CTR Current Contests and Events

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Review: The Book of Luke by Jenny O'Connell

Released: April 3, 2007
Publisher: MTV
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Emily Abbott has always been considered the Girl Most Likely to Be Nice -- but lately being nice hasn't done her any good. Her parents have decided to move the family from Chicago back to their hometown of Boston in the middle of Emily's senior year. Only Emily's first real boyfriend, Sean, is in Chicago, and so is her shot at class valedictorian and early admission to the Ivy League. What's a nice girl to do?

Then Sean dumps Emily on moving day and her father announces he's staying behind in Chicago "to tie up loose ends," and Emily decides that what a nice girl needs to do is to stop being nice.

She reconnects with her best friends in Boston, Josie and Lucy, only to discover that they too have been on the receiving end of some glaring Guy Don'ts. So when the girls have to come up with something to put in the senior class time capsule, they know exactly what to do. They'll create a not-so-nice reference guide for future generations of guys -- an instruction book that teaches them the right way to treat girls.

But when her friends draft Emily to test out their tips on Luke Preston -- the hottest, most popular guy in school, who just broke up with Josie by email -- Emily soon finds that Luke is the trickiest of test subjects . . . and that even a nice girl like Emily has a few things to learn about love.

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Review: The Devil Inside by Jenna Black

Released: November 27, 2007
Publisher: Dell
Rated: Adult
Series: Morgan Kinsley, Book 1
Buy The Devil Inside

Posession. Murder. Mayhem.
Let the games begin...

Exorcism isn’t a job, it’s a calling—and a curse. Just ask Morgan Kingsley, a woman who has a stronger aura than any Demon. Or so she thought. Now, in a pair of black leather pants and a kick-ass tattoo, Morgan is heading back to Philadelphia after a nasty little exorcism—and her life is about to be turned upside down…by the Demon that’s gotten inside her.

Not just any Demon. Six foot five inches of dark, delicious temptation, this one is to die for—that is, if he doesn’t get Morgan killed first. Because while some humans vilify Demons and others idolize them, Morgan’s Demon is leading a war of succession no human has ever imagined. For a woman trying to live a life, and hold on to the almost-perfect man, being possessed by a gorgeous rebel Demon will mean a wild ride of uninhibited thrills, shocking surprises, and pure, unadulterated terror. . . . 

Review: The Devil You Know by Jenna Black

Released: July 29, 2008
Publisher: Dell
Rated: Adult
Series:  Morgan Kinsley, Book 2
Buy The Devil You Know

The beautiful. The bad. The possessed.

Some people worship them. Some people fear them. And some people—like Morgan Kingsley—go up against them toe-to-toe, flesh to flesh, and power against power. An exorcist by trade, Morgan is one of the few humans with an aura stronger than her possessor, even though her demon can tease her body senseless. She’s also a woman who has just discovered a shocking truth: everything she once believed about her past, her identity, may have been a lie.

With a family secret exploding around her and a full-scale demon war igniting, Morgan is a key player in an unsettled world. Then a rogue sociopathic demon enters her life with a bang. His name is The Hunter. And since she is the prey, Morgan has only one choice: to hunt The Hunter down—no matter what heartbreaking truths she uncovers along the way….

Friday, June 24, 2011

Review: Dark Descendant by Jenna Black

Released: April 26, 2011
Publisher: Pocket
Rated: YA
Buy Dark Descendant
 
Nikki Glass can track down any man. But when her latest client turns out to be a true descendant of Hades, Nikki now discovers she can’t die. . . . Crazy as it sounds, Nikki’s manhunting skills are literally god-given. She’s a living, breathing descendant of Artemis who has stepped right into a trap set by the children of the gods. Nikki’s new “friends” include a descendant of Eros, who uses sex as a weapon; a descendant of Loki, whose tricks are no laughing matter; and a half-mad descendant of Kali who thinks she’s a spy. But most powerful of all are the Olympians, a rival clan of immortals seeking to destroy all Descendants who refuse to bow down to them. In the eternal battle of good god/bad god, Nikki would make a divine weapon. But if they think she’ll surrender without a fight, the gods must be crazy. . . .

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Review: Abandon by Meg Cabot



Released: April 26, 2011
Publisher: Point
Rated: YA
Buy Abandon

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can't help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she's never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

But now she's moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.

Only she can't. Because even here, he finds her. That's how desperately he wants her back. She knows he's no guardian angel, and his dark world isn't exactly heaven, yet she can't stay away . . . especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Review: Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Released: April 5, 2011
Publisher: Speak
Rated: YA
Buy Along for the Ride

It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming beach town where they live. A job in a clothes boutique introduces Auden to the world of girls: their talk, their friendship, their crushes. She missed out on all that, too busy being the perfect daughter to her demanding mother. Then she meets Eli, an intriguing loner and a fellow insomniac who becomes her guide to the nocturnal world of the town. Together they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to come to terms with the guilt he feels for the death of a friend. In her signature pitch-perfect style, Sarah Dessen explores the hearts of two lonely people learning to connect.

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Review: Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler

Released: March 8, 2011
Publisher: Flux
Rated: YA

Star basketball player Chelsea "Nitro" Keyes had the promise of a full ride to college—and everyone's admiration in her hometown. But everything changed senior year, when she took a horrible fall during a game. Now a metal plate holds her together and she feels like a stranger in her own family.

As a graduation present, Chelsea's dad springs for a three-week summer "boot camp" program at a northern Minnesota lake resort. There, she's immediately drawn to her trainer, Clint, a nineteen-year-old ex-hockey player who's haunted by his own traumatic past. As they grow close, Chelsea is torn between her feelings for Clint and her loyalty to her devoted boyfriend back home. Will an unexpected romance just end up causing Chelsea and Clint more pain—or finally heal their heartbreak?

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Review: Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

Released: August 28, 2001
Publisher: Broadway
Rated: YA
Buy Sloppy Firsts

"Banning me from the phone and restricting my computer privileges are the most tyrannical parental gestures I can think of. Don’t they realize that Hope’s the only one who keeps me sane? . . . I don’t see how things could get any worse.”

When her best friend, Hope Weaver, moves away from Pineville, New Jersey, hyperobservant sixteen-year-old Jessica Darling is devastated. A fish out of water at school and a stranger at home, Jessica feels more lost than ever now that the only person with whom she could really communicate has gone. How is she supposed to deal with the boy- and shopping-crazy girls at school, her dad’s obsession with her track meets, her mother salivating over big sister Bethany’s lavish wedding, and her nonexistent love life? A fresh, funny, utterly compelling fiction debut by first-time novelist Megan McCafferty, Sloppy Firsts is an insightful, true-to-life look at Jessica’s predicament as she embarks on another year of teenage torment--from the dark days of Hope’s departure through her months as a type-A personality turned insomniac to her completely mixed-up feelings about Marcus Flutie, the intelligent and mysterious “Dreg” who works his way into her heart. Like a John Hughes for the twenty-first century, Megan McCafferty taps into the inherent humor and drama of the teen experience. This poignant, hilarious novel is sure to appeal to readers who are still going through it, as well as those who are grateful that they don’t have to go back and grow up all over again.

Sunday, June 12, 2011

Review: Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin

Released: September 7, 2010
Publisher: Dial
Rated: YA
Buy Extraordinary

What does it mean to be extraordinary? Phoebe finds herself drawn to Mallory, the strange and secretive new kid in school. Soon the two girls are as close as sisters . . . until Mallory’s magnetic older brother, Ryland, appears. Ryland has an immediate, exciting hold on Phoebe—but a dangerous hold, for she begins to question her feelings about her best friend and, worse, about herself.
Soon she’ll discover the shocking, fantastical truth about Ryland and Mallory, and about an age-old debt they expect Phoebe to pay. Will she be strong enough to resist? Will she be special enough to save herself?

Saturday, June 11, 2011

Raven's Kiss Blog Tour: Review and Guest Post

Release Date: April 11, 2011
Rated: Adult
Author's websites:
www.catsbooksmorecats.blogspot.com www.tonilotempioauthor.webs.com
Buy Raven's Kiss: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Smashwords


Toni has been gracious enough to allow me to review her work and I'm excited to have her with me today. She also is doing a guest post today! Enjoy!



Friday, June 10, 2011

Tracking Shadows Blog Tour: Review and Guest Post

I wanted to thank Regan for letting me review her book. I really enjoyed it and I'm excited to have her on the blog today!

Hi Aimee! Thanks for hosting me on this first stop of the Tracking Shadows book launch blog tour. Being a bit nervous about the whole blog tour thing and so very excited about the book, I struggled with just what to share with your readers. Then it dawned on me...share the coffee!

Coffee and I have a long history. I first fell in love with coffee as a high school junior. But only because I was crushing on my math teacher...tall, dark, handsome, smart, and a drummer (like me!)... He'd bring a steaming cup of coffee with him to class every afternoon. I asked more questions and inadvertently learned more math than any other school year.

Later, my husband drank coffee, but only at work. When he worked from home for a year, he brewed a pot every day. That rich scent captured me and soon I was hooked. For life.

I'm a walking commercial since I love a hot cup (or two or three) of black coffee first thing in the morning. So it shouldn't surprise anyone that coffee often factors into my books.

When I started writing novels set in 2096, it seemed the whole world was against carbs. So I figured eventually, the government would have strict sugar content regulations. So I outlawed sugar. Taking it further, the government of 2096 has put limits on caffeine too, but knowing how seriously I take my morning coffee, I knew people would find a way around such a ridiculous law.

Thus, Slick Micky, the best smuggler in Chicago, was born.

He played a supporting role in the previous 2096 novels, but I'd been flirting with his story in the back of my mind. It just took awhile (and several detours through other projects) before my imagination lit on Trina, a heroine I thought could match this cool, shadowy character.

Slick Micky's got a reputation for delivering anything, anywhere, anytime, though he really only 'pushes' coffee and sugar, and some nicotine. He and his smuggling network are very popular people in the local area and he's gone above and beyond, using decaying areas of 2096 Chicago to hide a state of the art facility to protect his interests.

In Tracking Shadows, with his assistant dead and an assassin on his tail, Slick Micky hardly has time for coffee, but I can assure you I enjoyed plenty on his behalf while crafting his novel.

Live the adventure!

Regan

P.S. What beverage do you enjoy most with a good book?


Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Released: April 5, 2011
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Rated: YA
Buy Where She Went

It's been three years since Adam's love saved Mia after the accident that annihilated life as she knew it. . .and three years since Mia walked out of Adam's life forever.
Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard's rising star and Adam is L.A. tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia's home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future - and each other.
Told from Adam's point of view in the spare, powerful prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope and the flame of rekindled romance.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Released: April 2, 2009
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Rated: YA
Buy If I Stay

In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen year- old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck... A sophisticated, layered, and heartachingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make—and the ultimate choice Mia commands.This book will bring tears to your eyes at one point and laughter at another.

Monday, June 6, 2011

ARC Review: Hereafter by Tara Hudson

Release Date: June 7, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rated: YA
*Book won through GoodReads First Reads Program*

Can there truly be love after death? 

Drifting in the dark waters of a mysterious river, the only thing Amelia knows for sure is that she's dead. With no recollection of her past life—or her actual death—she's trapped alone in a nightmarish existence. All of this changes when she tries to rescue a boy, Joshua, from drowning in her river. As a ghost, she can do nothing but will him to live. Yet in an unforgettable moment of connection, she helps him survive. 

Amelia and Joshua grow ever closer as they begin to uncover the strange circumstances of her death and the secrets of the dark river that held her captive for so long. But even while they struggle to keep their bond hidden from the living world, a frightening spirit named Eli is doing everything in his power to destroy their newfound happiness and drag Amelia back into the ghost world . . . forever.

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Released: April 6, 2006
Publisher: Speak
Rated: Ya
Buy The Truth About Forever

Sixteen-year-old Macy Queen is looking forward to a long, boring summer. Her boyfriend is going away. She’s stuck with a dull-as-dishwater job at the library. And she’ll spend all of her free time studying for the SATs or grieving silently with her mother over her father’s recent unexpected death. But everything changes when Macy is corralled into helping out at one of her mother’s open house events, and she meets the chaotic Wish Catering crew. Before long, Macy joins the Wish team. She loves everything about the work and the people. But the best thing about Wish is Wes—artistic, insightful, and understanding Wes—who gets Macy to look at life in a whole new way, and really start living it…

Friday, June 3, 2011

Review: Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews

Released: May 31, 2011
Publisher: Ace
Rated: Adult
Buy Magic Slays

Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.

Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, but she's still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be-now that the Order is disparaging her good name. Plus, many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate's mate.

So when Atlanta's premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. But it turns out that this is not an isolated incident. Kate needs to get to the bottom of it-and fast, or the city and everyone dear to her may pay the ultimate price...

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Review: Nowhere Ranch by Heidi Cullinan

Released: February 15, 2011
Publisher: Loose Id
Rated: Adult
Buy Nowhere Ranch

Roe Davis is a man who works hard, keeps to himself, and never mixes business with pleasure -- until he takes a weekend away from his new job at Nowhere Ranch and runs into the owner at the only gay bar for two hundred miles. Getting involved with the boss is a bad idea, but Travis Loving is hard to say no to, especially when it turns out their kinks line up like a pair of custom-cut rails. As Loving points out, so long as this is sex on the side, no interfering with the job, they could make it work.

The truth is, there’s good reason Roe never settles down and always spends his birthdays and holidays celebrating alone. Shut out in the cold by his family years ago, Roe survived by declaring he didn’t need a home. As his affair with Loving grows into more than just sex, Roe finds out what happens when he stays put a little bit too long: the past always catches up with you. Eventually, even a loner gets lonely, and home will grow up through whatever cracks you leave open for it -- even in a place called Nowhere.

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

June Announcement

I am getting married this month! June 11, to be exact. So, this month, I won't be around on the blog as much. Next week is will be a little hectic with the last minute details and then June 13 we are headed to Europe for our honeymoon. I might be blogging about my trip, but I don't know if I will be checking in to much while away.  I have a few reviews scheduled, but will not have any meme's going while away. I expect to be back around the 23rd. So, if I am quiet, don't fear. I haven't quit blogging!

If you want to send us books for wedding gifts, I'm totally accepting. :)  I would say I'm kidding, but honestly, I can't refuse a book.

I want to thank everyone for their kind words and well wishes. I have loved blogging since I started and have found that this community is one of the best!

Review: Happy Birthday To Me by Brian Rowe

Released: April 13, 2011
Publisher: CreateSpace
Rated: YA
Buy Happy Birthday to Me

Seventeen-year-old Cameron Martin has a huge problem: he’s aging a whole year of his life with each passing day. High school is hard enough; imagine rapidly aging from seventeen to seventy in a matter of weeks, with no logical explanation, and with prom, graduation, and the state championship basketball game on the horizon. That’s what happens to Cameron, a mischievous pretty boy who has never had to face a day looking anything but perfect. It starts with a slowing metabolism, followed by gray hair, wrinkles, and heart palpitations. Within days his girlfriend dumps him, his plastic surgeon father forces him to get a facelift, and his terrifying high school librarian seduces him to have sex with her. All he wants to do is go back to normal, but no one, not even the best doctors, can diagnose his condition. When he finds love with a young woman who may or may not be an all-powerful witch, he realizes that the only hope for his survival might be with the one person who instigated his condition in the first place... 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns