CTR Current Contests and Events

Monday, December 26, 2011

Review: Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst

Released: September 13, 2011
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
Pearl is a sixteen-year-old vampire . . . fond of blood, allergic to sunlight, and mostly evil . . . until the night a sparkly unicorn stabs her through the heart with his horn. Oops. Her family thinks she was attacked by a vampire hunter (because, obviously, unicorns don’t exist), and they’re shocked she survived. They’re even more shocked when Pearl discovers she can now withstand the sun. But they quickly find a way to make use of her new talent. The Vampire King of New England has chosen Pearl’s family to host his feast. If Pearl enrolls in high school, she can make lots of human friends and lure them to the King’s feast—as the entrÉes.
The only problem? Pearl’s starting to feel the twinges of a conscience. How can she serve up her new friends—especially the cute guy who makes her fangs ache—to be slaughtered? Then again, she’s definitely dead if she lets down her family. What’s a sunlight-loving vamp to do?

What I thought

I have to say, this was pretty entertaining. This was different from other YA Vampire books I have read. What I liked most about it was that Pearl starts evil and then grows a conscience. Plus, what girl doesn't like a story with a unicorn?

This was better than I had expected it to be. I'm not going to lie, the cover threw me off a bit. I'm not sure what about it I don't like, but it didn't grab me the way it has a lot of other people (it's okay! I don't mind being in the minority!). The story was pretty captivating and held my attention to the very end.

I really liked Pearl's conflict of interest. She starts to change and doesn't quite know what to do, if she should just give in and follow the orders of her family, or if she should follow the new voice of reason in her head. It made for a very fun read. The dynamic of Pearl's family was great. I liked them more than maybe I should (since they are evil). It was just a fun read all around.

My Rating

Copyrighted 2010-2011 by Coffee Table Reviews. Use of all or any part of review is prohibited without consent, except use by authors/publishers.

7 comments:

flashlight_reader said...

I thought this one was a super fun read too. I laughed out loud at times from Pearl's sarcastic humor.

Giselle said...

Great review I'm curious about this one especially that it's a different vampire book which is impressive!

Giselle
Xpresso Reads

Candace said...

I have this one on my shelf waiting for me to read it so I'm so happy to hear you really enjoyed it! It sounds so completely different and I can't wait to fit it in!

方松腾 said...

TEN
0319
ray ban sunglasses
tory burch outlet online
louis vuitton handbags
beats headphones
ray ban sunglasses
oakley sunglasses wholesale
tory burch outlet
coach outlet store
fitflops clearance
ray ban sunglasses sale
fitflops sale
rolex watches
ralph lauren outlet
tiffany and co
nike air force 1
tiffany jewelry
oakley sunglasses sale
michael kors outlet
cheap oakley sunglasses
oakley canada
ralph lauren outlet
ferragamo outlet
mulberry handbags
louboutin pas cher
ralph lauren polo shirts
oakley sunglasses
oakley sunglasses
tiffany jewellery
tory burch outlet
true religion sale

chenlina said...

mlb jerseys
ralph lauren uk
uggs for women
fitflops
ugg outlet
canada goose jackets
adidas yeezy
true religion outlet
ugg boots
ugg boots
chenlina20161011

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

Meiqing Xu said...

uggs
converse outlet
birkenstocks
ugg outlet
michael kors handbags
true religion jeans
ugg canada
moncler
canada goose
canada goose outlet
20161223caiyan

Post a Comment

All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated. This is an award free zone. Thanks for thinking of me! But I don't have time to pass on the awards.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns