CTR Current Contests and Events

Friday, December 31, 2010

Other Words for Love ARC by Lorraine Zago Rosenthal

Release: January 11, 2011
Publisher:  Random House Children's Books
Rated: YA

When an unexpected inheritance enables Ari to transfer to an elite Manhattan prep school, she makes a wealthy new friend, Leigh. Leigh introduces Ari to the glamorous side of New York—and to her gorgeous cousin, Blake. Ari doesn't think she stands a chance, but amazingly, Blake asks her out. As their romance heats up, they find themselves involved in an intense, consuming relationship. Ari's family worries that she is losing touch with the important things in life, like family, hard work, and planning for the future.  

When misfortune befalls Blake's family, he pulls away, and Ari's world drains of color. As she struggles to get over the breakup, Ari must finally ask herself: were their feelings true love . . . or something else?

Happy New Year!

Wow, what a year it has been!  I hope it was good for all of you and I hope the best for you in the coming year.  I don't have very many goals for 2011 other than to complete the planning on my June wedding and keeping the peace with both families.

In highlight of the closing year, I wanted to showcase some my favorite reads from this year that I think fans of PNR/UF/YA would enjoy.  I will link my reviews, which are always spoiler free, just click on the book!

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday (16)

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Cryer's Cross by Lisa McMann
Release Date:  February 11, 2011

The small town of Cryer’s Cross is rocked by tragedy when an unassuming freshman disappears without a trace. Kendall Fletcher wasn’t that friendly with the missing girl, but the angst wreaks havoc on her OCD-addled brain.

When a second student goes missing—someone close to Kendall’s heart—the community is in an uproar. Caught in a downward spiral of fear and anxiety, Kendall’s not sure she can hold it together. When she starts hearing the voices of the missing, calling out to her and pleading for help, she fears she’s losing her grip on reality. But when she finds messages scratched in a desk at school—messages that could only be from the missing student who used to sit there—Kendall decides that crazy or not, she’d never forgive herself if she didn’t act on her suspicions.

Something’s not right in Cryer’s Cross—and Kendall’s about to find out just how far the townspeople will go to keep their secrets buried.

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Teaser Tuesday (16)


teasertuesdays31
 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


    A Rush of Wings by Adrian Phoenix
    Book One of The Makers Song

    He knew how difficult and contrary Dante could be -- the child had often tested his own considerable patience -- and Wallace had simply reacted to Dante's refusal to cooperate.  But... why did Wallace even wish to search the courtyard?

    Book Synopsis:

    HIS NAME IS DANTE. Dark. Talented. Beautiful. Star of the rock band Inferno. Rumored owner of the hot New Orleans nightspot Club Hell. Born of the Blood, then broken by an evil beyond imagination.

    Monday, December 27, 2010

    100+ Reading Challange

    So I've decided to do this reading challenge, the first to be done on my blog!  I'm over 250 books for 2010 so far (yes, so far, I still have a few days left) and I think this is definitely doable for me.  It is hosted by Amy at My Overstuffed Bookshelf.  Go over and check it out!


    I will be listing my books in the Page Count of my blog, since I list all the books I read so I can keep track of page counts.  So click on the tab in 2011 to check my progress!  Click Read more for the details of the challenge.

    Sunday, December 26, 2010

    Slayed by Amanda Marrone

    Released: October 5, 2010
    Publisher: Simon Pulse
    Rated: YA

    The Van Helsing family has been hunting vampires for over one hundred years, but sixteen-year-old Daphne wishes her parents would take up an occupation that doesn’t involve decapitating vamps for cash. All Daphne wants is to settle down in one place, attend an actual school, and finally find a BFF to go to the mall with. Instead, Daphne has resigned herself to a life of fast food, cheap motels and buying garlic in bulk.

    But when the Van Helsings are called to a coastal town in Maine, Daphne’s world is turned upside down. Not only do the Van Helsings find themselves hunting a terrifying new kind of vampire (one without fangs but with a taste for kindergarten cuisine), Daphne meets her first potential BF! The hitch? Her new crush is none other than Tyler Harker, AKA, the son of the rival slayer family.

    What's a teen vampire slayer to do?

    Silver Frost by Kailin Gow

    Released: December 22, 2010
    Publisher: The EDGE
    Rated: YA

    Enter the world of Feyland, where beautiful strong fairies have been at war for years. Breena, the beautiful half fairy, half human princess from Oregon, has ascended to her rightful place in Feyland, as Queen of the Summer Kingdom. Being Queen isn't at all what she expected. Now the weight of Feyland falls heavily on her shoulders. The landscape of Feyland is scattered with the silver blood of fairies, turning the once whitish blue frost of the Winter Kingdom to silver frost, and danger lurks everywhere including within her own court. Secretly in love with her intended Winter Prince Kian, now Breena is faced with the realization of war, and the possibility of Kian as her greatest enemy. To help her navigate through the politics within her court and Feyland, help comes in the form of an old friend. Before she knows it, Breena's heart is torned between two loves, just as torned as Feyland. The fate of Feyland depends on her choices, can she make the right ones even if it means turning away from her love forever?  

    Friday, December 24, 2010

    Merry Christmas!

    I just wanted to wish all you book worms a Merry Christmas!  I hope you get all you wanted and get to spend some quality time with friend and family this holiday.  I will be offline for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  Our days will be a bit busy, since this will be my first holiday to spend with two families.  Hopefully I keep my sanity until it is all done and over with!  I look forward to reading and visiting all your blogs in the coming new year!

    Thursday, December 23, 2010

    Forever Frost by Kailin Gow

    Released: September 1, 2010
    Publisher: The EDGE
    Rated: YA

    Breena's entry into Feyland is marred by danger and beauty. A prisoner in her own palace, she longs to see and touch her forbidden prince Kian. Yet her heart is also still with her friend Logan. The discovery of a long-lost figure in Breena's life propels Breena into the heart of fae politics. In a stunning turn of events, Breena suddenly finds herself faced with the most heartbreaking decision in her entire life. 

    Bitter Frost by Kailin Gow

    Released: June 1, 2010
    Publisher: The EDGE
    Rated: YA

    All her life, Breena had always dreamed about fairies as though she lived among them...beautiful fairies living among mortals and living in Feyland. In her dreams, he was always there the breathtakingly handsome but dangerous Winter Prince, Kian, who is her intended. When Breena turns sixteen, she begins seeing fairies and other creatures mortals don t see. Her best friend Logan, suddenly acts very protective. Then she sees Kian, who seems intent on finding her and carrying her off to Feyland. That's fine and all, but for the fact that humans rarely survive a trip to Feyland, a kiss from a fairy generally means death to the human unless that human has fairy blood in them or is very strong, and although Kian seemed to be her intended, he seems to hate her and wants her dead.  

    Wednesday, December 22, 2010

    Afterlight by Elle Jasper

    Released: November 2, 2010
    Publisher: Signet
    Rated: Adult

    Savannah's most unconventional tattoo artist, Riley Poe, lives on the edge. Now she's put over the edge when her younger brother is taken by a sinister cult led by vampires. Her only ally is the hot-tempered vampire Eli Dupre, attracted to Riley's beauty and rare blood type. To save her brother from certain un-death, Riley faces dangers she's never dreamed of, ruthless bloodthirsty enemies, and an evil of endless hunger that wants to devour it all...

    Waiting on Wednesday (15)

    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png
    "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
     
    Once in a Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber
    Full Moon, book 1
    Release Date: Dec 28, 2010

    Beware of a kiss under the full moon. It will change your life forever.
    Celeste Parker is used to hearing scary stories about werewolves—Legend's Run is famous for them. She's used to everything in the small town until Brandon Maddox moves to Legend's Run and Celeste finds herself immediately drawn to the handsome new student. But when, after an unnerving visit with a psychic, she encounters a pack of wolves and gorgeous, enigmatic Brandon, she must discover whether his transformation is more than legend or just a trick of the shadows in the moonlight.

    Tuesday, December 21, 2010

    Teaser Tuesday (15)

    teasertuesdays31
     Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
    Afterlight by Elle Jasper

    “You're too careless,” he warned. “Those punks outnumbered you. They could've hurt you.” He drew his head closer, and I could barely see the outline of a strong jaw, shaggy hair. He looked . . . familiar. “I could hurt you,” he said, his voice deathly quiet.

    Book Synopsis:

    Monday, December 20, 2010

    Torn by Amanda Hocking

    Released: November 15, 2010
    Publisher: CreateSpace
    Rated: YA

    Wendy thought she finally understood who she was and what she wanted, but everything changes when the rival Vittra come after her.

    She's caught between two worlds, torn between love and duty, and she must decide what life she is going to lead.

    Switched by Amanda Hocking

    Released: July 5, 2010
    Publisher: CreateSpace
    Rated: YA

    When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn't until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right.

    With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed - a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy's not sure she wants to be a part of it.

    Sunday, December 19, 2010

    Firespell by Chloe Neill

    Released:
    Publisher:
    Rated: YA

    New Girl.
    New School.
    Old Evil.
    From the author of the Chicagoland Vampires novels.
    A new series about a boarding school filled with something worse than homework.


    Lily's parents have sent her to a fancy boarding school in Chicago filled with the ultra-rich. If that wasn't bad enough, she's hearing and seeing bizarre things on St. Sophie's creepy campus. Her roommate, Scout, keeps her sane, but keeps disappearing at night. When one day Lily finds Scout running from real-life monsters, she learns the hard way that Scout is involved in a splinter group of rebel teens.

    They protect Chicago from demons, vamps, and dark magic users. It's too bad Lily doesn't have powers of her own to help. At least, none that she's discovered yet...

    Friday, December 17, 2010

    Matched by Ally Condie

    Released: November 30, 2010
    Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
    Rated: YA


    In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

    Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s barely any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one . . . until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow—between perfection and passion.

    Blog Hop/Friday Follow (5)

    Book Blogger HopIn the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!  This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read!

    "What do you consider the most important in a story: the plot or the characters?"

    Is this a trick question?  Because I think both are important!  I can get through a good story but still hate the characters and vice versa.  But if I had to pick one, I would say plot.  Usually it is a good story that gets me through if I don't like the characters or if they feel a little flat.



    Today's questions: 


    What did you study in college, or are currently studying and did it lead to your current 9 to 5 or are you doing something totally different?
     
    I just took general classes, but it was my love of reading that landed me the job I have now.  I do research for a title company and since I'm detailed oriented, it helped me to land the job that I was just about perfect for.

    Leave me a comment if you follow me and I will follow you back!

    *I wanted to thank those of you who made it easy to find the Follow button!  I've searched and searched on some blogs and failed to find it!*

    Thursday, December 16, 2010

    Almost to Die For by Tate Hallaway

    Released:August 3, 2010
    Publisher: NAL Trade
    Rated: YA

    On her sixteenth birthday, Anastasija Parker learns that her so-called deadbeat dad is actually a vampire king. And he wants Ana to assume her rightful position at his side, in spite of the fact that she has witch's blood running through her veins-from her mother's side.

    Too bad witches and vampires are mortal enemies. And now Ana's parents are at each other's throats over her future. It's up to Ana to make a choice, but deciding your eternal destiny is a pretty big deal for a girl who just wants to get through high school.

    Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

    Released: March 2, 2010
    Publisher: Hyperion
    Rated: YA

    Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

    By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

    As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

    Wednesday, December 15, 2010

    Waiting on Wednesday (14)


    "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
    River Marked by Patricia Briggs
    Book 6 of the Mercy Thompson series

    Car mechanic Mercy Thompson has always known there was something different about her, and not just the way she can make a VW engine sit up and beg. Mercy is a shapeshifter, a talent she inherited from her long-gone father. She's never known any others of her kind. Until now.

    An evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River-one that her father's people may know something about. And to have any hope of surviving, Mercy and her mate, the Alpha werewolf Adam, will need their help...


    To Hell and Back by Lilith Saintcrow

    Released: January 1, 2008
    Publisher: Orbit
    Rated: Adult

    Dante Valentine has been through Hell. Literally. Her body shattered and her mind not far behind, she's dumped back into her own world to survive--or not--as a pawn in one of Lucifer's endless games.

    Unfortunately, he's just messed with the wrong Necromance. And this time she's mad enough to do something about it.

    This time, the Devil will pay.

    Tuesday, December 14, 2010

    Dead People by Edie Ramer

    Book 1 in the Haunted Heart Series
    Rated: Adult


    When Cassie Taylor talks, ghosts listen. She wants to heal their souls so they can leave earth. Brooding songwriter Luke Rivers wants to give his recently found daughter a normal home, but he discovers his new house in small town Wisconsin is haunted by a ghost with an attitude. His ghost whisperer has an attitude too—even before someone tries to kill her.

    He wants conventional; she wants acceptance. No wonder she thinks men are hard and dead people are easy.

    What I thought:

    Edie Ramer has done it again. She as created such a wonderful new world that enthralls and entertains. This book is filled with laughter, heartbreak, mystery, cranky ghosts, and most importantly, love. The depth of which Ramer is able to put into her characters is fantastic. It doesn't get much better than this.

    This is the first in a very promising series and I can't wait to see what happens next. Ramer is a must read!

    I gave it 5 stars!

    Teaser Tuesday (14)

    teasertuesdays31
     Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
    Dead People by Edie Ramer
    Book 1 of the Haunted Heart series

    Okay, I'm sharing two teasers from this book!  Cheating a bit, but I couldn't decide between the two!

    "I miss women who talk about women things."
    "You're changing the subject.  Keep it up and I'll talk about my period.  That's a woman thing."
    ------

    Her client fit the house, just as gloomy.  So what if he had the kind of looks that made her breath catch and her knees weaken?  Dracula had the same effect on a lot of women, and all that made him was a woman killer.

    Book synopsis:

    When Cassie Taylor talks, ghosts listen. She wants to heal their souls so they can leave earth. Brooding songwriter Luke Rivers wants to give his recently found daughter a normal home, but he discovers his new house in small town Wisconsin is haunted by a ghost with an attitude. His ghost whisperer has an attitude too—even before someone tries to kill her.

    He wants conventional; she wants acceptance. No wonder she thinks men are hard and dead people are easy.

    Monday, December 13, 2010

    Blame it on the Moon by Shara Lanel

    Released: January 15, 2008
    Publisher: Loose Id
    Rated: Adult

    Kitty Lazarus can't help reading the new pub owner's mind -- that's her gift -- but his thoughts are very different from anyone else's. Very 3-D, and they always involve stripping her naked and doing wickedly erotic things to her. Yet, who is this blonde lady he keeps thinking about, and why does he sometimes picture himself in front of a mirror sprouting fur and fangs?

    Contests!

    There is a contest going to win a finished, signed copy of SARAH SMITH'S THE OTHER SIDE OF DARK!  Check out the post at Amaterasu Reads!


    One Year Blogoversary Giveaway

    Friday, December 10, 2010

    Blog Hop/Friday Follow (4)

     Book Blogger Hop
    In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!  This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read! 

    What is the thing you like most about reading book blogs? Is it the reviews, author guest posts, articles, giveaways, or something else entirely?

    I love reading about books I want to read, never heard before or seeing what someone else thought of a book I have read.  I love learning about new authors I've never read and of course I love giveaways.  I am a very avid reader and books is what I'm addicted to.




    Today's questions: 


    Do you have an under-noticed author that you think we should all know about?
     I have ran across an indie author that I just love.  Her name is Edie Ramer and she had asked me to review her books for her.  I read Cattitude and just loved it.  The humor was fantastic and it had a light paranormal twist to it to make it fun.  Couple days ago she gave me her new book to review, Dead People, which is the first book in the Haunted Hearts series.  I think her books are very well written and the humor in them is just great, but she also has the ability to write such great serious scenes when needed that I think she should be on everyone's list to read!

    Thursday, December 9, 2010

    Intertwined by Gena Showalter

    Released: September 1, 2009
    Publisher: Harlequin
    Rated: YA

    Most sixteen-year-olds have friends. Aden Stone has four human souls living inside him: One can time-travel. One can raise the dead. One can tell the future. And one can possess another human. With no other family and a life spent in and out of institutions, Aden and the souls have become friends. But now they're causing him all kinds of trouble. Like, he'll blink and suddenly he's a younger Aden, reliving the past. One wrong move, and he'll change the future.

    Wednesday, December 8, 2010

    Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead

    Released: December 7, 2010
    Publisher: Razorbill
    Rated: YA

    Rose Hathaway doesn’t like feeling caged, but jail will do that to you. What she really resents is that she didn’t do it—she didn’t kill Queen Tatiana. But tell that to the throngs of Moroi and Dhampir—half vampires like her—gathered for the funeral…and calling for her blood!

    Waiting on Wednesday (13)

    "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
    Release Date: January 4, 2011
    Book 3 of the Jane Yellowrock series

    Jane, a shapeshifting vampire-hunter-for-hire, crosses paths with a stranger who has arrived in New Orleans, enlisted to hunt vampires who have gone insane-or so he says...
    I have really enjoyed the first two books and I can't wait for the third.  I just love the world that Ms. Hunter has created and the strong female lead she dreamed up.

    Tuesday, December 7, 2010

    Teaser Tuesday (13)

    teasertuesdays31
     Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! 
    Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead
    The final book in the Vampire Academy series


    "I already know.  You took down your enemy.  You did it fast, and you did it well.  Because you're just that good."  -Dimitri to Rose

    It was really hard to stop reading long enough to post this!  It just came out today and I'm trying to savor it and not tear through it too fast to truly enjoy the story.  It brings a tear to my eye to think this is the last of this series.

    Monday, December 6, 2010

    The Devil's Right Hand by Lilith Saintcrow

    Released: September 1, 2007
    Publisher: Orbit
    Rated: Adult

    Dante Valentine, Necromancer and bounty hunter, just wants to be left alone. But the Devil has other ideas.

    The Prince wants Dante. And he wants her now. And Dante and her lover, Japhrimel, have no choice but to answer the Prince's summons. And to fulfill a seemingly simple task: become the Devil's Right Hand, hunt down four demons that have escaped from Hell, and earn His gratitude.

    It's a shame that nothing is ever easy when it comes to the Devil. Because of course, he doesn't tell Dante the whole truth: there is a rebellion brewing in Hell. And there is a good chance that Lucifer is about to be pushed off the throne.

    But Dante is getting really tired of being pushed around. And this time, she might be angry enough to take on the Devil himself...

    What I thought:

    I'm not sure I liked this one as much as the first two. Japh and Dante seem to still be having problems finding equal ground in the relationship, after a while I found it bothersome to read when Dante was doubting herself, her relationship and Japh. But other than that, I liked the story, I couldn't wait to see what was going on with Lucifer.

    These are well written books, but sometimes it isn't an easy read. There is a lot of descriptive parts of a new world that throw me off for a moment.

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Saturday, December 4, 2010

    Dead Man Rising by Lilith Saintcrow

    Released: January 1, 2006
    Publisher: Orbit
    Rated: Adult

    When the dead call, she answers.

    Bounty hunting is a helluva job, but it pays the bills. And it lets Necromance Dante Valentine forget her issues---like struggling with her half-demon side and the memory of her lover's death.

    Now psychics all over the city are being savagely murdered---and a piece of the past Dante thought she'd buried is stalking the night with a vengeance. Too bad she's got no way to tell which fiend--or friend--to trust. Or that her most horrifying nightmares are gathering to take one kick-ass bounty hunter down for the count.

    But that's only the beginning. The Devil just called. He's looking for Dante's lover--the one he killed...

    What I thought:

    Oh, what a story! I was hooked from the first book and it got worse with this one. I just couldn't put it down. Dante is just a fabulous character. She's so strong with vulnerable moments that I just can't help but love her. My heart ached with her as she grieved through this novel. I recommend a box of tissues for this one.

    This is the second series I have picked up by Lilith Saintcrow. I read her Strange Angel's series under the name Lili St. Crow and I have to say I am a huge fan of hers now. She is a fantastic author who will be on my list of people to follow up on.

    I gave it 4 stars!

    Friday, December 3, 2010

    Blog Hop/Friday Follow (3)


    In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!  This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read!  Click the logo to participate, find other blogs and to join the fun!

    This weeks question:

    "What very popular and hyped book in the blogosphere did you NOT enjoy and how did you feel about posting your review?"


    It's been a while since I've ran across a book I didn't like.  I really don't think I've hated any of the very popular books either.  The last book I struggled with was an Anita Blake book, Micah.  I just couldn't keep with the series anymore.  I am of the mind that I think negative reviews are important, well, the well written ones.  I like knowing what someone didn't like, what they liked, and I can make up my own mind.  I like to think that the parts I had problems with would help someone else in their decision to read a book as well as the things that I liked.  I don't feel bad for negative reviews if they are informative.  



    And now for Friday Follow!  Click the image if you want to participate.  Leave me a comment that you followed and a link and I will return the favor!


    What do you do besides reading / reviewing as a hobby??
     
    I like to play videogames every now and then and watch tv shows on Netflix streaming through the xbox.  Right now I am planning my wedding and I've been watching a lot of Say Yes to the Dress as well as browsing for ideas, designs for cakes and whatever else!

    Thursday, December 2, 2010

    Working for the Devil by Lilith Saintcrow

    Released:
    Publisher:
    Rated: Adult

    When the Devil needs a rogue demon killed, who does he call?

    The Player: Necromance-for-hire Dante Valentine is choosy about her jobs. Hot-tempered and with nerves of steel, she can raise the dead like nobody's business. But one rainy Monday morning, everything goes straight to hell.

    The Score: The Devil hires Dante to eliminate a renegade demon: Vardimal Santino. In return, he will let her live. It's an offer she can't refuse.

    The Catch: How do you kill something that can't die?

    What I thought: 

    I am really loving the novels that involve demons. It is a great break from vampires and werewolves. This is one of the better paranormal books I have gotten my hands on. Not only does it involve demons, but whole new subclasses of humans in a complex and very detailed world. It made for a very entertaining story.

    It took on a new view of the religious side, if you can call it that. It mixes quite a few Gods from different parts of the world. It was interesting. I love reading about something other than the common crucifix storyline. I look forward to reading more from both series and author.

    I gave it 4 stars!!

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010

    Waiting on Wednesday (12)

    "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
     
    Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead
    Book 6 in the Vampire Academy Series
    Release Date: Dec 7, 2010

    Rose Hathaway doesn’t like feeling caged, but jail will do that to you. What she really resents is that she didn’t do it—she didn’t kill Queen Tatiana. But tell that to the throngs of Moroi and Dhampir—half vampires like her—gathered for the funeral…and calling for her blood!

    Last Sacrifice is the final novel in Richelle Mead’s epic vampire series…and she’s saved the best for last. Murder…love…jealousy—it all plays out in this last chapter as Lissa, Rose’s best friend, faces foes who don’t want to see her ascend the Royal Throne. When Rose is rescued from confinement by her one true love, Dimitri, time is of the essence. She must prove her innocence and save her friend, even if it means having to make the ultimate sacrifice.

    Torment by Lauren Kate

    Released: September 28, 2010
    Publisher: Delacorte
    Rated: YA

    How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean - and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future...and that Daniel hasn't told her everything. What if his version of the past isn't actually the way things happened...what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else?

    What I thought:

    I was very happy with the second book in the Fallen series. I really like how this series is shaping up. It's different, dark and entertaining. I'm not a fan of cliffhangers, but I think at the end of this it gives us a good glimpse at things to come and I'm excited for that. This isn't following any outline I expected and that makes it really fun to read.

    I gave it 4 stars!

    LinkWithin

    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
     
    Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns