CTR Current Contests and Events

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Alpha Q&A with Rachel Vincent

Preview

I'm pretty excited to have Rachel Vincent visit my blog and I'm really excited for the release of Alpha.

Buy it:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Here is a teaser from Alpha:

"Get your hands off my daughter before I break them off." -Alpha, pg 124


Hi Aimee, thanks so much for having me!

As most of you probably know, Alpha, the sixth and final book in my Shifters series, hit the shelves this week (Yay!!!) and opinions are already pouring in. As are the questions. So I thought it would be fun to do a little Q&A, and Aimee has graciously agreed to let me use her blog as a forum.

Before we start, though…The question I’ve gotten most often by far since Alpha started leaking out was, “Will there be a spinoff?” Some people seem to have heard somewhere that there will be a spinoff, and those people usually ask questions about this supposed spinoff. So let me just answer that question here, to hopefully avoid having to answer it another dozen times in the comments. ;)

I’m not going to swear that there will never be a spinoff. But I am not currently planning one. Nor am I contracted for one. Nor have I ever proposed one. I don’t even know who would narrate this supposed spinoff, should one ever happen. And right now, for the record, though I am thrilled to see how many of you want one (demand it, even!) I am not thinking about a Shifters spinoff.

I’m so sorry to disappoint those who were expecting one, but unless a brilliant new plot arc smacks me over the head…I have no more novel-length Shifter stories, unless I’m willing to rehash old territory. Which I am not. That wouldn’t be fair to me, to the characters, or to the readers.

However, be on the lookout for an Abby short story called “Hunt” in an upcoming Tor anthology, due to hit the shelf next spring, I believe!

Now, if you have other questions or comments for me, let’s hear them!

Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

Released: September 28, 2010
Publisher: Ace
Buy Bayou Moon (The Edge, Book 2) here

Cerise Mar and her unruly clan are cash poor but land rich, claiming a large swathe of the Mire, the Edge swamplands between the state of Louisiana and the Weird. When her parents vanish, her clan’s long-time rivals are suspect number one.

But all is not as it seems. Two nations of the Weird are waging a cold war fought by feint and espionage, and their conflict is about to spill over into the Edge—and Cerise’s life . William, a changeling soldier who left behind the politics of the Weird, has been forced back into service to track down a rival nation’s spymaster.

When William’s and Cerise’s missions lead them to cross paths, sparks fly—but they’ll have to work together if they want to succeed…and survive.

What I thought:

It seemed to take forever for this book to be released and finally I got my hands on it. I just loved it! I loved William's story and I loved Cerise. This novel was extremely well written and it was action packed.

Both William and Cerise are very strong characters and I think they fitted each other perfectly. But both have their vulnerabilities that really brought them to life and I loved learning more about William and learning about Cerise. I am hoping to read more about these two later on and what happens with Gastion and Jack. I'm looking forward to more books from this series and from Andrews. Ilona Andrews is definitely on my must watch author list!

I gave it 5 stars!

Sunday, September 26, 2010

Tanner's Scheme by Lora Leigh

Released: August 7, 2007
Publisher: Berkley 
Rated: Adult
Buy Tanner's Scheme here

A sexy paranormal series set in a world where genetically altered Breeds and the humans who created them sometimes come together in the fiercest of passions.

After the Feline Breeds' main base is attacked, Tanner desires revenge. So he kidnaps Scheme Tallant-the daughter of a one-time high-ranking member of the Genetics Council. But when Tanner discovers that Scheme herself is a target of her father's ruthless mission, his vengeance takes a back seat to saving the life of the woman he hopes to claim as his mate.

What I thought: 

This is one of my favorites in this series. Tanner is such a great character and I really enjoyed his story. We didn't get to see much of him and Cabal in the previous ones and my curiosity was definitely satisfied with this novel. The mating heat wasn't the main focus of this one, instead of having a book where the two fight the heat, instead we have one where Tanner can't figure out when he was so sure that he had found his mate.  It was a different take and I really enjoyed Tanner's journey.  I look forward to reading Cabal's. 

The continuing storyline is both entertaining and frustrating. I love the story, the conflict and all that it entails, but I am still hoping for that happily ever after. It has it's sad moments that I didn't really see coming, and it has it's steamy moments that I knew would be there. Ms. Leigh has written a great series so far and I look forward to reading the rest of them, even though I'm hoping for a hea that just might be out of reach.


I gave it 5 stars!

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Cattitude by Edie Ramer

Buy Cattitude here

This book was given to me by the author for an honest review.

It's all in the Cattitude...

After Belle the cat switches bodies with a psychic on the run from a murderer, she wants her perfect cat body back instead of this furless human one. But she doesn't count on falling in love with her former owner. Or that a CEO and a beauty queen want to use up her nine lives. Now is her chance to prove anything a human can do, a cat can do better.

What I thought: 

Men build castles where cats reign supreme. Or that is how Belle views it. I can't tell you just how much I loved this novel. It was very well written and the story was very engaging. While I have read my fair share of paranormal novels, this was one of the ones that will definitely stand out. It definitely has paranormal elements (clairvoyance, body swapping), while having a romance twist to it.

Ms. Ramer has sculpted a great story, in which we read through various characters eyes as the story is being told, all expertly placed and well written. While I just wanted to know how things turned out, I found myself enjoying the way that the tension was built and scene changes made the suspense much more entertaining when it all came down to the final moment.

I recommend readers give this book a go. It was witty, charming, and serious in all the right doses.

I gave it 5 stars!

The Passing of a Great Author

I was really sad to learn of the passing of Jennifer Rardin.  I only came by her books this year, but I fell in love with her writing.  My thoughts and prayers go out to her family. 

From her website:

Jennifer Rardin

It is with great sadness we report that  Jennifer Rardin passed away on Monday, September 20th.  Jennifer was a remarkably talented writer and our heart goes out to her family and friends.
The 7th book in her Jaz Parks series  will be out this November. The final book in the series was completed before her passing and will be out in June 2011.

Monday, September 20, 2010

Hands On (ARC) by Christina Crooks

Release Date:
Publisher:
Rated: Adult
Preorder/Buy Hands On here


Want to make Fate laugh? Try telling her who-s in charge.

Talented, down-on-her-luck puppeteer Ginnie Anderson-s life seems destined to fall down around her ears. Much like the rented bungalow that-s just collapsed in a heavy rainstorm, endangering her precious collection of marionettes.

Her livelihood in need of protection and repair, she can-t refuse her landlord-s offer of temporary shelter in his magnificent home. Under his roof, though, she finds her hard-won grasp on her independence slipping-and herself falling into his arms.

The hallmark of Harry Barrett-s business success: he never makes the same mistake twice, particularly when it comes to manipulative women. So why is Ginnie, who pulls strings for a living, like a siren-s song in his blood? It-s best to put temptation as far out of reach as possible.

Yet when Ginnie-s past threatens to destroy the life she-s built for herself, Harry must decide which is more important. Holding tight to his sense of self preservation, or letting go to capture Ginnie-s fragile heart-before it breaks into a thousand pieces.

Warning: Contains sizzling sex between a powerful hero who likes to be in control, and a heroine whose talented hands teach him the pleasure of giving up the reins.

What I thought:

I just loved this book! Christina was great and gave me an ARC. I was a bit nervous at first. I am the product of parents who let me watch Stephen King's It as a child... but no worries here! No weird doll scenes!  I loved the story, I'm a sucker for a romance where the woman rises above an abusive partner, even if the partner makes alot of trouble for her. 

I loved the characters, they were great. It had a great story, well rounded and the steamy parts didn't drown out the story and vice versa. It had a great balance. This was my first book by Christina Crooks and I think I really need to get my hands on her other books!

I gave it 5 stars!

Friday, September 17, 2010

Spider's Bite by Jennifer Estep

Released: January 26, 2010
Publisher: Pocket
Rated: Adult
Buy Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin, Book 1) here

My name is Gin, and I kill people.

They call me the Spider. I’m the most feared assassin in the South—when I’m not busy at the Pork Pit cooking up the best barbecue in Ashland. As a Stone elemental, I can hear everything from the whispers of the gravel beneath my feet to the vibrations of the soaring Appalachian Mountains above me. My Ice magic also comes in handy for making the occasional knife. But I don’t use my powers on the job unless I absolutely have to. Call it professional pride.

Now that a ruthless Air elemental has double-crossed me and killed my handler, I’m out for revenge. And I’ll exterminate anyone who gets in my way—good or bad. I may look hot, but I’m still one of the bad guys. Which is why I’m in trouble, since irresistibly rugged Detective Donovan Caine has agreed to help me. The last thing this coldhearted killer needs when I’m battling a magic more powerful than my own is a sexy distraction . . . especially when Donovan wants me dead just as much as the enemy.

What I thought: 

This, I have to say, is one of the better paranormal novels I have read in a long time. Gin is one great character, who on the outside is a stone cold assassin, but on the inside she isn't quite as cold as she would like to be. While Gin isn't good, she isn't evil either. I loved that she was a character that fell outside of the helpless damsel or that girl that things just happen to.

The story was great, I didn't see most of it coming. I loved that I didn't see it coming, as it kept me guessing. I thought it was well planned and written. I highly recommend this book to others. I usually go more for the paranormal romance, but this mystery was really engaging and hard to put down.

I gave it 5 stars!

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Blood Song by Cat Adams

Released: June 8, 2010
Publisher: Tor Books
Rated: Adult
Buy Blood Song here

Tough-as-nails bodyguard Celia Graves protects the rich and famous from ghosts, demons, and other supernatural entities. While guarding the prince of a tiny European country, Celia is caught in a vampire ambush that leaves her wounded and partially transformed. Now she has to figure out her new limits and powers, destroy her sire before he can control her, and put together the pieces of a larger plan in which she's just a pawn.

What I thought:

This was an interesting story. I liked the main character, but I'm not sure I liked the two side romance stories with Bruno and Kevin. I kind of wanted her to just pick one. But the story over all, was a good one. It was a bit sad to see as many tragic moments that were in this one as well as all the hardship Celia must face in her new life.

This book, along with many others, has a cliffhanger. It wasn't so bad, but I'm at that point I wish authors would just stop using this tactic. I was hoping for a well rounded ending since all the things that Celia had gone through, but instead she's jumped right back into trouble.

I gave it 4 stars!

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Seducing Simon by Maya Banks

Released:September 19, 2006
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Rated: Adult
Buy Seducing Simon here

One fateful night, Toni Langston seduces her best friend, the guy she's been in love with forever. Two problems-he doesn't remember a thing that happened and now she's pregnant. Toni Langston has been in love with Simon, her best friend, for years. The night Simon breaks up with his long time girlfriend, he and Toni make love. Toni is devastated and humiliated when, in the heat of the moment, he calls her by his girlfriend's name. The next morning, Simon remembers nothing of the previous night and Toni is only too relieved not to remind him. Two months later, she discovers she's pregnant. She wants Simon to love her, apart from any obligation he might feel because of the baby. So she embarks on a quest to seduce her best friend, to make him see her as more than a little sister, to make him love her as much as she loves him. It works. Maybe too well. Now when things are perfect, she faces telling him of the secret she's kept.

What I thought:

I just loved this one. I'm not usually fond of novels where the heroine ends up pregnant, but this was well written and engaging. I felt sorry for Toni, both because she fell for a guy long ago and he has yet to realize she's a woman and that in a moment of weakness for them both, she is now dealing with the consequences pretty much alone.

This isn't like the rest of Maya Banks' novels. Yes, there are some steamy scenes, but there is more story than romps in the bed. Which depending on your mood can be a good or bad thing. I thought it was nice to read a book of hers that expands on the relationships. I adore Maya Banks' novels and I was glad to read one that showcased the relationship side.

I gave it 5 stars!

Vanished by Kate Brian

Released: August 31, 2010
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Rated: YA
Buy Vanished (Private) here

Against all odds. Reed Brennman re-established Billings as an underground literary society. she and the new initiates created a glamorous secret headquarters and were ready to show Easton Academy that even though Billings House is gone, the Billing girls are stronger than ever. But before Reed has a chance to rebel in her successs, somthing horrible happened. Noelle disappeared. Now Reed has no idea who wants to hurt Noelle or why, but its up to Reed to save her. As the clues build up, the clock ticks down, and Reed fears that unless she finds Noelle soon, She'll lose her friends forever....

What I thought: 

While towards the end I was a little sick of the repeating "I have a friend who is betraying me" storyline, I liked the twists and turns of this novel. I can honestly saw I didn't see this ending coming (either one).

I don't know what it is about Brian's writing, but it draws me in, even if I have a lot of facepalm moments when reading her novels. I can't wait to read the next to see what happens with Reed and how she deals with the blows she is dealt in this one.

I gave it 4 stars!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns