CTR Current Contests and Events

Saturday, April 30, 2011

Review: Playing with Fire by Gena Showalter

Released: October 27, 2009
Publisher: HQN Books
Rated: Adult
Buy Playing with Fire

Used to be my greatest achievement was holding a job more than three days. Now suddenly I can shoot fireballs, chill your drink, or blow-dry your hair at fifty paces with a blink of my eye!
It all started when this crazy scientist dropped something in my Grande Mocha Latte. Of course I got wicked sick. Next morning I'm waking up with this total hottie bending over me. He tells me 1)his name's Rome Masters, 2)he's a government agent and 3)I can control the four elements with a thought.
He seems even less pleased by my (apparently irreversible) transformation than I am . . . Because now he'll have to kill me.

Friday, April 29, 2011

Review: Betrayal by Lee Nichols

Released: March 1, 2011
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Rated: YA
Buy Betrayal

Emma Vaile is the most powerful ghostkeeper in centuries. Which is great when she's battling the wraith-master Neos, but terrible when she's flirting with fellow ghostkeeper (and soul mate) Bennett. When ghostkeepers fall in love, the weaker one loses all power, and that's not something Bennett can handle. Heartbroken and alone, Emma tries to lose herself in school with fellow ghostkeeper, Natalie. When a new team of ghostkeepers arrive-one a snarky teen boy, the other a British scholar-Emma finds solace in training for the battle against Neos. But as the team grows stronger, they are threatened by an unknown force. One they thought was good.

As chilling and page-turning as Deception, this sequel will grab readers and hold them to the last page. No one is safe from suspicion as Emma closes in on the traitor.

Six Moon Summer Release!

Six Moon Summer by SM Reine is out today!

Rylie's parents are going through a messy divorce. They send her to summer camp to get her out of the way of their fighting lawyers, but she's just as miserable at the girls' camp as she was at home-- there's nothing vegetarian for her to eat at the mess hall, she hates hiking and archery, and the other campers taunt Rylie mercilessly.
One night, the bullying goes too far, and Rylie runs away. She doesn't get far. It's a full moon, and she isn't alone in the forest. A wild animal mauls her. She's certain she won't survive.
Instead of dying, she wakes up unharmed in her cabin the next morning. The only sign that something has changed are the healed scars on her chest, her increasingly keen senses, and her sudden craving for raw, bloody meat. A boy from the other camp seems to know what's happening to her, but Rylie isn't sure if she can trust herself with Seth.
Rylie soon learns that she only has until the end of summer before she becomes just like the monster that attacked her: a man-eating werewolf hungry for human flesh. Unless she can find a cure, she's only six moons away from transforming forever and losing her life to the hunger..

I gave it five stars when I reviewed it a couple weeks ago which you can view here.  I called it “a fantastic werewolf tale,” but see for yourself.  Check out the book trailer!


It’s available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble now!  You can find where to buy it and see more on the website at http://www.sixmoonsummer.com/

Thursday, April 28, 2011

ARC Review: Hard Bitten by Chloe Neill

Release Date: May 3, 2011
Publisher: NAL
Rated: Adult
Pre-order: Hard Bitten 
Series: Chicagoland Vampires, Book 4
*Book won through GoodReads First Reads Giveaway*

Times are hard for newly minted vampire Merit. Ever since shapeshifters announced their presence to the world, humans have been rallying against supernaturals-and they're camping outside of Cadogan House with protest signs that could turn to pitchforks at any moment. Inside its doors, things between Merit and her Master, green-eyed heartbreaker Ethan Sullivan are...tense. But then the mayor of Chicago calls Merit and Ethan to a clandestine meeting and tells them about a violent vamp attack that has left three women missing. His message is simple: get your House in order. Or else.

Merit needs to get to the bottom of this crime, but it doesn't help that she can't tell who's on her side. So she secretly calls in a favor from someone who's tall, dark, and part of underground vamp group that may have some deep intel on the attack. Merit soon finds herself in the heady, dark heart of Chicago's supernatural society-a world full of vampires who seem ready to fulfill the protesting human's worst fears, and a place where she'll learn that you can't be a vampire without getting a little blood on your hands...

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (28)

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews
A Kate Daniels Novel, Book 5
New to the series? Check out the first book, Magic Bites

Kate Daniels has quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but starting her own business isn't easy when the Order starts disparaging her good name. And being the mate of the Beast Lord doesn't bring in the customers, either. So when Atlanta's premier Master of the Dead asks for help with a vampire, Kate jumps at the chance. Unfortunately, this is one case where Kate should have looked before she leapt.


Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (28)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! 


Hard Bitten by Chloe Neill
Chicagoland Vampires, Book 4
Release Date: May 3, 2011

I squinted at Catcher's "drawing", but still couldn't make heads or tails of it. Except it still looked like a fish. "Could you at least show us where Navy Pier is?" I asked him. "I have no idea what I'm looking at."
Catcher grumbled, but obliged, and drew a tiny rectangle poking out from one side of the fish.
Jeff chuckled. "Is that Navy Pier, or is Chicago just happy to see me?" ARC Page 62. *Subject to change in final copy*

Monday, April 25, 2011

Review: Deception by Lee Nichols

Released: June 8, 2010
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Rated: YA
Buy Deception

When Emma Vaile's parents leave on mysterious business trip, it gives her the perfect excuse to be a rebellious teen. Throw some parties, get a tattoo (or maybe just a piercing), and enjoy the first few weeks of her junior year. Then her best friend stops talking to her, the cops crash her party, and Emma finds herself in the hands of a new guardian—her college-age "knight in J.Crew armor," Bennett Stern—and on a plane to his museum-like mansion in New England. After enrolling at Thatcher Academy, Emma settles in by making friends with the popular legacy crowd. But she can't shake the strange visions that are haunting her. She has memories of Thatcher she can't explain, as if she's returning home to a place she's never been. Emma doesn't trust anyone anymore—except maybe Bennett. But he's about to reveal a ghostly secret to Emma. One that will explain the visions . . . and make Emma fear for her life.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Review: Freefall by Mindi Scott

Released: October 5, 2010
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Rated: Ya
Buy Freefall

Seth McCoy was the last person to see his best friend Isaac alive, and the first to find him dead. It was just another night, just another party, just another time where Isaac drank too much and passed out on the lawn. Only this time, Isaac didn’t wake up.

Convinced that his own actions led to his friend’s death, Seth is torn between turning his life around . . . or losing himself completely.

Then he meets Rosetta: so beautiful and so different from everything and everyone he's ever known. But Rosetta has secrets of her own, and Seth will soon realize he isn’t the only one who needs saving . . .

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Review: Fang Me by Parker Blue

Released: March 14, 2011
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Rated: YA
Buy Fang Me
*Book provided by publisher for review*

The vampires want it. The demons want it, too. And someone is willing to kill Val for it.

Val and Fang have to find the powerful Encyclopedia Magicka before either of San Antonio's warring underworld factions locate it or the consequences will be deadly for the entire city. As usual, Val's vampire enemies (they still call her The Slayer) want her dead. Even some of her fellow demons may be less than trustworthy, since they'd like to grab the legendary book of spells before she does. Val has a personal claim to the Encyclopedia--her demon father left it to her when he died--but someone stole it recently. And that can't be good.

Battling vamps and dodging demons, Val struggles to unravel the mystery and find the thief. At the same time, she's fighting her attraction to sweet, sexy Shade--her favorite shadow demon. Rumor has it that Val will lose her part-demon, vampire-fighting powers if she gives herself to him.

With a crowd of vamps and demons out to trick her or kill her, it's not a good time for her to risk her job as the city's best vampire hunter by falling in love. The stakes are high and aimed right at her heart. But Lola, Val's hungry little lust demon, doesn't like being denied. Will Lola finally get her way?

What's a part-lust-demon-teen supposed to do? Whatever it takes.

Friday, April 22, 2011

Review: Try Me by Parker Blue

Released: February 19, 2010
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Rated: YA
Buy Try Me
*Book provided by publisher for review*

This part-demon teen vampire fighter and her faithful terrier hellhound are once again patrolling the dark city streets of San Antonio, Texas. Val's hunky human partner, Detective Dan Sullivan, is giving her the cold shoulder since she beheaded his vampire ex-fiancée. Vamp leader Alejandro is struggling to keep the peace between vamps, demons and humans. The mucho powerful Encyclopedia Magicka has been stolen, someone in the Demon Underground is poisoning vamps, and Val's inner lust demon, Lola, is getting very restless since Val's now partnered with sexy Shade, the shadow demon with the blond good looks of an angel. The second book in Parker Blue's Demon Underground urban fantasy series plunges readers deeper into a heady world of passion, friendship, intrigue and mystery. Parker Blue lives in the wilds of Colorado with her own faithful hellhound, and she's hard at work on the next Val Shapiro book in the Demon Underground series.

TGIF (4)

Who's ready for the weekend?!  I know I am!  I'm introducing a new feature for Fridays to re-cap the week's posts & to propose a question for my followers.  Feel free to get involved by clicking the image and leaving a comment!




This Friday's Question:

Explicit Material:
How do you feel about explicit language
and/or sexual content in YA books?


In YA, I have a hard time with sexual content. I'm old enough to read books with it, but for teens, I don't think it is appropriate when it goes to far, as far as details. While I can still like a series, it still gets me thinking if that is something a 16 year old should be reading. Most times, you don't get the details, but you do get the idea of what happened.  Sure, a 16 year old knows what sex is and probably has thought about it, but it shouldn't be the focus and there shouldn't be any details.  I read YA because I love the tension when a boy likes a girl and vice versa.  But when it goes to far, I start to wonder if it truly can be labeled YA if it has adult themes.

Language, on the other hand, is a little different. I don't mind the occasional word here and there. Teens say it, we know they do, but I think words like the F word (you all know which word I mean!) should be left out. While other words don't seem as appropriate, such as damn, doesn't bother me because I know most teens have heard it, use it, and don't think it's odd to read it. But I don't want to see a YA where every sentence seems to be filled with bad language. I don't like my non-YA books filled with them, I don't like my YA filled with them as well.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Review: Bite Me by Parker Blue

Released: September 30, 2008
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Rated: YA
Buy Bite Me
*Book provided by publisher for review*

An edgy book for teens that spans the gap between YA and adult fiction. Life after high school is tough enough without having to go 15 rounds with your inner demon. Val Shapiro is just your ordinary, part-demon, teenaged vampire hunter with a Texas drawl. And a pet hellhound named Fang. Soon enough she finds herself deep in the underbelly of the city, discovering the secrets of the Demon Underground and fighting to save those she loves. Whether they love her back or not. 

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (27)

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Almost Final Curtain by Tate Hallaway
A Vampire Princess Novel, Book 2
Release Date: May 3, 2011

Craving the spotlight is in her blood.

Ever since high school student Anastasija Parker discovered she was vampire royalty, her life has been sort of crazy. The half-vampire- half-witch just wants some normalcy, and trying out for the spring musical seems like the perfect fix.

But when the ancient talisman that stands between vampire freedom and slavery to witches is stolen, Ana has to skip rehersal and track down the dangerous artifact before someone uses it to make this year's curtain call her last...

I loved the first book and look forward to this one! I haven't read Hallaway's other series, but after reading the first book in the Vampire Princess series, Almost to Die For, I am looking into her other novels. 

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (27)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!


Freefall by Mindi Scott
Buy Freefall

I turned to Flip-Flops first. She seemed to hate me, but if she was buying into this whole clean slate thing, maybe it would go better than our conversation at the intersection.
"Hi, I'm Dick," I said.
"Yeah, I've heard that about you."
- Page 35 (Kindle)

Monday, April 18, 2011

Review: The Lipstick Laws by Amy Holder

Released: April 4, 2011
Publisher: Graphia
Rated: YA
Buy The Lipstick Laws 
*Ebook provided by the publisher*

At Penford High School, Britney Taylor is the queen bee. She dates whomever she likes, rules over her inner circle of friends like Genghis Khan, and can ruin anyone's life with a snap of perfectly manicured fingers. Just ask the unfortunate few who have crossed her.
For April Bowers, Britney is also the answer to her prayers. April is so unpopular, kids don't even know she exists. But one lunch spent at Britney's table, and April is basking in the glow of popularity.
But Britney's friendship comes with a high price tag. How much is April willing to pay?

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Review: And One Last Thing . . . by Molly Harper

Released: July 27, 2010
Publisher: Gallery
Rated: Adult
Buy And One Last Thing ... 
Lacey Terwilliger’s shock and humiliation over her husband’s philandering prompt her to add some bonus material to Mike’s company newsletter: stunning Technicolor descriptions of the special brand of "administrative support" his receptionist gives him. The detailed mass e-mail to Mike’s family, friends, and clients blows up in her face, and before one can say "instant urban legend," Lacey has become the pariah of her small Kentucky town, a media punch line, and the defendant in Mike’s defamation lawsuit.

Her seemingly perfect life up in flames, Lacey retreats to her family’s lakeside cabin, only to encounter an aggravating neighbor named Monroe. A hunky crime novelist with a low tolerance for drama, Monroe is not thrilled about a newly divorced woman moving in next door. But with time, beer, and a screen door to the nose, a cautious friendship develops into something infinitely more satisfying.

Lacey has to make a decision about her long-term living arrangements, though. Should she take a job writing caustic divorce newsletters for paying clients, or move on with her own life, pursuing more literary aspirations? Can she find happiness with a man who tells her what he thinks and not what she wants to hear? And will she ever be able to resist saying one . . . last . . . thing?

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Review: The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper

Released: March 29, 2011
Publisher: Pocket
Rated: Adult
Buy The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf
Baring It All

Generations of werewolves have been secretly residing in a secluded valley a stone’s throw from Grundy, Alaska. So when a snooping Outsider comes to Grundy to investigate rumors of lycanthropic shenanigans in the area, the valley’s pack alpha, Maggie Graham, resolves to chase him away, even if doing so takes a quick bite on the butt. What a pity that researcher Nick Thatcher turns out to be so drool-worthy, and that his kisses make Maggie want to sit up and beg. Maggie just can’t seem to convince Nick to leave . . . and even worse, she can’t convince herself to stay away from him. Cross-species dating is problem enough for a harried alpha female, but on top of that, a rival group of werewolves is trying to move into the valley. With interpack war threatening, Maggie can’t afford to be distracted. Combining romance and a career can be tough for anyone; for a werewolf in love with a human, it may be disastrous. . . .

Friday, April 15, 2011

Friday Follow (11)


To participate, click on the image and leave your link!

Also, I now have a facebook page for my blog! You don't even have to leave this page to like it! Just click the button, you know you wanna!!

                   

Today's questions:

Do you have anyone that you can discuss books with IRL? Tell us about him/her.
 
Yes! I do! Technically, we shouldn't be friends. We both work for competing companies and we both do our research at the courthouse. So, basically, we see each other more than we see people in our offices and we've become fast friends.  We are even friends with the third company here. We never break that rule of talking business or clients but we do talk! About our lives, children (except for me, I don't have any) and books! We both love Paranormal Romance. I lent her my Black Dagger Brotherhood series and she loved them! So we talk books all the time. I didn't have that before but I love gushing books to her, even if she hasn't read them, because she soon will if I gush over them!  It really makes a difference to have someone there while I'm in the middle of a book. My reviews are just a product of what I think after. Sometimes I lose those moments in the middle of reading a book.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Review: How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper

Released: February 22, 2011
Publisher: Pocket
Rated: Adult
Buy How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf

Northern Exposure

Even in Grundy, Alaska, it’s unusual to find a naked guy with a bear trap clamped to his ankle on your porch. But when said guy turns into a wolf, recent southern transplant Mo Wenstein has no difficulty identifying the problem. Her surly neighbor Cooper Graham—who has been openly critical of Mo’s ability to adapt to life in Alaska—has trouble of his own. Werewolf trouble.

For Cooper, an Alpha in self-imposed exile from his dysfunctional pack, it’s love at first sniff when it comes to Mo. But Cooper has an even more pressing concern on his mind. Several people around Grundy have been the victims of wolf attacks, and since Cooper has no memory of what he gets up to while in werewolf form, he’s worried that he might be the violent canine in question.

If a wolf cries wolf, it makes sense to listen, yet Mo is convinced that Cooper is not the culprit. Except if he’s not responsible, then who is? And when a werewolf falls head over haunches in love with you, what are you supposed to do anyway? The rules of dating just got a whole lot more complicated. . . .

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (26)

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Review: Sweet Possession by Maya Banks

Released: April 5, 2011
Publisher: Berkley Trade
Rated: Adult
Buy Sweet Possession

There is nothing Connor Malone wants to do less than babysit the outrageous and out-of-control pop star Lyric Jones. But part of him relishes taming the celebratty songstress and showing her what it's like to be possessed-body and soul-by one man. And though Lyric's crazy antics nearly drive Connor to the edge, his quiet intensity penetrates her defenses, leaving them both vulnerable to the secrets that could topple Lyric from the stage.

Teaser Tuesday (26)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! 

It was hard to choose just one from this. I haven't laughed at a book this hard in a long time! It's been such a fantastic read so far!

How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper
A Naked Werewolf Novel, Book 1
"I don't have a 'going to get some' dress," I insisted, cringing when she dragged my bulk box of condoms out with a flourish.
"Exhibit A," she said, looking down her nose at me.
"Fine, it's my 'going to get some' dress."
Note to self: Find Evie a hobby that doesn't include getting me laid. - Page 126
 And because I couldn't resist:
I dressed for work and bundled into one of m "mid-range" coats for milder winter weather. It was only supposed to get down into the twenties that day. I loved how the locals said "only in the twenties," as if it was no big deal. - Page 145

Monday, April 11, 2011

ARC Review: Tender Loving Care by Jennifer Greene

Release Date: April 18, 2011
Publisher: Carina Press
Rated: Adult
Preorder Tender Loving Care

*ARC provided by the publisher*

When tragedy strikes, Zoe Anderson finds herself in the one role she never expected to have: mother. Sharing guardianship of four-year-old twins with sexy Rafe Kirkland is a responsibility she simply cannot accept. Rafe is just going to have to take care of the boys himself.

Rafe's not prepared to be a single parent either, but deserting the children is not an option—and he's never been as attracted to a woman as he is to their godmother. He proposes a solution: Zoe and the boys will move in with him, at least until other arrangements can be made. Or until he can convince her to make their temporary family permanent.

Zoe reluctantly agrees to the plan, but even after she loses her heart to the twins, she can't possibly take that emotional risk with Rafe…

Previously published.

Book Blogger Directory

Parajunkee Design
Hey guys! I'm sure most of you have seen this around by now, but I wanted to throw it out there for those of you who may not have seen it.  Parajunkee from Parajunkee's View has organized a directory for book blogs. The goal is to help make blogs, obviously, easier to search not only on the The Book Blogger Directory, but also in other search engines as well. So go ahead and sign up by clicking on the button! Remember, if you do sign up, grab one of the buttons to link back.

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Review: Wedding Bell Blues by Ellie Ferguson

Released: September 6, 2010
Publisher: Naked Reader Press
Rated: Adult
Buy Wedding Bell Blues
*Book provided by author for review*

Weddings always bring out the worst in people. Or at least that's the way it seems to Jessica Jones as her younger sister's wedding day approaches. It's bad enough Jessie has to wear a bridesmaid dress that looks like it was designed by a color blind Harlequin. Then there's the best man who is all hands and no manners. Now add in a murder and Jessie's former lover -- former because she caught him doing the horizontal tango on their kitchen table with her also-former best friend. It really is almost more than a girl should be expected to handle. . . .

Friday, April 8, 2011

Friday Follow (10)


Today's questions:
Do you judge a book by it's cover?

Yes.  I really wish I didn't though.  Covers draw me into the book and get me interested but sometimes those covers full me and the story is terrible or I just couldn't get into it.  But I have also found books where I didn't care for the cover or thought them too kiddie only to realize that I had found a fantastic story that I loved from the first word.  Such an example is the Mercy Thompson series.  I didn't care for the cover of Moon Called.  It kept popping up on my recommendations from Amazon and I couldn't give it a chance. Until I had nothing left that interest me and I tried it.  Then I wanted to slap myself upside the head for taking so long to read this fantastic series. So while I try not to judge a book by it's cover, I'm afraid it will always have the first impression.

ARC Review: The Goddest Test by Aimee Carter

Release Date: April 19, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin
Rated: YA
*ARC provided by the publisher*

Every girl who has taken the test has died.

Now it's Kate's turn.


It's always been just Kate and her mom--and now her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld--and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he's crazy--until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess. 

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Interview, Giveaway, and Review: Six Moon Summer by SM Reine

Release Date: April 26, 2011
Rated: YA
Author site: http://www.smreine.com

I have the lovely Sara with me today! Her debut book, Six Moon Summer, is released this month and in anticipation, she is giving away a signed copy!

Here is a little about her book:

Rylie's parents are going through a messy divorce.  They send her to summer camp to get her out of the way of their fighting lawyers, but she's just as miserable at the girls' camp as she was at home-- there's nothing vegetarian for her to eat at the mess hall, she hates hiking and archery, and the other campers taunt Rylie mercilessly.

One night, the bullying goes too far, and Rylie runs away.  She doesn't get far.  It's a full moon, and she isn't alone in the forest.  A wild animal mauls her.  She's certain she won't survive.

Instead of dying, she wakes up unharmed in her cabin the next morning.  The only sign that something has changed are the healed scars on her chest, her increasingly keen senses, and her sudden craving for raw, bloody meat.  A boy from the other camp seems to know what's happening to her, but Rylie isn't sure if she can trust herself with Seth.

Rylie soon learns that she only has until the end of summer before she becomes just like the monster that attacked her: a man-eating werewolf hungry for human flesh.  Unless she can find a cure, she's only six moons away from transforming forever and losing her life to the hunger...

 My review:

I love werewolf books. I loved this one, go figure, but I also loved that it was completely different from other YA paranormal books I have read about wolves. This took on a completely different creation story. It's harder to find, where werewolves are the evil creatures in books, so I loved this. I also loved that there was hope for Rylie. That her fate wasn't fixed.

This had some romance to it, not enough to overpower the paranormal mystery that is going on, but enough to balance out some of the harsher realities in the book. I loved the narration. Rylie was such a great character to follow as I got to see her change from who she was to what she could be.

This was a fantastic werewolf tale from debut author SM Reine. I am excited to continue the series and it shows great promise. Packed with tons of adventure, teen angst, touch of romance and twisted with paranormal, it makes for a perfect read!

My Rating:
   

Now, Sara was willing to answer a few questions about her work.  I'd like to thank Sara for letting me review the book, give a copy away and to ask her a few questions on her book!!

How did you come up with the idea for the book? Why werewolves?
I underwent a huge change when I was seventeen years old. The person I had been through childhood disappeared and the person I would become as an adult emerged. Life was nuts back then. So much happened to me over the course of two or three months that I was unrecognizable when I came out the other side. I was inspired to share a similarly dramatic coming of age in Six Moon Summer, and what better metaphor for such changes than werewolves? Of course, I'm still human, so Rylie had a much harder time than I did.

In the world you created, are werewolves the only paranormal creature?
I suppose if werewolves are possible, anything else is, too! But I have plenty of stories to tell about werewolves, which are a dwindling population in the Seasons of the Moon series. I don't plan on getting into other fantasy creatures in these books. Werewolves seem to show up in books where they're a secondary feature beside vampires, so it seems fair to let them have the focus for once.

When you wrote Six Moon Summer, did you outline or plot the whole book or did you figure things out as you wrote?
I had an idea of where the story was going, but I'm too disorganized to outline. I wrote the beginning, and then the end, and then the climax, and kind of hopped around through the rest from there. All the most dramatic scenes come first as they occur to me. Once I have the skeleton of the novel, I fill in the blanks. See? Disorganized.

Do you have an idea on how many books will be in this series?

I have four books planned (one for each season). I hope to release the second book in the latter half of this year, with books three and four coming in 2012. The entire series will encompass about a year of Rylie's life.

Where will the book be available for purchase after its release?

Amazon and Barnes & Noble. I'm also working on getting into the iBookstore. All avenues of purchase will be listed on my website (http://smreine.com/) when it releases on April 29th.

What authors do you read? Do you read paranormal novels?
I read so many authors! Almost everything I read has paranormal elements. I'm on a huge indie author kick at the moment, so I've been enjoying the likes of Tess Oliver and Katie M John. My comfort reads are Stephen King, Tamora Pierce, Seanan McGuire, Kit Whitfield, and, of course, JK Rowling.

Now for the giveaway! I'm giving readers until April 20th to enter the contest. The contest is open internationally and anyone may enter! All you have to do is leave a comment with a valid email address.  Easy, right? 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns