CTR Current Contests and Events

Friday, December 23, 2011

Review: Ice by Sarah Beth Durst

Released: October 6, 2009
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
When Cassie was a little girl, her grandmother told her a fairy tale about her mother, who made a deal with the Polar Bear King and was swept away to the ends of the earth. Now that Cassie is older, she knows the story was a nice way of saying her mother had died. Cassie lives with her father at an Arctic research station, is determined to become a scientist, and has no time for make-believe. Then, on her eighteenth birthday, Cassie comes face-to-face with a polar bear who speaks to her. He tells her that her mother is alive, imprisoned at the ends of the earth. And he can bring her back -- if Cassie will agree to be his bride. That is the beginning of Cassie's own real-life fairy tale, one that sends her on an unbelievable journey across the brutal Arctic, through the Canadian boreal forest, and on the back of the North Wind to the land east of the sun and west of the moon. Before it is over, the world she knows will be swept away, and everything she holds dear will be taken from her -- until she discovers the true meaning of love and family in the magical realm of Ice.

What I thought

I was pretty intrigued with the storyline for this. I actually enjoyed about the first half or so of the book, getting to learn the new world and a different kind of paranormal young adult novel (I haven't read the original story that this was suppose to be a retelling of). But, unfortunately, that feeling didn't last through the book.

About halfway I really struggled to keep reading. It felt too much tell and not enough show. The first half, to a point, felt good. When Cassie started her trek across the arctic is where I felt the story change to where I didn't like it so much anymore. It's almost as if the story hit a brick wall and continued the story crippled.

The ending seemed abrupt. If it had played out a bit more, if we got to see the resolve of the book, I think I could have rated it another star. There were a few questions I had at the end that I didn't get answers for.

Overall, it's not a terrible book, but I think it could have been so much more.

My Rating

Copyrighted 2010-2011 by Coffee Table Reviews. Use of all or any part of review is prohibited without consent, except use by authors/publishers.

8 comments:

Giselle said...

Aww shame this isn't good I really dig that cover!! Oh well. Great review! :)

Giselle
Xpresso Reads

Aimee said...

Thanks Giselle! I still love the cover and I'm sad I didn't like it more!

Lily Child said...

I agree, this book really feels like two different stories. I had the same issues. The first half was great. I read through the pages rapidly. Then the second half brings the story to a screeching halt and the pace slows to a crawl. Enchanted Ivy and Drink, Slay, Love are some of Durst's better works.

Aimee said...

I did like Drink Slay Love much better, Lily! I'm glad I didn't stop at this one.

Candace said...

So glad I read this review! Now I know I'll skip this one and just read her others. Sorry it was a bit of a letdown though!

chenlili said...

chenlili20160312
beats by dr dre
tory burch outlet online
louis vuitton outlet
true religion sale
louis vuitton outlet online
michael kors outlet
coach factorty outlet
kate spade outlet
tory burch outlet
copy watches
nike roshe run
oakley sunglasses
oakley vault
cheap basketball shoes
coach outlet
prada outlet
abercrombie & fitch
louis vuitton purses
coach factory outlet
reb christian louboutin
jordan 11
louis vuitton purses
louis vuitton purses
jordan retro 8
louis vuitton
michael kors outlet
true religion jeans outlet
ray bans
coach outlet
kobe 10
michael kors handbags
beats by dre outlet
louis vuitton handbags
canada goose outlet
lebron 13
gucci bags
ed hardy outlet
coach factory outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

raybanoutlet001 said...

chaussure louboutin
nike outlet
nba jerseys
ralph lauren outlet
christian louboutin shoes
polo ralph lauren
nike roshe
air jordan 4
fitflops
ugg outlet

Post a Comment

All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated. This is an award free zone. Thanks for thinking of me! But I don't have time to pass on the awards.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns