CTR Current Contests and Events

Friday, July 29, 2011

Review: Stuck on You by Kathy Carmichael

Released: June 12, 2011
Publisher: CreateSpace
Rated: Adult
Series: A Texas Legacy Romantic Comedy, Book 2
Buy Amazon | Smashwords

Accident prone is one thing. But electromagnetic impairment, too? Whenever Diedra Palmer's emotions run high, light bulbs burn out, watches stop and appliances go berserk. Between the accidents and the way everything around her breaks or goes wild, she's a total jinx. Can two polar opposites... Alec Sparks works hard to maintain control. After his parents' divorce, he took on the responsibility for his clingy mother. Now he's an attorney and looks after his clients just as thoroughly. No wonder he doesn't want even more responsibility--and that's what Diedra would be. She's an accident waiting to happen, a disaster in every sense of the word. But when Alec must join forces with Diedre to help a couple in trouble, the nearly combustible magnetic attraction sends their senses soaring. ... ever become soul mates? Diedre likes her men in neckties and starched collars, all the better for mussing. And Alec Sparks is the starchiest man she's ever met. Trouble is, he's made it clear she can't have him. While Alec and Diedra work together, can they fight the heated desire flaring between them? 

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Follow Friday & TGIF (14)


Q: Let's step away from books for a second and get personal. What T-Shirt slogan best describes you?


"No coffee, No Workee" You guys might think I'm joking. Well, I don't function without coffee. Luckily, I'm not one of those addicts (yet) that drink it from morning til night. But I do drag until I get that first cup of coffee in the morning. Sometimes, I don't feel human until the second cup. Coffee is what gets me through the day. I'm not one of those grouches that you avoid until you see a cup in my hand, but I am one of those people that overlook the most simplest of things because my brain isn't at full speed yet. Me - coffee = Dunce.





Character Envy: If you could be one character from a book, who would you choose & why?


I would love to be Kate Daniels from Ilona Andrew's work. Why? Because she's awesome. She's a tough chick, she can get herself into an awful lot of trouble but always manages to find her way out of it too. Plus, she's got a hot mate. I would totally want to be her just for Curran alone! What I really love about Kate, other than her being a kick butt chick, is that she's got a vulnerable side. She's learned over the course of several books to lean on others and she has such a great growth that is visible when reading through the series. She has great friends who will stick by her through anything and I think that makes her a pretty good character to want to be.


Review: Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

Released: August 31, 2010
Publisher: Ace
Rated: Adult
Series: The Shadow World Series, Book 1
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Spread throughout the dark corners of our world lies the Shadow World, a society of vampires that feeds off the living. In Austin, Texas, one woman’s madness will drive her into a world that few people ever see – or even know exists…

Shortly after she picked up a guitar, Miranda Grey conquered the Austin music scene with a newfound ability to psychically manipulate her audience’s emotions. But as her powers outgrow her control, her mind is increasingly invaded by haunting secrets and overwhelming sadness. Unable to look anyone in the eye, Miranda is fast approaching the edge of insanity – with no one to catch her fall…

When he outlawed killing humans, David Solomon ignited a civil war among Austin’s vampires. As Prime of the South, his sympathy for mortals angered the old guard who refuse to control their violent urges. David has his hands full with the growing insurgency, but he takes in a broken-down woman, a musician in need of supernatural guidance. Little does he know that Miranda Grey has the power to change his world as well…

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Review: Talk to Me by Cassandra Carr

Released: March 22, 2011
Publisher: Loose Id LLC
Rated: Adult
Buy Amazon | Loose Id

Radio producer Jamie MacMahon is in over her head with ex-hockey player-turned host Drew Milan. She's attracted to the man who earned the nickname "the Beast" during his playing days from the moment they meet, but he's her boss and she loves her new job. She's made plenty of mistakes with men and loathes the thought of being yet another plaything for Drew, a man who sleeps with women but doesn't date them.

Drew doesn't want to lose a great producer and knows Jamie deserves a real relationship, but can't stay away from the sizzling chemistry they create every time they're together. Jamie's insecurities and the very real prospect of having to leave a great job if this thing doesn't work out clash hard with Drew's fears about opening his heart and the possibility of losing his first competent producer. Nothing's going to get resolved if one of them won't say it: "Come on, baby, talk to me."

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

ARC Review: Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

Release Date: September 2011
Publisher: Carolrhoda Books
Rated: Ya
Pre-order: Amazon | Book Depository

Once upon a time there was a girl who was special. This is not her story. Unless you count the part where I killed her.

Sixteen-year-old Alison wakes up in a mental institution. As she pieces her memory back together, she realizes she's confessed to murdering Tori Beaugrand, the most perfect girl at school. But the case is a mystery. Tori's body has not been found, and Alison can't explain what happened. One minute she was fighting with Tori. The next moment Tori disintegrated--into nothing.

But that's impossible. No one is capable of making someone vanish. Right? Alison must be losing her mind--like her mother always feared she would.

For years Alison has tried to keep her weird sensory abilities a secret. No one ever understood--until a mysterious visiting scientist takes an interest in Alison's case. Suddenly, Alison discovers that the world is wrong about her--and that she's capable of far more than anyone else would believe. 

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Review: Love You Hate You Miss You by Elizabeth Scott

Released: April 27, 2010
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Get this, I'm supposed to be starting a journal about "my journey." Please. I can see it now: Dear Diary, As I'm set adrift on this crazy sea called "life" . . . I don't think so. It's been seventy-five days. Amy's sick of her parents suddenly taking an interest in her. And she's really sick of people asking her about Julia. Julia's gone now, and she doesn't want to talk about it. They wouldn't get it, anyway. They wouldn't understand what it feels like to have your best friend ripped away from you. They wouldn't understand what it feels like to know it's your fault. Amy's shrink thinks it would help to start a diary. Instead, Amy starts writing letters to Julia. But as she writes letter after letter, she begins to realize that the past wasn't as perfect as she thought it was—and the present deserves a chance too.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Review: Falling Under by Gwen Hayes

Released: March 1, 2011
Publisher: NAL Trade
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Theia Alderson has always led a sheltered life in the small California town of Serendipity Falls. But when a devastatingly handsome boy appears in the halls of her school, Theia knows she's seen Haden before- not around town, but in her dreams.

As the Haden of both the night and the day beckons her closer one moment and pushes her away the next, the only thing Theia knows for sure is that the incredible pull she feels towards him is stronger than her fear.

And when she discovers what Haden truly is, Theia's not sure if she wants to resist him, even if the cost is her soul.

Friday Follow & TGIF (13)



Q. Name 3 authors that you would love to sit down and spend an hour or a meal with just talking about either their books or get advice on writing from?

 

Just three?! Well, First I would pick Edie Ramer. She sent me a book review almost a year ago I think, and ever since we've been in contact every month or so, mostly about books. But she's a great lady with a great talent for story telling and I would love to hear some of those stories over a good meal and a glass of wine.

Second, I would pick Ilona and Gordon Andrews (counts as one since they are a writing team). Because of all the wit and humor and action they put into their books, I bet they would be really fun to get to know. Even on twitter seeing some of the funny things Ilona posts is just hilarious. Not to mention always stalking their blog.

Third, Jennifer Estep. I love her Elemental Assassin series and I'm so excited for her Mythos Academy book. I would probably find myself talking about either Gin or her hunky new boy toy, Owen. But mostly, I would want to talk about how she goes about creating her stories because they are just gripping and funny and Gin is always finding herself in a tight spot and manages to always get away. I want to know what goes on in Estep's head when all that happens.



Bookshelf Tour: Where do you keep your books at home? 
Are they organized?


Oh man, are they not organized. I won't even post a picture of it. I've just moved since I got married so some are in boxes, some are stacked (gulp) on top of each other in a very small portion of the guest closet with the rest of my junk. The house is much to small to really have a book case so I'm not sure what we will do with them. They might stay in boxes. We do plan on buying a new home after 2 or 3 years with my hubby's new promotion, so hopefully they will have a great home in the new home.

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Event: Vampire Bites Blog Tour with Giveaway!

Yes, this is my second Katie Salidas tour this month. But I'm excited to have her back! I stalk her, erm, I mean follow her and her book news! Today she is promoting her book, Vampire Bites, a collection of her short stories. And, if you haven't done so, be sure to check out her vampire series. The first book is  Carpe Noctem (Immortalis #1)  and it's definitely worth a read!! And be sure to visit Leilani Loves Books http://www.leilanilovesbooks.com/ tomorrow!


Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Review: Galaxy Girls by Edie Ramer

Released: July 13, 2011
Publisher: Blue Walrus Books
Rated: Adult
Buy AmazonSmashwords

Genetically created to be broodmares, Phyrne Galaxy and her mother, aunt and cousin don't need men, they need freedom. They escaped from the warring planet of Kergeron to Earth, where Phyrne’s aunt's vision of winning money in a New Jersey casino comes true. Too bad her aunt's precog didn't show the hoods waiting outside with guns. But Phyrne has her own weapon, more powerful than bullets. She's ovulating.

Phyrne turns up the heat, taking out more than the crooks in her wave of sexual torture. FBI Special Agent Hawk Higgens, running to protect the women, is brought to his knees, too. Caught in her procreative spell, Phyrne ravishes Hawk.

Being seduced by an alien and left half naked and unconscious in the back of a surveillance van changes Hawk's life. He joins the Foundation, a privately funded agency that hunts aliens. Six years later, the reason for his career change pops back on the radar in a tea shop in Kentucky. The woman whose face still haunts his dreams has an addition to her family – a five-year-four-month-old daughter.

At the same time, two Kergeron warriors are sent to Earth to bring the women back to their home planet. With an ex-FBI agent and two alien warriors on her trail, Phyrne's calm life running the Tea & Comfort shop is about to get shaken, stirred and screwed. 

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Review: Cracked Up To Be by Courtney Summers

Released: December 23, 2008
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Perfect Parker Fadley isn’t so perfect anymore.  She’s quit the cheerleading squad, she’s dumped her perfect boyfriend, and she’s failing school.  Her parents are on a constant suicide watch and her counselors think she’s playing games…but what they don’t know, the real reason for this whole mess, isn’t something she can say out loud.  It isn’t even something she can say to herself.  A horrible thing has happened and it just might be her fault.  If she can just remove herself from everybody--be totally alone--then everything will be okay...The problem is, nobody will let her.

Monday, July 18, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? (1)



 What happened this week on the blog:


Review: Submissive Beauty by Eliza Gayle

Released: June 17, 2011
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Rated: Adult
Buy Submissive Beauty

Eager to understand her secret desires, Gabrielle enters “The Sanctuary.” Inside she’s immediately torn between fear of the unknown and a craving to learn more, until the lights dim. From the first sound of Thomas’ calm and controlled voice, she is mesmerized. With an underlying need in her emotional spirit that requires more than sex, she is easily seduced into a world of dominance and submission under false pretenses.

For Thomas, an experienced Master, Gabrielle is an interesting mix of defiant, naive and submissive. Her sharp mind and wit appeal to him as much as the curves of her lush figure. He accepts the challenge to help train her despite the danger she represents. Long term anything for him is out of the question. If he does his job right, his protégé David will end up the perfect Dom for her and Thomas will move on with his armor intact.

Their journey puts Gabrielle at the mercy of two men who teach her how to embrace her darkest needs within a tight bond of trust. Unfortunately, betrayal lurks on the path to total surrender. 

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Review: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

Released: April 26, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rated: YA
Buy AmazonBook Depository

Ginny Blackstone thought that the biggest adventure of her life was behind her. She spent last summer traveling around Europe, following the tasks her aunt Peg laid out in a series of letters before she died. When someone stole Ginny's backpack—and the last little blue envelope inside—she resigned herself to never knowing how it was supposed to end.

Months later, a mysterious boy contacts Ginny from London, saying he's found her bag. Finally, Ginny can finish what she started. But instead of ending her journey, the last letter starts a new adventure—one filled with old friends, new loves, and once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Ginny finds she must hold on to her wits . . . and her heart. This time, there are no instructions.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Review: 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Released: August 23, 2005
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Inside little blue envelope 1 are $1,000 and instructions to buy a plane ticket. In envelope 2 are directions to a specific London flat. The note in envelope 3 tells Ginny: Find a starving artist. Because of envelope 4, Ginny and a playwright/thief/ bloke–about–town called Keith go to Scotland together, with somewhat disastrous–though utterly romantic–results. But will she ever see him again? This book includes romance, adventure, travels, comedy, cheap airlines, new people, and an unforgettable journey. Everything about Ginny will change this summer, and it's all because of the 13 little blue envelopes.

It's Friday!! 7/15

Q. What do I do when I are not reading?

Well, I blog (obviously) and I like to go for walks. Since I got married, I had to leave my puppy with my mom so I like to go visit when I can. But really, when I'm not reading, Church activities seem to take up more of my time (whether I want it to or not).





Book Blogger Appreciation: Which book blogs have inspired you or made a difference in your blogging experience?
 
There have been a lot. I have gotten tons of help from Candace at Candace's Book Blog, Lori at Pure Imagination and Angela at Reading Angel. But there have been others to help me along the way when I've needed help.



Book Blogger Hop
How/Where do you get your books? Do you buy them or go to the library? Is there a certain website you use like paperbackswap?

I buy most of mine from Amazon or Book Depository. I can get tons of freebies for my Kindle from Amazon which I do download like crazy sometimes. When I can I get them from the Library. But I live in a small town and they normally don't have anything I'm looking for. I haven't tried any of the swap places.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

600 Follower Book Giveaway!


So, I have reached 600 (and then some) followers over the weekend. I'm pretty excited! Thank you to all of my followers and to all the people that come by and read my reviews. So after some thought, I put together a few prize packages! There will be a winner for each one (great, right?). Since I read both Paranormal and YA, the prize packages will each be genre themed. So here are the prize packages:

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Event: Pandora's Box Blitz with author Katie Salidas

Today is the big day! In honor of Pandora's Box by Katie Salidas, there is a lot going on today! There are over 20 blogs participating and quite a few of those are doing giveaways (myself included) so be sure to check out all the blogs and get entered in as many times as you can to increase your chances of winning! Check out the Virtual Book Tour Cafe for today's schedule.

I do have Katie with me today (she's going to be busy today, it's a big day for her book, even bigger day for her!), so without further ado, please welcome Katie to the blog:

Sunday, July 10, 2011

Review: That Summer by Sarah Dessen

Released: May 11, 2004
Publisher: Speak
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

For 15-year-old Haven, her summer is framed by two weddings--her father's and her sister Ashley's. Nothing seems stable except for her memories of the summer that Ashley dated Sumner Lee, who suddenly reappears in Haven's life, giving her a perfect link to that perfect past--and her future.

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Review: Plan B by Jenny O'Connell

Released: March 7, 2006
Publisher: MTV
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Coast through senior year. Graduate. Travel around Europe. Join boyfriend out East for college.

That's the plan. Then the phone rings.

Vanessa has the next year of her life pretty much figured out. Sure, there's some parental convincing to do but she and her celebrity-obsessed gal pal Taylor pretty much think their plan is airtight.

Then Vanessa's parents get a mysterious phone call and drop a bombshell on her that she never could have imagined. She has a half brother. And he's coming to live with them.

If that wasn't bad enough, this half brother is none other than Hollywood bad boy Reed Vaughn. He's famous. He's going to be a senior, too. And he's going to ruin Vanessa's life for sure....

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Friday Follow (12)


To participate, click on the image and leave your link!

                   

And don't forget to enter my contest for an ARC copy of Naked City Anthology with Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, Melissa Marr, Holly Black and many more!

Q. Let's step away from besties...What is the worst book that you've ever read and actually finished? 


Worst book? Easy. Wuthering Heights. Hated this book. Took me 5 months to finish. I don't even know why I finished it, it might have been because it was supposed to be the most romantic book ever written. Well, I had to disagree. I thought it was a book about two idiotic children who should have just grown up. But that is just my opinion. I know lots of people out there (maybe even some of you) loved it. But this didn't call to me. I do believe in that saying though, this is one of those books that has no middle ground. Either you love it or you hate it. I hated it. And finished it. Feels like a badge of honor, you know? Like a battle wound, to say I went there, hated AND I finished it!

Be sure you leave your blog link in the comments, I'll follow back!

Giveaway: ARC copy of Naked City Anthology

So I opened my mail today and guess what I see? Two copies of Naked City. The generous people at St. Martins Press not only gave me my copy, but one to giveaway. How awesome is that?! I know, it's already out, but a free book is a free book, right? So here is a little about the book:

In this thrilling collection of original stories some of today’s hottest paranormal authors delight, thrill and captivate readers with otherworldly tales of magic and mischief. In Jim Butcher’s ”Curses” Harry Dresden investigates how to lift a curse laid by the Fair Folk on the Chicago Cubs. In Patricia Briggs’ “Fairy Gifts,” a vampire is called home by magic to save the Fae who freed him from a dark curse. In Melissa Marr’s “Guns for the Dead,” the newly dead Frankie Lee seeks a job in the afterlife on the wrong side of the law. In Holly Black’s “Noble Rot,” a dying rock star discovers that the young woman who brings him food every day has some strange appetites of her own.

~Edit: The Winner~

The contest is closed and a winner has been chosen. Congrats to Candace!

Disclaimer: The book was not paid for by me, but given to me by St. Martins Press to give away.

Review: Safe Harbor by Tymber Dalton

Released: April 6, 2010
Publisher: Siren Publishing
Rated: Adult
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Clarisse seeks refuge from her abusive ex-boyfriend on the Dilly Dally, her uncle's old fishing trawler in Tarpon Springs, Florida. She doesn't expect to find Mac and Sully, the Dilly's sexy new owners, on board making love. They're at first startled by her appearance, then outraged by the injuries her ex inflicted. They insist she stay with them, and with nowhere else to go, Clarisse agrees.

Both men find themselves falling for Clarisse, but she can't bring herself to completely trust Sully, a former cop, like her ex. She's shocked to discover the men aren't just lovers either, but full-time Master and slave in a BDSM relationship.

As she learns more about their history and lifestyle, she uncovers her own hidden desires. When danger from her past returns, can Sully and Mac provide Clarisse a Safe Harbor? 

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Review: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

Released: April 22, 2008
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

“Ruby, where is your mother?” Ruby knows that the game is up. For the past few months, she’s been on her own in the yellow house, managing somehow, knowing that her mother will probably never return. That’s how she comes to live with Cora, the sister she hasn’t seen in ten years, and Cora’s husband Jamie, whose down-to-earth demeanor makes it hard for Ruby to believe he founded the most popular networking Web site around. A luxurious house, fancy private school, a new wardrobe, the promise of college and a future—it’s a dream come true. So why is Ruby such a reluctant Cinderella, wary and defensive? And why is Nate, the genial boy next door with some secrets of his own, unable to accept the help that Ruby is just learning to give?

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Review: Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Released:  April 6, 2006
Publisher:  Speak
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon | Book Depository
Last year, Annabel was "the girl who has everything"—at least, that’s the part she played in the television commercial for Kopf’s Department Store. This year, she’s the girl who has nothing: no best friend because mean-but-exciting Sophie dropped her, no peace at home since her older sister became anorexic, and no one to sit with at lunch. Until she meets Owen Armstrong. Tall, dark, and music-obsessed, Owen is a reformed bad boy with a commitment to truth-telling.With Owen’s help,maybe Annabel can face what happened the night she and Sophie stopped being friends. Through out this whole story Annabel finds that life has it's up and downs. The only way to over come it is by getting back up and pushing forward. In this multi-layered, impossible-to-put-down book, Sarah Dessen tells the story of a year in the life of a family coming to terms with the imperfections beneath its perfect facade.

Saturday, July 2, 2011

Review: The Devil's Due by Jenna Black

Released: November 25, 2008
Publisher: Dell
Rated: Adult
Series: Morgan Kingsley, Book 3
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

Possession was never this much fun

Trust me or die…That’s the choice Morgan Kingsley, exorcist, is given by the gorgeous rogue demon who’s gotten inside her. The truth is, Morgan has dozens of reasons not to trust anyone, from the violence that torched her house and killed her father to a love life that’s left her questioning her relationship with her erstwhile boyfriend, Brian. But Lugh, a king among demons, won’t take no for an answer. He’s prying into her body, her mind, even her sex life. And he’s just pulled Morgan into a power struggle that could have devastating consequences for both the human and demon worlds.

But Morgan still has a job to do: investigating the highly bizarre possession of the son of a wealthy Philadelphia couple. That hunt leads Morgan into a realm of sexual depravity, then a terrifying kidnapping.… Now a woman who makes her living prying demons from their hosts finds her day job colliding with the night: a darkness that is attracting demons of the damnedest sort, including the one who’s about to demand his ultimate due.…  

Friday, July 1, 2011

ARC Review: Sometimes It Happens by Lauren Barnholdt

Release Date: July 12, 2011
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Rated: YA
Pre-order Amazon | Book Depository
*Book provided by the publisher for review*

On the last day of her junior year, Hannah's boyfriend Ryan dumped her. Facing a summer of loneliness, Hannah turns to her best friend Ava for comfort. Ava does what BFFs do: she stays by Hannah's side...until it's time for Ava to head up to Maine for the summer. Also left behind is Ava's boyfriend, Noah, who's such a great guy he gets Hannah a job at the diner he waits tables at. Slowly, Hannah comes out of her funk thanks to Noah's good conversation and their fun times at the diner. But things get complicated when their friendship turns into attraction--and one night, into a passionate kiss. The novel opens on the first day of senior year; the day Hannah is going to see Ava, Ryan, and Noah all in one place. Over the course of the day secrets and betrayals are revealed, and alliances are broken and reformed. In the end, everyone is paired up once again, but not the way you might think...  

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns