CTR Current Contests and Events

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Teaser Tuesday (12)

teasertuesdays31
 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
Torment by Lauren Kate
Book 2 of the Fallen series

She closed her eyes.  She told him what he needed to hear.  School was fine.  She was fine.  Daniel's lips came down to hers again, briefly, hotly, until her whole body was tingling.

Fallen by Lauren Kate

Released: December 8, 2009
Publisher: Delacorte
Rated: YA


Some Angels are Destined to Fall

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

What I thought:

There was just something about this novel that just hooked me and drew me in. I could hardly put it down to eat or sleep! What I liked most is that Luce didn't have a fairytale childhood. She wasn't perfect, she was a teen. She battled her emotions, not wanting her parents to be afraid of her but wanted them to just want her.

This had a very great story, I didn't see most of it coming, which I love about a book if I don't guess every little thing before it happens. I am excited to pick up the second book and see where things go in this series.

I gave it 4 stars!

Monday, November 29, 2010

Cry Mercy by Toni Andrews

Released: June 1, 2009
Publisher: Mira
Rated: Adult

I just want a normal life...even if I'm not entirely sure I'm human.

My name is Mercy Hollings and I'm a successful hypnotherapist in Balboa, California. The problem is, my good fortune is dependent on a dark secret. I can make people do whatever I want using telepathy, a power I call "the press." And that ability has hurt some people I never wanted to hurt, so I try to keep it under wraps.

I also try to keep people at a distance...at least, I used to. Recently a group of fearless characters broke through my self-imposed walls and became my friends: Sukey, my receptionist-turned-P.I.; Tino, a Chicano gang leader; Hilda, a wealthy society widow; Grant, a retired millionaire--and Sam, my sexy-as-hell ex-boyfriend.

But with friends comes drama. Tino has inadvertently led me into the dark world of gang violence, and Sukey has pushed me into searching for my biological parents, the only people who can finally tell me who--or what--I really am.

What I thought:

I was hoping more on the romance department of this novel, but I was very happy with the story. It was very well written and I had a hard time putting this book down until I got to the end!

I'm excited to read more in this series. The mystery behind Mercy's birth is very engaging. I'll be watching the author's site in anticipation for any news of the next book.

I gave it 4 stars!

Angel of Mercy by Toni Andrews

Released: May 1, 2008
Publisher: Mira
Rated: Adult


Last month I killed a man… and now I'm afraid what I might do next.

As a hypnotherapist with a special talent, I'm very good at getting people to overcome their problems. My own problem, however, is that my talent comes from a dark place. If I tell you to do something, trust me: you will do it. Most of the time I can keep things from getting out of hand, but when my emotions interfere, I lose control. That's when people get hurt, sometimes even killed.

The only ones who know I've got a secret are my best friend Sukey and my boyfriend Sam. So far I've been able to keep them safe from the psychic cross fire, but what if one day I can't? Like now. Because now I find myself in the shadowy world of battered women and children, where I've met a little girl who's been violated in the worst possible way. As you can imagine, my emotions are about to interfere.

What I thought:

I really don't like reading about child abuse. But what I do like about the Mercy Hollings books so far is that all the problems that Mercy faces is real life issues. She may not deal with those issues in real ways, but it makes it for a very down to earth novel.

I was expecting some romance, I read reviews where people were knocking it for being too into the romance and not enough into the story. But I found it to be the opposite. A lot of story, very little romance. It isn't a bad thing, but I was expecting more in the romance.

I gave it 4 stars!

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Beg for Mercy by Toni Andrews

Released: September 1, 2007
Publisher: Mira
Rated: Adult

I've never been certain I'm human Oh, the X-rays and blood tests are normal, and most people have no reason to suspect I'm more than I appear to be. But if I tell you to do something? You do it -- no ifs, ands or buts. I call my power the "press." My name is Mercy Hollings, and if you think that having the power to control people makes my life easy, you're dead wrong. Because when I get angry, everyone around me is at risk -- Sukey, my friend who has frightening taste in men; my clients, who, ironically, come to be for help; my neighbors, who regard me as a loner; and Sam, a man who wants to know my darkest secret. I have hurt people in the past, and I don't want that to happen again. But now a powerful stranger is threatening the new life that I've made for myself. And I'm afraid my anger is taking over.

What I thought:

This was a nice change from other paranormal books. Mercy has a gift, but not everyone around her is different. It was a bit different with the Rocko story, and I liked the storyline of something that happens in real life being involved in this paranormal novel. It was a nice breath of fresh air as I read it.

I liked the characters, for the most part, but I didn't get to see a whole lot of Sam to see if I really like him. I'm hoping to read more about him in the next novel to really make up my mind if I like him or not.

I have a feeling the hunt for Mercy's past will go through a few books and I'm excited to see where it goes.  I'm not sure what to classify this novel as, it has paranormal elements but it isn't set heavily in a paranormal world.

Friday, November 26, 2010

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Released:
Publisher:
Rated: YA


Nora should have know her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.

The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?

What I thought:

Oh, I found this novel so frustrating! But in a good way. I just couldn't put it down and I had to know what was going on! I was kept in a thrall trying to finish this and see where it was going. It was superbly done.  It had been a while since I read the first one, but I had no trouble following the story with this.

I'm really getting intrigued with the storyline that Fitzpatrick is crafting with this series!  I am having a hard time waiting for the next installment!  Quite the cliff hanger at the end. I'm excited to see more in this series.

I gave it 5 stars!

Hunted by Amelia Elias

Released:
Publisher:
Rated: Adult

Explosions, car wrecks, assassins, escaped murderers, and a kidnapping.arranged marriages can really take their toll on a vampire. First installment in The Guardians' League series (stand-alone novels with shared characters that may be read in any order but work best in the correct order).

Witness to a brutal murder, Sian Lazuro didn't count on the killer escaping moments after his conviction. Three years later, she's learned the hard way there's only one person she can trust-herself. When she wakes up in bed with a gorgeous stranger who claims to have saved her life, she's understandably wary. Diego Leonides is like no one she's ever met before. Sensual, mysterious, and clearly delusional, he insists not only is he a vampire, but she's now his eternal mate.

Diego never dreamed he'd find his mate by getting hit by her car, and he's no happier about their sudden bonding than she is. The only survivor of a massacre that wiped out his entire Clan, he's spent the last century avoiding taking a mate. Now he finds himself stuck with a woman running from a murderer just as the descendants of the vampire slayers who killed his family arrive in San Francisco to finish the job with him. Arranged marriages are hard enough on a vampire without having to convince his mate that the real bloodthirsty fiends are the mortals.

Warning, this title contains the following: explicit sex, violence.

What I thought: 

I'm not entirely sure I liked this one. I had a hard time reading through parts and I skimmed through a bit of the sex scenes. I'm halfway tempted into trying out the second novel, but it will be down the road. It felt like a watered down version of Midnight Breed or BDB.

For a vampire, Diego sure did have a lot of abilities. He's a vampire, he's a shifter! He didn't seem to have any weaknesses and Sian didn't seem to have a lot of strengths. I'm on the fence.

I gave it 3 stars!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Blood, Smoke and Mirrors by Robyn Bachar

Released: May 11, 2010
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Rated: Adult

Even a bad witch deserves a second chance.

Wrongly accused of using her magic to harm, the closest Catherine Baker comes to helping others is serving their coffee. Life as an outcast is nothing new, thanks to her father’s reputation, but the injustice stings. Especially since the man she loved turned her in.

Now the man has the gall to show up and suggest she become the next Titania? She’d rather wipe that charming grin off his face with a pot of hot java to the groin.

Alexander Duquesne has never faltered in his duties as a guardian—until now. The lingering guilt over Cat’s exile and the recent death of his best friend have shaken his dedication. With the murder of the old Titania, the faerie realm teeters on the brink of chaos. His new orders: keep Cat alive at all costs.

Hunted by a powerful stranger intent on drawing her into an evil web, Cat reluctantly accepts Lex’s protection and the resurrected desire that comes along with it. Lex faces the fight of his life to keep her safe…and win her back. If they both survive.

Warning: This book contains one tough and snarky witch, one gorgeous guardian, explicit blood drinking, magician sex, gratuitous violence against vampires and troublemaking Shakespearean faeries.

What I thought:

I'm on the fence, a bit, on this one. I liked the overall story, but I felt like there was too much going on at times. I liked the characters, for the most part. In most romances I feel like the two main characters come together too fast, and this was no exception. I wanted to see a bit more tension between these two. Cat felt like Lex betrayed her and she gave in pretty fast to him.

It was an interesting twist late in the novel (no spoilers) and I'm curious as to how this will play out in the next book. I look forward to the next one.

I gave it 4 stars!

Monday, November 22, 2010

Jealousy by Lili St. Crow

Released: July 29, 2010
Publisher: Razorbill
Rated: YA


Dru Anderson might finally be safe. She’s at the largest Schola on the continent, and beginning to learn what it means to be svetocha–half vampire, half human, and all deadly. If she survives her training, she will be able to take her place in the Order, holding back the vampires and protecting the oblivious normal people.

But a web of lies and betrayals is still closing around her, just when she thinks she can relax a little. Her mentor Christophe is missing, her almost-boyfriend is acting weird, and the bodyguards she’s been assigned seem to know much more than they should. And then there’s the vampire attacks, the strange nightly visits, and the looks everyone keeps giving her. As if she should know something.

Or as if she’s in danger.

Someone high up in the Order is a traitor. They want Dru dead–but first, they want to know what she remembers of the night her mother died. Dru doesn’t want to remember, but it looks like she might have to–especially since once Christophe returns, he’ll be on trial for his life. The only person who can save him is Dru.

The problem is, once she remembers everything, she may not want to . . .

What I thought: 

This series is getting better with each book. Twist and turns keeps things very interesting and I don't have that feeling of already having everything figured out in the first three chapters.

This series has been a bit different than others. Dru is just a teenager and she acts like one. She cries alot more than any of the other teen characters from other novels, but I don't think that it is a bad thing. Some things seem to leave a character unaffected, but not with Dru. She feels things. She is strong for those around her but struggles to be strong for herself. Very real character.

I gave it 4 stars!

Betrayals by Lili St. Crow

Released: November 17, 2009
Publishers: Razorbill
Rated: YA

She’s no angel . . . Poor Dru Anderson. Her parents are long gone, her best friend is a werewolf, and she’s just learned that the blood flowing through her veins isn’t entirely human. (So what else is new?) Now Dru is stuck at a secret New England Schola for other teens like her, and there’s a big problem— she’s the only girl in the place. A school full of cute boys wouldn’t be so bad, but Dru’s killer instinct says that one of them wants her dead. And with all eyes on her, discovering a traitor within the Order could mean a lot more than social suicide. . . Can Dru survive long enough to find out who has betrayed her trust—and maybe even her heart?

What I thought:

The story is starting to unfold! This was a good followup to the first book. I like the continuing storyline, although most times this frustrates me because I just gotta know what is happening now! But it was really well done.

I was wondering when we'd see more of the romance side of it. There still isn't much, but we get to see a bit here and I'm excited to see where that goes in the next book.

The first book, it wasn't exactly a problem, but I felt something off about Dru as a teen. Well, in this book I had no trouble with her character. I felt she was well developed in this one and started to feel more like a teen to me.

I gave it 4 stars!

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow

Released: May 14, 2009
Publisher: Razorbill
Rated: YA

Dad? Zombie.
Mom? Long gone.
Me? Well, that's the scary part.

The Real World is a frightening place. Just ask sixteen-year-old orphan, Dru Anderson, a tough girl who has taken down her fair share of bad guys. She's armed, dangerous, and ready to kill first and ask questions later. So it's gonna take her a while to figure out who she can trust . . .

Dru Anderson has been "strange" for as long as she can remember, traveling from town to town with her father to hunt the things that go bump in the night. It's a weird life, but a good one--until it all explodes in an icy, broken-down Dakota town, when a hungry zombie busts through her kitchen door. Alone, terrified, and trapped, Dru's going to need every inch of her wit and training to stay alive. The monsters have decided to hunt back--and this time, Dru's on their menu. Chances of survival? Slim to none.

If she can't last until sunup, it's game over . . .

DRU ANDERSON'S NOT AFRAID OF THE DARK. BUT SHE SHOULD BE.


What I thought: 

What a novel. Not much for the happy moments, I spent most of this novel on the verge of tears, even though we barely get to meet Dru's father. It was well written, but something about Dru's personality seemed off for a teen.

This book grabbed me right away and I enjoyed the story. I was hoping for a bit more on the romance side, but I'd say this one is more on the urban fantasy side than romance.

There was a bit more language in this than I expected for a YA novel, although it didn't take away from the story, just throwing that out there for parents.

I gave it 4 stars!

Friday, November 19, 2010

The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

Released: December 22, 2009
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Rated: YA

Grace Divine, daughter of the local pastor, always knew something terrible happened the night Daniel Kalbi disappeared, the night she found her brother Jude collapsed on the porch, covered in his own blood, but she has no idea what a truly monstrous secret that night held.

The memories her family has tried to bury resurface when Daniel returns, three years later, and enrolls in Grace and Jude's high school.

Despite promising Jude she'll stay away, Grace cannot deny her attraction to Daniel's shocking artistic abilities, his way of getting her to look at the world from new angles, and the strange, hungry glint in his eyes.
The closer Grace gets to Daniel, the more she jeopardizes her life, as her actions stir resentment in Jude and drive him to embrace the ancient evil Daniel unleashed that horrific night.

Grace must discover the truth behind the boy's dark secret...and the cure that can save the ones she loves.
But she may have to lay down the ultimate sacrifice to do it--her soul.

What I thought: 

This may not be the best novel I have ever read, but it was entertaining and I spent most of my time just wanting to know what was going on. It was well written and I think the author kept the mystery well intact as the novel went on.

I'm not sure I liked the ending. It felt a bit off, but it does seem to lead into the next book, so I have to wait for the release of the next book to figure out if I like where I think this is going.

I gave it 4 stars!

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

It's been a long summer!

Well, it seems my summer has been full of drama and some not so fun stuff.  But looks like now that things are slowing down a bit (okay, maybe not that much) I can get back to posting reviews.  I have gotten my wedding dress!  That's down, now only a ton of other things to do.  Hopefully I can space it out over the next 7 months so I won't be neglecting my blog as much in the future.

I haven't taken time off from my reading (oh, I am never that busy!), so I have a few reviews to catch up with to post and hopefully stay on top of things.  Hopefully between doctor visits (nothing life threatening), work and planning I will have time to post about the books I read.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns