CTR Current Contests and Events

Friday, September 30, 2011

Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Released: August 24, 2010
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Rated: YA Dystopian
Series: The Hunger Games, Book 3
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

MY NAME IS KATNISS EVERDEEN.
WHY AM I NOT DEAD?
I SHOULD BE DEAD.
Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss's family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.
It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans -- except Katniss.
The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss's willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels' Mockingjay -- no matter what the personal cost.

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Released: September 1, 2009
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Rated: YA Dystopian
Series: The Hunger Games, Book 2
Buy AmazonBook Depository

SPARKS ARE IGNITING.
FLAMES ARE SPREADING.
AND THE CAPITOL WANTS REVENGE. Katniss is threatened to make a show for the President that she did not make fun of the capitol.
Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol -- a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.
Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.Thoughts of escaping District 12, the Capital, and the pressure are constantly in Katniss's mind. But she knows it isn't possible.
In Catching Fire, the second novel of the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen, testing her more than ever before…and surprising readers at every turn.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Released: September 14, 2008
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Rated: YA
Series: The Hunger Games Trilogy, Book 1
Buy Amazon| Book Depository

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and reminds the districts, by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV, that to rebel against the Capitol as District 13 once did, is to die. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who works to provide for her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she volunteers to take her sisters place to represent her district in the Games. She must leave her family in the hands of her hunting companion, Gale Hawthorne, and enter into the Games with just a baker's son, Peeta Mellark, and a drunken mentor, Haymitch Abernathy, for help.
This is the story of the Girl Who Was on Fire.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

ARC Review: Lord of the Wolfyn by Jessica Andersen

Released: October 18, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin
Rated: Adult
Series: Royal House of Shadows, Book 3
Buy Amazon| Book Depository
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
For practical Rhea Weston, nothing could explain how reading a sexy version of “Little Red Riding Hood” catapulted her into another realm—face-to-fang with the legendary wolf-creature who seduced women. A wolf who transformed into a dark, virile man . . .
Dayn cursed the Sorcerer that turned him wolfyn and damned him to a lonely fate. As a beast, he mated with women to gain strength. Strength he needed to rescue his royal palace. But as a man, he craved Reda’s heated, sizzling touch. With little time left, Dayn had to either embrace his wolf to safe his kingdom…or fight to save his woman.

Monday, September 26, 2011

Review: Lord of Rage by Jill Monroe

Released: September 20, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin
Rated: Adult
Series: Royal House of Shadows, Book 2
Buy Amazon| Book Depository
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
Princess Breena had been dreaming of her warrior lover when she was ripped from her Elden castle and thrown into a strange, dangerous realm. Lost and alone, she prayed for survival and vengeance for her stolen kingdom. She found both in a woodland cottage…in a dark bear of a man.
The golden-haired beauty had eaten his food and slept in his bed when Osborn found her. Though he wanted to awaken his virgin princess to carnal pleasures, Breena wanted more—including his warrior skills. Skills the once-legendary mercenary had long buried. Now Osborn had a choice—risk his life or deny his princess her fairy-tale ending.

Saturday, September 24, 2011

An Unexpected Bride Blog Tour

I'm excited to be part of the book tour that is hosting An Unexpected Bride by Shadonna Richards.

Be sure to check out the next stop at The Wormhole tomorrow!

About the Book


Desperate to fulfill her ailing grandfather’s last wish to see her settle down and get married, Emma Wiggins, a 30-year-old, career-focused executive tells him a little white lie on his deathbed that she is in fact engaged--to her boss, deliciously handsome and emotionally unavailable, Evan Fletcher.

The situation takes an unexpected turn when her grandfather's condition improves slightly and to her shock, he goes ahead and arranges a wedding ceremony at his hospital bedside before he passes on. Now, all Emma has to do is convince unsuspecting, commitment-phobic Evan to tie the knot with her in seven days. Can love blossom in the most unlikely situation?

Friday, September 23, 2011

Review: Once Upon a Groom Book by Karen Rose Smith






Release Date: October 1, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin Special Edition
Rated: Adult
Series: Reunion Brides, Book 2
Buy Amazon
*Book was provided by author for honest review*
Zack and Jenny fell in love in high school. But Zack intended to escape the Rocky D while Jenny craved the roots she’d found on his parents’ ranch. With resentment and bitterness toward his father, blaming him for his mother’s death, Zack left for California to find a life as a movie director with wealth, fame and privilege. Now when he returns to Miners Bluff, his father isn’t the man he once was. And Jenny has a secret she has never divulged.
As old fires reignite, Zack and Jenny fall in love all over again. A rescued horse becomes a bond that helps them revisit the good times in their past. Due to Jenny’s passion for the holidays and her insistence that they visit with friends, Zack begins to remember the meaning of Thanksgiving and Christmas. Will their differences push them apart once more? Or is Jenny
truly Zack’s Cinderella and he will be able to whisk her away into their happily-ever after?

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Review: My Lunatic Life by Sharon Sala

Released: August 27, 2011
Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
Rated: YA
Series: Lunatic Life, Book 1
Buy Amazon
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
She plays for Team Spirit. High school senior Tara Luna's got all the usual teen problems: a new school, her attraction to a hunky guy, feuds with the Mean Girls, being regarded as an oddball outsider-PLUS she has psychic powers, a duo of protective, meddlesome ghosts AND an angry, threatening teen girl ghost who wants Tara to solve her murder-or else.Now you know why she calls this "my lunatic life."

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Review: The Fox Inheritance by Mary E Pearson

Released: August 30, 2011
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Rated: YA
Series: The Jenna Fox Chronicles, Book 2
Buy Amazon| Book Depository
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
Once there were three. Three friends who loved each other—Jenna, Locke, and Kara. And after a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, their three minds were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld. Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first. When Jenna disappeared, Locke and Kara had to go on without her. Decades passed, and then centuries.
Two-hundred-and-sixty years later, they have been released at last. Given new, perfect bodies, Locke and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.
Everyone except Jenna Fox.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

ARC Review: Spider's Revenge by Jennifer Estep

Released: September 27, 2011
Publisher: Pocket Books
Rated: Adult
Series: Elemental Assassin, Book 5
Buy Amazon| Book Depository
*Book was provided by author for honest review*
Old habits die hard for assassins.
And I plan on murdering someone before the night is through.
Killing used to be my regular gig, after all. Gin Blanco, aka the Spider, assassin-for-hire. And I was very, very good at it. Now, I’m ready to make the one hit that truly matters: Mab Monroe, the dangerous Fire elemental who murdered my family when I was thirteen. Oh, I don’t think the mission will be easy, but turns out it’s a bit more problematic than expected. The bitch knows I’m coming for her. So now I’m up against the army of lethal bounty hunters Mab hired to track me down. She also put a price on my baby sister’s head. Keeping Bria safe is my first priority. Taking Mab out is a close second. Good thing I’ve got my powerful Ice and Stone magic—and my irresistible lover, Owen Grayson—to watch my back. This battle has been years in the making, and there’s a good chance I won’t survive. But if I’m going down, then Mab’s coming with me . . . no matter what I have to do to make that happen.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Released: June 7, 2011
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon| Book Depository

Each night at precisely 4:33 am, while sixteen-year-old London Lane is asleep, her memory of that day is erased. In the morning, all she can "remember" are events from her future. London is used to relying on reminder notes and a trusted friend to get through the day, but things get complicated when a new boy at school enters the picture. Luke Henry is not someone you'd easily forget, yet try as she might, London can't find him in her memories of things to come.

When London starts experiencing disturbing flashbacks, or flash-forwards, as the case may be, she realizes it's time to learn about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.

Friday, September 16, 2011

Review: The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E Pearson

Released: April 29, 2008
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co
Rated: YA
Series: Jenna Fox Chronicles, Book 1
Buy Amazon| Book Depository
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
Who is Jenna Fox? Seventeen-year-old Jenna has been told that is her name. She has just awoken from a coma, they tell her, and she is still recovering from a terrible accident in which she was involved a year ago. But what happened before that? Jenna doesn't remember her life. Or does she? And are the memories really hers?

This fascinating novel represents a stunning new direction for acclaimed author Mary Pearson. Set in a near future America, it takes readers on an unforgettable journey through questions of bio-medical ethics and the nature of humanity. Mary Pearson's vividly drawn characters and masterful writing soar to a new level of sophistication.

Thursday, September 15, 2011

ARC Review: The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Released: September 20, 2011
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Rated: YA
Series: Fire and Thorns, Book 1
Pre-order Amazon| Book Depository

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.
But she is also the younger of two princesses. The one who has never done anything remarkable, and can’t see how she ever will.
Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.
And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior, and he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.
Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.
Most of the chosen do.

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Giveaway: Dreamland by Alyson Noel

Those great people at Zeitghost Media and Macmillan Children's Publishing are offering up another book for a giveaway! Dreamland by Alyson Noel is up for grabs! I've also been given the book trailer to show off, so make sure to take a peek and tell use what you think! Here's a little blurb about the book:

Riley's finding that the afterlife can be a lonely place when all you do is focus on work. So she goes to the place where dreams happen, hoping to find a way to contact her sister, Ever. She meets the director, who tells her about the two ways to send dreams. As a Dream Jumper, a person can jump into a dreamer's dream, share a message, and participate. As a Dreamweaver, an entire dream can be created in a studio and sent to the dreamer. But Dreamweaving was outlawed decades ago, and the studio was boarded up. Thinking it's her only way to reach out to her sister, Riley goes in search of the old studio. There she finds a ghost boy, who's been creating and sending nightmares to people for years. In order to stop him and reach out to Ever, Riley is going to have to confront and overcome her own fears.

All Hallows Moon Mini Book Tour

I'm pretty excited to be hosting today. SM Reine is promoting the second book in her Seasons of the Moon series, All Hallows Moon. Be sure to check out all the other blogs to see what everyone is posting! There is a giveaway for one Signed Copy and 5 Ebook copies! So make sure you enter, there is an entry for each blog participating.

About the Book

Rylie survived becoming a werewolf at great cost. She moves to her aunt’s ranch in the hopes she can enroll in a new high school and quietly continue her life... with a few distinct changes. She transforms into a beast every new and full moon and struggles to control her murderous urges.

Without many werewolves left, it’s hard to stay in hiding. A family of hunters -- Eleanor, Abel, and Seth -- recognize the signs and follow Rylie to her new home. They want to stop her before she murders someone, and the only way to do it is with a silver bullet. Seth soon realizes the werewolf is Rylie, the one monster he failed to kill. Worse yet, he’s still in love with her.

Torn between family and love, Rylie struggles to reconcile her feelings and control the wolf within while Seth fights to do what’s right. But what is right-- obeying desire or duty?

Monday, September 12, 2011

Review: Ripple by Mandy Hubbard

Released: July 21, 2011
Publisher: Razorbill
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon| Book Depository

Lexi is cursed with a dark secret. Each day she goes to school like a normal teenager, and each night she must swim, or the pain will be unbearable. She is a siren - a deadly mermaid destined to lure men to their watery deaths. After a terrible tragedy, Lexi shut herself off from the world, vowing to protect the ones she loves. But she soon finds herself caught between a new boy at school who may have the power to melt her icy exterior, and a handsome water spirit who says he can break Lexi's curse if she gives up everything else. Lexi is faced with the hardest decision she's ever had to make: the life she's always longed for - or the love she can't live without?

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Review: Lord of the Vampires by Gena Showalter

Released: August 23, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin
Rated: Adult
Series: Royal House of Shadows, Book 1
Buy Amazon| Book Depository
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
Once upon a time…the Blood Sorcerer vanquished the kingdom of Elden. To save their children, the queen scattered them to safety and the king filled them with vengeance. Only a magical timepiece connects the four royal heirs…and time is running out….

Nicolai the Vampire was renowned for his virility, but in a twist of fate "The Dark Seducer" had become a sex slave in the kingdom of Delfina—stripped of his precious timepiece and his memory. All that remained was a primal need for freedom, revenge—and the only woman who could help him.

In her dreams, a wanton vampire called to Jane Parker, drawing her to his dark sexuality and his magical realm. But for a human, all was not a fairy tale in Delfina. Jane was the key to Nicolai's memory…but exploiting her meant dooming the only mortal he craved.

Friday, September 9, 2011

FricFrac Fridays (2)


Welcome to FricFrac Fridays hosted right here at Coffee Table Reviews.  A bookish meme, I will be asking questions to find out what exactly you guys love and hate as a reader.Grab the button, answer the questions and link up!





Who is your favorite villain and why?

I have to admit. I have a thing for great bad guys. One of my favorites is the Erlking from Jenna Black's Faeriewalker series.  I love the Erlking because not only is he a fantastic bad guy, he's charming and has a way of oozing charisma to get what he wants. He has an agenda and he doesn't hide it. He doesn't try to hide anything that he is. He turns the charm on to try and get what he wants (more death and destruction).  I thought he was a well crafted bad guy. He didn't pull his punches and if he saved the day, it was always because he stood to gain something from it.
 



Have you had a villain fall flat and ruin a book for you?

I really hate to do this, because I like to believe that I've moved on from my distaste of how this series has fallen so far from great to disastrous.  The Harlequin by Laurell K Hamilton wasn't just a sad excuse to have everything revolve around sex, but it had the potential to be a very gripping book. The bad guys, the harlequin, could have been so much more. But since their storyline faded to the background, much like a distant busing of a mosquito,  the novel fell apart. This was the last book I will ever read in the Anita Blake series. I loved the first books in the series, but after a while, it gets to be too much with sex and the storyline suffers, as this book shows. I do think it's sad, because this series was wonderful at first, but as LKH lost her vision of what makes a great book, she also lost the ability to write a good bad guy.

What about you? Link up and tell us who your picks are! 
Have a question you want to be featured? Fill out the form here.


Thursday, September 8, 2011

ARC Review: A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies

Release Date: September 27, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rated: YA
Series: A Beautiful Dark Trilogy, Book 1
Pre-order Amazon| Book Depository
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
On the night of Skye’s seventeenth birthday, she meets two enigmatic strangers. Complete opposites—like fire and ice—Asher is dark and wild, while Devin is fair and aloof. Their sudden appearance sends Skye’s life into a tailspin. She has no idea what they want, or why they seem to follow her every move—only that their presence coincides with a flurry of strange events. Soon she begins to doubt not just the identity of the two boys, but also the truth about her own past.
In the dead of a bitingly cold Colorado winter, Skye finds herself coming to terms with the impossible secret that threatens to shatter her world. Torn between Asher, who she can’t help falling for, and Devin, who she can’t stay away from, the consequences of Skye’s choice will reach further than the three of them could ever imagine.

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Giveaway: All These Things I've Done by Gabrielle Zevin

Those great people at Zeitghost Media and Macmillan Children's Publishing are offering up another book for a giveaway! All These Things I've Done by Gabrielle Zevin is up for grabs! I've also been given the book trailer to show off, so make sure to take a peek and tell use what you think! Here's a little blurb about the book:

In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty. And yet, for Anya Balanchine, the sixteen-year-old daughter of the city's most notorious (and dead) crime boss, life is fairly routine. It consists of going to school, taking care of her siblings and her dying grandmother, trying to avoid falling in love with the new assistant D.A.'s son, and avoiding her loser ex-boyfriend. That is until her ex is accidently poisoned by the chocolate her family manufactures and the police think she's to blame. Suddenly, Anya finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight--at school, in the news, and most importantly, within her mafia family. 

Review: Tuesday's Child by Dale Mayer

Released: June 16, 2011
Publisher: Valley Publishing
Rated: Adult
Series: Psychic Visions, Book 1
Buy AmazonBook Depository
*Book was provided by author for honest review*
What she doesn’t want...is exactly what he needs.

Shunned and ridiculed all her life for something she can’t control, Samantha Blair hides her psychic abilities and lives on the fringes of society. Against her will, however, she’s tapped into a killer—or rather, his victims. Each woman’s murder, blow-by-blow, ravages her mind until their death releases her back to her body. Sam knows she must go to the authorities, but will the rugged, no-nonsense detective in charge of tracking down the killer believe her?

Detective Brandt Sutherland only trusts hard evidence, yet Sam’s visions offer clues he needs to catch a killer. The more he learns about her incredible abilities, however, the clearer it becomes that Sam’s visions have put her in the killer’s line of fire. Now Brandt must save her from something he cannot see or understand…and risk losing his heart in the process.

As danger and desire collide, passion raises the stakes in a game Sam and Brandt don’t dare lose.

Monday, September 5, 2011

ARC Review: Entangled Anthology


Release Date: September 12th 2011
Rated: Adult
*Book was provided by author for honest review*
Entangled includes ten suspense-filled paranormal stories from authors Lori Brighton, Michelle Diener, Cynthia Eden, Jennifer Estep, Misty Evans, Nancy Haddock, Liz Kreger, Dale Mayer, Michelle Miles, and Edie Ramer, plus a novella by Allison Brennan.

Stacia Kane contributed the foreword and the book’s formatting and cover art were also donated to the project.

Saturday, September 3, 2011

The Keepers Blog Tour with Excerpt

I'm excited to be participating in the The Keepers Blog Tour! Check out a little about the book, read the excerpt and be sure to visit the next blog in the tour!

Be sure to check out the next stop at The Wormhole tomorrow!

About the Book

Jess denies God. In his infinite wisdom, he's taken everyone she's ever loved. Moving to the French Quarter was a ploy to erase the guilt she felt for rebuking her faith. Perhaps, if she hadn't met Justin, an angel preoccupied with getting back into God's good graces, and drowning in his hatred for humanity, her plan would have worked.

Justin's general disdain for the human race makes him difficult to like, but some higher power has appointed him her keeper. Justin's convinced he can mend her broken relationship with her maker, but in the process he learns a thing or two about his own humanity.

Never mind falling in love, that's not supposed to happen. In fact, it may even be forbidden. Jess just wants Justin to understand her plight, and he wants to protect her from a world she doesn't know.

If neither are equipped to save the other, then whose soul will live and whose will perish

Friday, September 2, 2011

FricFrac Fridays (1)


Welcome to FricFrac Fridays hosted right here at Coffee Table Reviews.  A bookish meme, I will be asking questions to find out what exactly you guys love and hate as a reader.Grab the button, answer the questions and link up!



Do you have a favorite hero/heroine? What made them stand above all the rest?

My favorite is Kate Daniels. She's strong, independent and used to a life that isn't always easy. But what I loved most, and what stands out most for me, is that she learns to lean on others and to accept help when it's offered. She's witty and sarcastic and I love it. She's able to look her enemies in the eye and even when death seems certain, she never fails to stand up and do what's right.


 

 

Was there a hero/heroine who you thought fell flat, that you might have wanted to love but couldn't?

Haden from Falling Under. I'm not a fan of the 'Get her to hate me' schemes when the two are attracted to each other. Besides the novel falling flat for me, I had hoped that Haden would disappear and our heroine would find herself someone worthy of her. But, she was attracted to Haden. There are very few things that can make me not like a book. One, love triangles. Can't stand them. Two, Falling Under employed the previously mentioned 'Get her to hate me' scheme. I'd rather see them fighting to be with each other, instead of always fighting what they feel.


What about you? Link up and tell us who your picks are! 
Have a question you want to be featured? Fill out the form here.



Thursday, September 1, 2011

RAK: August Wrap Up

August is at an end, sadly. It's been a long month full of reading, home repairs and procrastinating on some of those repairs. I also bought a couple RAKs for people.

RAKs I sent out for August:

Ashely from Book from Blah to Basically Amazing
                   -But I Love Him by Amanda Grace
Candace from Candace's Book Blog
                   -Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep
Zareen from Reach for the Stars
                   -Firelight by Sophie Jordan

This was my first RAK. I didn't receive one, but I'm excited to keep participating!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns