive and protect her children.   It was hard to read the struggles of Uretta and what Erica, her daughter, went through growing up.  I was really glad that Uretta never turned from her faith in God.  Myself being a Christian, I know it can be hard to try and not blame God when things get bad, and I really had to admire that Uretta didn't, she turned to God instead.  It is the hardest thing to do, trusting God, that he will lead you through.  It isn't a Christian novel, but sometimes God has a way of putting things in your way to open your eyes.  This was a big eye opener to a subject that I, personally, have no experience in. 

    I do feel there is a need for awareness of Domestic Violence.  We may not see it, experience it, but others aren't so fortunate and deserve those who would fight for them, not with them.

    Friday, June 4, 2010

    Nauti Boy by Lora Leigh

    Released: March 6, 2007
    Publisher: Berkley Trade
    Rated: Adult

    Too weak to resist young Kelly Benton's attempts at seduction, Rowdy Mackay left home eight years ago. Duty as a U.S. Marine put a safe distance between temptation and the nubile Kentucky vixen. Now he's back home and ready to engage in the kind of erotic games that have earned him and his two cousins a Nauti-boy reputation in three counties.

    Once it was Kelly's dream too-to feel the heat of the boy she desired. But an attack from a stalker still on the prowl has left Kelly terrified of a man's touch. Now as fear and desire converge, Rowdy fights to save her from the deadly threats of a stranger, to rid her of her demons, and to satisfy a hunger more powerful than either can imagine. 


    What I thought:  


    This is one of the better stories I have read by Lora Leigh. Strong characters outline a great story with some hot scenes. I was a bit disappointed that we didn't get a really good steamy scene with all four, but it was still good. Kelly is strong, although she is a victim she fights to be rid of the fear and isn't afraid to admit that she is scared and excited to see what will happen now that Rowdy is finally home for good.

    Rape, for most of us girls, is something that is hard to read and I admit I do hesitate before jumping into a romance novel that centers around a recovering victim. This, however, was well written and didn't make me uncomfortable as I read along.

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Thursday, June 3, 2010

    Heather's Gift by Lora Leigh

    Released: January 30, 2005
    Publisher: Ellora's Cave
    Rated: Adult

    Will she bring the gift of acceptance, or will she break the bonds that have been forged through the fires of hell? Heather's job was to guard Sam's body. As part of the team assigned to the protection of the August family, she had taken her job seriously. Until a madman learned she was Sam August's weakness. Until the past rose with deadly intent and surprising secrets. Will Sam be able to deny his passion for this woman, or will the dark nightmares and sensuous desires that rage through them both be the cause of his destruction, and the destruction of the woman he loves?  


    What I thought:


    I had a better time with this book than the first two. Heather and Sam were great. My favorite characters of the bunch. While I still find Marly annoying, it wasn't as bad in this one. But I do suppose she is still pretty young, and I have a hard time seeing her as an adult.

    I was pleasantly surprised by the ending, a nice twist that I really didn't see coming, because you know I wasn't looking for it. Most times I think the suspense plot is just thrown in there without much thought, but this was thought out and played out well in the end. While I wasn't trying to figure out who was really after them, it did catch me off guard.


    This wasn't my favorite of Lora Leigh's series, and I might not revisit this one.

    I gave it 3 stars!

    LinkWithin

    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
     
    Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns