CTR Current Contests and Events

Monday, October 31, 2011

Boo Bash Grand Finale Giveaway

Neri and I would like to thank all of the wonderful authors who participated in our Boo Bash this year and donated prizes! Thank you, thank you! Now, Neri and I aren't done yet. We have two more giveaways going on today!

We are having two different giveaways. One is strictly US/Canada (which you can enter by visiting Neri's Blog) only the other is International only. It seems that every time we do an International giveaway, the prize rarely goes to someone International, so Neri and I both wanted to make sure that our International friends have a solid shot to getting some prizes.


I hope all of you have a fun and safe Halloween! And if you are feeling nice, you can always send some of your candy our way!


~The Giveaway~


Prize Package








International Entries

For US/Canada Enteries, go to In The Name of Books for the US/Canada form!

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Boo Bash Giveaway & Guest Post with Barbra Annino

When I was looking for some great Halloween type stories, I was introduced to Barbra Annino. Barbra was in the process of putting together this anthology when I came to her and asked if she might be willing to let me feature her book and maybe a guest post for Halloween. Very graciously, Barbra accepted and was even willing to give away a few copies of this Anthology, that benefits Kids Need To Read.

About the Book
Foreword by Amanda Hocking

Take twelve paranormal authors. Toss them together in one anthology. Add a dash of romance, a pinch of humor and a dollop of mystery. Stir in a few ghosts, a handful of sorcerers and garnish with magic for the perfect witch's brew.

A Tale of Two Witches ~ Christiana Miller and Barbra Annino
Two young witches join forces to take on a soul-stealer when he threatens the small town of Amethyst, IL.

Black Magic Wiccan ~ Toni LoTempio
On one of her last assignments before leaving PSI, Wiccan witch Morgan Hawkes calls upon her Voodoo heritage to battle a vengeful spirit.

The Kiss ~ Edie Ramer
In this modern-day version of Sleeping Beauty, a woman whose ancestor was accused of being a witch in Salem is the only hope of a dying man with unusual powers.

The Trouble With Spells ~ Camilla Chafer
A witch couple must solve a family mystery using both their magic and their wits.

Rianna's Revenge ~ Dale Mayer
A young hydromancer must win a challenge to save her place as rightful heir to her elemental house. When she discovers her ex--the man she still loves--is one of the judges, she wonders just how many enemies she's really fighting.

A Ghostly Match ~ Misty Evans
When a Voodoo matchmaker looking for her soul mate pleads to her dead grandmother for help, she opens the door to a ghostly client with an impossible demand.

A Samhain Surprise ~ Debora Geary
Enchanter's Realm is an online game for witches. And the creators have a surprise ready this Hallow's Eve.

The Witch is Back ~ Rose Pressey
Stormy Sanders discovers a beautiful crystal, but with it comes a witchy fairy godmother. When Stormy attempts her first magic spell on Halloween night, mysterious Gavin Wickcliffe shows up at her door. That's when she realizes there's a lot more to magic than she expected.

Cats and Dogs ~ J.L. Bryan
Enchanted cookies from a witchy neighbor help connect Sadie with her own pets--and that handsome neighbor she's been eyeing.

The Hazards of Desire ~ Wren Emerson
Love hurts, but Desire can kill. When a young girl has a conversation with an old woman long shunned by the town, she finds out why it's best to guard your emotions closely and be careful who you put your faith in. Especially when it comes to trusting your own heart.

Orion's Moon ~ Terri Reid
When blood-born witch Cassidy Maguire opens her home to a stray dog she names Orion, little does she realize that she will not only be the hunter, but the hunted.



I spent a great deal of time with my Irish grandmother and her sisters when I was young. Anyone familiar with the culture of the Emerald Isle knows it is steeped in superstition and supernatural phenomenon. Ghost stories weren't told around a dim campfire at our house. They were shared over coffee, cake and Marlboros. They were passed along like a saltshaker, not to be feared--"because the dead cannot hurt you, only the living can"--but to be revered as tiny lessons gifted to us by the dearly departed.

I used to watch the women in my family share recipes and swap stories that would scare the pants off my friends, but these women weren't fazed by the shocking tales they told. Often I would imagine--listening to them wax on about the prom date that disappeared through the cemetery bars--that they were witches dishing out potions and spells.

And perhaps they were. Because I believe there's a little bit of witch (or warlock) in all of us. Although the potions may only be as exotic as a Cabernet and the spell may come in the form of a kind ear and chocolate layer cake, still, there is strength within us that can transcend any problem. There's something magical about that.

So that's why I wanted to put together this witchy-themed anthology to benefit the Kids Need To Read organization. Aside from donating books to poorly funded libraries across the country, Kids Need to Read also provides literature to juvenile offender facilities, dropout recovery programs and urban after-school organizations.

This anthology is an eclectic mix of stories that combines mystery, humor and romance perfect for this time of year. I hope you'll enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed compiling it with this fabulous group of paranormal writers.


About The Author

Barbra Annino is a Chicago native, a book junkie and Springsteen addict. A former bartender and humor columnist, she finds the funny in just about everything. Except those Humane Society commercials, which she holds personally responsible for the reason she has three Great Danes. She is currently working on the third title in this series, Tiger's Eye.


The Giveaway!!

Barbra is giving away 3 eCopies of the anthology, Every Witch Way But Wicked. To Enter, leave a comment below with your email address and tell us whot your favorite witch is! Contest ends Nov 5th at Midnight.

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Boo Bash Giveaway & Interview with Jennifer Estep

Edie Ramer is a dear friend of mine and a talented author. I'm excited to tell you she is giving away 2 ecopies of Entangled. It's full of talented authors, many I had never met before, but look forward to reading more of their work. Jennifer Estep was kind enough to let me interview Gwen, her heroine from her new series, Mythos Academy.


About the Book
Ghosts, vampires, demons, and more! Entangled includes ten suspense-filled paranormal short stories from authors Cynthia Eden, Jennifer Estep, Edie Ramer, Lori Brighton, Michelle Diener, Misty Evans, Nancy Haddock, Liz Kreger, Dale Mayer, and Michelle Miles, plus a Seven Deadly Sins novella by Allison Brennan.

Stacia Kane contributed the foreword. Formatting and cover art were also donated to the project by Lori Devoti and Laura Morrigan.



Are you looking forward to your training sessions with Logan?

Gwen: Yes and no. Yes, because I want to spend more time with the Spartan. I mean, hello, Logan is super cute, even if he did tell me that there are things about him I wouldn’t like if I really knew him.

And no, because, well, I still don’t think I’m much of a warrior whiz kid. Not like Logan is with his Spartan ability to pick up any object and automatically know how to kill someone with it. So it’s going to be a little embarrassing training with Logan since I have almost no fighting skills.

How did you like the trick or treat of Halloween with Mythos? Would you rather have gone door to door for candy?

Gwen: It was cool, going to all the shops in Cypress Mountain and getting all the free food and goodies. I was enjoying it – until a mythological monster called a Nemean prowler tried to kill me, Daphne, and Carson. That totally ruined the night.

I don’t think it would have made any difference if we’d gone door to door. We probably would have picked the wrong door to knock on and found ourselves battling a Reaper bad guy instead of a prowler.

Now that you've had a bit of time at Mythos, are you glad you've found out more about your Gypsy background?

Gwen: It’s cool that I come from a long line of women who have served as the Champions for Nike, the Greek goddess of victory. But it’s a little intimidating too. I want to be just as strong, smart, and brave as my mom, grandma, and other ancestors were, but I’m not sure that I’ll ever be that strong.

If you could dress up as anything for Halloween and not be worried about touch, what would it be?

Gwen: I don’t care much about dressing up. I have a major sweet tooth, so Halloween is all about the candy for me. ;-)

Be sure to visit Jennifer's site! She has a great newsletter that she sends out with cool book info.

Website   |   Twitter   |   FaceBook





The Giveaway!!

There are two ecopies to win! To Enter, leave a comment below with your email address and tell us who your favorite vampire is! Contest ends Nov 5th at Midnight.

Friday, October 28, 2011

Boo Bash Giveaway & Guest Post with Stephanie Sanders

Stephanie Sanders is on the blog today talking about her Middle Grade book, Villain School. This is a super cute book that will sure to be a great read for kids and adults alike!

About the Book

Rune Drexler, Big Bad Wolf Jr., and Countess Jezebel Dracula are students at Master Dreadthorn's School for Wayward Villains. It's like military school for the children of famous villains; it's where you learn to be bad. But Rune is failing at his villainous studies, so when he lands himself in detention (again), Master Dreadthorn assigns him a Plot. In one week, Rune and his friends must find a henchman, steal a baby, kidnap a princess, and overthrow a kingdom. There's only one problem: Rune's not very evil. In fact, his behavior seems suspiciously heroic. . . .

This hilarious adventure stretches across a fairy tale world where the mistakes of famous villains become valuable lessons for our heroes-er, villains. The mix of familiar characters and a wholly original Plot will delight young readers.



Villain School was one of those stories that just seemed to write itself. It all started when I woke up early one morning and jotted down a few words in a notebook. (FYI, authors should always keep notebooks next to their beds for just this purpose!) I wrote:
Villain School. Hero School. Villain father is angry his son is questioning evil ways.
Just those few words sparked a story. Shortly afterward, I came up with the idea of sending my main character, a young villain warlock, on an evil Plot. I thought to myself, "What do villains do?" Then I came up with four tasks: find a henchman, steal a baby, kidnap a princess, and overthrow a kingdom.
So, I had my plot, but I really needed to think about my characters and who they were. I knew they would be kids, but what kind of kids? I started thinking about villains from stories and fairytales and it all fell into place. These kids were children of famous villains who didn't quite meet their parents' expectations.
For instance, one of my characters is the son of the Big Bad Wolf, aptly named Wolf Junior. Poor Wolf made the mistake of saving a human child from drowning and so he was sent to Master Dreadthorn's School for Wayward Villains. Likewise, Count Dracula's daughter, Jezebel, is a vampire who prefers chocolate to the usual vampire diet. I pictured Dracula as a snooty aristocrat who was embarrassed to have a wayward villain for a daughter. Despite this, Jezebel continues to want her father's approval and even displays some of his high-and-mighty attitude.
Then there's the main character, Rune Drexler. His father is Master Dreadthorn, the school's principal. Poor Rune tries to be evil, but he just can't seem to manage it, to his father's eternal disappointment. And to top it all off, Rune has to compete with is half-brother, Chad, for his father's approval. (Chad's mother is the Gingerbread Witch from the Hansel and Gretel story.)
Although the kids in Villain School don't quite live up to their parents' villainous reputations, I think I'll forgive them. After all, it is their "flaws" that make them worth writing about.

About the Author

Stephanie S. Sanders grew up on an Iowa farm. She published her first poem in a local newspaper at the age of eight and knew, even then, she wanted to be a writer. Currently, Stephanie lives near Newton with her husband and two daughters. Villain School: Good Curses Evil is her first published book. She is currently working on several writing projects, including a sequel.
Book website: www.villainkids.com




The Giveaway!!

Stephanie is giving away a SIGNED copy of her book, Villain School along with a bookmark! To Enter, leave a comment below with your email address and tell us whot your favorite villain is! Contest ends Nov 5th at Midnight.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Boo Bash Giveaway & Interview with Edie Ramer

I'm pretty excited to share some of Edie Ramer's work. I think very highly of her and love her books. I've gotten the chance to get to know Edie as a person and think she's a really great person. I'm excited to have gotten the chance to get Cassie to interview Joe. Hey! I've heard he can be pretty cranky, I'll leave it to the pro to handle him!


About the Book
When Cassie Taylor talks, ghosts listen. She wants to heal their souls so they can leave earth. Brooding songwriter Luke Rivers wants to give his recently found daughter a normal home, but he discovers his new house in small town Wisconsin is haunted by a ghost with an attitude. His ghost whisperer has an attitude too—even before someone tries to kill her.
He wants conventional; she wants acceptance. No wonder she thinks men are hard and dead people are easy.




Sitting at a wooden table in Luke Rivers’ library, Cassie thinks if anyone could see them, they wouldn’t have a clue that the stud in a bomber jacket sitting kitty corner from her wasn’t flesh and blood. She hadn’t seen Joe for a while, and he looks different... Troubled, despite his crooked smile.

She frowns. There aren’t many people she loves, and he’s one of the few. Dead or alive.

Taking a deep breath, she puts on the smile. Aimee is waiting. Time for the interview.

Cassie: Thanks for sitting down with me. You never talk about yourself much. You’re so... good looking. I bet when you were alive you had a ton of women after you. (gives him a warning look) But don’t get a big head about it.

J: (shakes his head) You compliment me and knock me down at the same time. You got a problem, girl.

C. Woman not girl.

J: (leers at Cassie’s breasts then tilts his head to look at her hips) I’ve always known you were a woman.

C: (almost punching him on the arm, but drawing back before touching him) You’re trying to make me hit you, aren’t you?

J: (grinning) All the girls want to touch me.

C: Sure, all the girls love a man-sized popsicle. Don’t think you’re going to sidetrack me. Tell me about yourself.

J:  (the spark leaves his eyes and he leans back in the chair) I hate these questions. I was a cop. A husband. Mary died of leukemia. I survived. People do. I don’t know why I didn’t go to Heaven, or whatever the hell it is, but here I am.

C: You’ve been a ghost for about sixty years. All of the other ghosts I’ve met were here because they didn’t know they could leave. Or they had unfinished business. None of that fits you. And you told me you hadn’t even tried to go to Heaven—

J: Maybe I didn’t tell you the whole truth.

C: (eyebrows slashing together) What do you mean, maybe?  Either you did or you didn’t.

J: I sent a few messages to God. Nothing happened. I think they went to his spam box. (laughs but with no humor)

C: (shivers, her voice a whisper) How does it feel? 

J: Like God’s forgotten about me.

C: (rubs her goosebumpy arms) Aw, Joe—

J: No pity. It’s not a big deal. I think he’s teaching me a lesson.

C: Sixty years is a loooong lesson. What did you do to make him—or her—so mad?

J: (he grins, fake as hell) Who knows? I wasn’t the best husband. I never cheated on Mary. (his brows lower, his expression fierce) I’d never do that. But I went out with the guys after work. Left her alone too long. And when she was sick... (turns his head, his mouth a line)

C: (leans forward and sees his eyes glisten—but that’s impossible; ghosts don’t cry) You okay, Joe?

J: (turns back with his usual life-is-good-for-dead-people grin) I’m always okay. Let’s talk about something else. We’re here to entertain readers, not bring them down.

C: Subject changed but we’ll talk later. You’re not getting off that easy. (glances at a sheet of paper on the table) On with the interview. You’re getting your own book now. I heard Edie say so. What do you think she’ll do to you?

J: No clue. I hope she doesn’t put me through hell like she did to you.

C: She’s got a vicious streak. But it all turned out well at the end. Happily ever after.

J: Not ever after. Some day you’re going to die.

C: Am I? You didn’t die. Just your body. The real you...you’re still there. And I’m the one that helps dead people go to Heaven. I can help you. Why don’t you let me?

J: No, I think maybe...I need to stay to learn things.

C: What have you learned already?

J: To never take anyone for granted.

C: You’re talking about Mary again, aren’t you? It all leads back to Mary. You think she’ll be in the next book?

J: (his expression tortured, he shrugs, trying to look nonchalant and failing) When she was dying, she promised that she’d come back to me. But it’s been sixty years. (looks at the ceiling) Mary... (voice breaks and he pauses before continuing in a hushed tone) I can’t wait much longer.

C: (stands, arms out) Oh Joe, I didn’t know you felt this way. I—

J: Interview is over. (gets up from the chair and turns from the table, from Cassie)

C: Joe! You’re scaring me. Come back!

J: (strides toward the bookcase) Sorry. I got a story to tell, and it’s sixty years overdue. I might not even wait for Edie to get off her butt and start typing.

C: (drops arms) Good luck, Joe. (her voice wistful) Love you.

She waits until Joe disappears, then heads back to the hall and her happy-but-still-not-perfect life. Smiling, because she’s sure she’ll see Joe again. But her eyes are grave and a bit sad, because it won’t be an easy road for him. It never is for fictional characters. She wants to blame it on the author, but part of the blame goes to readers. They love to see characters reach the end of their rope...and then the rope starts to fray.

She decides to ask Luke to write a song. He can call it The Mean Reader Blues.

Be sure to visit Edie's sites!

Website   |   Twitter   |   FaceBook





The Giveaway!!

There are two ecopies to win! To Enter, leave a comment below with your email address and tell us who your favorite ghost is! Contest ends Nov 5th at Midnight.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Boo Bash Giveaway & Guest Post from Lee Nichols

I'm excited for my first ever blog hosted event! Neri (In The Name of Books) have had great fun putting all these posts together and talking to some pretty amazing authors who were excited to be featured!

I'm excited to have Lee Nichols on the blog today! I love her Haunting Emma series. I love good ghost stories and these are some really great ones.

About the Book

When Emma Vaile’s parents go missing while away on a mysterious business trip, she’s left all alone in her creepy old house. But her brother’s very cute best friend, Bennett Stern—Emma’s knight in J. Crew armor—arrives unexpectedly to whisk her away to New England. There, Emma settles into his family’s museum-like mansion and enrolls at an old-fashioned private school. She quickly finds friends in the popular legacy crowd at Thatcher and spends her free time crushing on Bennett. But the eerie visions she’s been hiding from everyone have gotten worse. Emma has memories of Thatcher that she can’t explain—it’s as if she’s returning home to a place she’s never been. Finally, Emma confides in Bennett and learns she is a ghostkeeper, a person who can communicate with ghosts. Bennett brought Emma to Thatcher to protect her, but now he needs her help tracking an other-worldly murderer.
A rich New England setting filled with mystery, tradition, and prep-school intrigue make Deception the perfect choice for fans of series like Kate Brian’s Private, as well as all those paranormal fans. The shocking ending will leave readers desperate for book two.

Lee Nichols was kind enough to do a guest post! I hope you enjoy it as much as I have!



When I chose to write about ghosts in Deception, I knew it had to be fall in New England. It had to be getting colder, had to be getting dark earlier, and Emma Vaile had to go to a Halloween party.

The party's in a mansion on the coast of Massachusetts and it's at once both tense and romantic for Emma. Her date is a hot boy who's dressed up as a rock star, and yet she's already fallen for a different guy who has the power to see and control ghosts like she can.

To top it off, really evil, scary ghosts, called wraiths, threaten the party and Emma—who doesn't really have any clue what she's doing as a ghostkeeper—has to fight them off or let them feed on the kids from school.

I don't think this scene would've worked if it hadn't been Halloween. That atmosphere of scary things that go bump in the night, costumed people you don't recognize, and the air of thrilling danger and menace that permeates on Halloween really added to the mix.

Just thinking about it, is making me excited for Halloween this year. Candles flickering in jack o' lanterns, neighbors and children unrecognizable in their frightening (or adorable) costumes, and candy. I love it all.

Happy Halloween. And watch out for ghosts!

Learn more about Lee Nichols and her books! Be sure to check out her sites.

Website   |  

The Giveaway!!

Lee Nichols is generously giving away a copy of Deception! To Enter, leave a comment below with your email address and tell us what your favorite ghost story is! US only. Contest ends Nov 5th at Midnight.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Giveaway: Destined by P.C. & Kristin Cast

It's time for another great giveaway! Zeitghost Media are offering up Destined, a House of Night Novel, by P.C. & Kristin Cast.

I've also been given the book trailer to show off, so make sure to take a peek and tell use what you think! Here's a little blurb about the book:

"...Zoey is finally home where she belongs, safe with her Guardian Warrior, Stark, by her side, and preparing to face off against Neferet – which would be a whole lot easier if the High Counsel saw the ex-High Priestess for what she really is. Kalona has released his hold on Rephaim, and, through Nyx's gift of a human form, Rephaim and Stevie Rae are finally able to be together – if he can truly walk the path of the Goddess and stay free of his father's shadow…"

Giveaway: Water for Elephants Novel/DVD Bundle


LIFE IS THE MOST SPECTACULAR SHOW ON EARTH
Win a novel/DVD bundle of WATER FOR ELEPHANTS, out on Blu-ray and DVD November 1

Based on Sara Gruen’s epic novel about forbidden love, and directed by critically acclaimed filmmaker Francis Lawrence (Constantine), WATER FOR ELEPHANTS stars Robert Pattinson as Jacob, a man devastated by the sudden death of his parents at the height of The Depression. When Jacob abandons his veterinary studies and stows away on a train carrying circus performers, his life is changed forever. Hired as a veterinarian to care for the circus’ animals, Jacob is temporarily filled with the promise of an exciting life that comes with a traveling circus troupe.

However, as he falls in love with the star of the show, Marlena (Reese Witherspoon), they become prey to the circus’s owner, Marlena’s abusive husband August (Christoph Waltz). With their love on the line, the circus begins to crumble from within, and Jacob and Marlena come to a crossroads that will forever change their destiny.

For your chance to win a prize bundle including Sara Gruen’s novel and a copy of the WATER FOR ELEPHANTS DVD, simply answer the following question (in the comment section along with an email address):

 Who directed WATER FOR ELEPHANTS?
·         Christoph Waltz
·         Richard LaGravenese
·         Francis Lawrence

Follow Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment on: Twitter @FoxHomeEnt

*Open to US/Canada only and prize will be shipped by Think Jam. Ends 11/1*

Monday, October 24, 2011

Book to Film: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

LIFE IS THE MOST SPECTACULAR SHOW ON EARTH

WATER FOR ELEPHANTS

Witness The Epic Tale of Forbidden Love Starring
Academy Award® Winner Reese Witherspoon and
Robert Pattinson On Blu-ray and DVD November 1

Summary: Take a journey back in time with the romantic tale based on Sara Gruen’s New York Times #1 Best-Seller novel of the same name, WATER FOR ELEPHANTS, coming to Blu-ray and DVD on November 1st from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment.  Starring Academy Award®-winner Reese Witherspoon (Walk The Line), Robert Pattinson (Twilight series) and Oscar®-winner Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds), the film presents an epic tale of forbidden love in a magical place filled with adventure, wonder and great danger. Showcasing the decadence of a bohemian circus and the majesty of its animals against the backdrop and beauty of a bygone era, WATER FOR ELEPHANTS makes the ideal holiday gift idea for your favorite film buff, fashionista or book-lover!

Devastated by the sudden death of his parents at the height of The Depression, a young dreamer from the wrong side of the tracks, Jacob Jankowski (Pattinson), abandons his veterinary studies at Cornell University. With no other family, no house, and no money, Jacob stows away on a train carrying the circus performers of The Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth.  Hired as a veterinarian to care for the troupe’s animals, Jacob is temporarily filled with the promise of an exciting life that comes with a traveling circus troupe. However, as he builds a rapport and falls in love with the star of the show, Marlena (Witherspoon), they become prey to the circus’s owner, Marlena’s violent and abusive husband August (Waltz). As the circus begins to crumble from within and against all odds, Jacob and Marlena come together and fall in love through their compassion for a special elephant. With their love on the line, Jacob and Marlena come to a crossroads that will forever change their destiny.

Directed by critically-acclaimed filmmaker Francis Lawrence (Constantine), WATER FOR ELEPHANTS features fantastic supporting performances from Paul Schneider (Lars and the Real Girl), Jim Norton (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets), Mark Povinelli (The Polar Express), Richard Brake (Batman Begins), and Academy Award®-nominee Hal Holbrook (Into the Wild).

WATER FOR ELEPHANTS will be available on Blu-ray and DVD in the U.S. Pre-book is September 21st.

 I was asked to review the DVD in comparison to the book. I was provided a neat little study guide. Here, take a look!


Okay, and here are my answers!

  • What I liked about the 1930's portrayed wasn't the style or the fashion, although that did catch my attention. What I liked more was seeing what the Prohibition was like for those in the circus. I love history and I loved to see this affect the characters (although it is not the main focus of the book or movie).
  • I liked Jacob's point of view. I'm not sure if this would have been as moving if it had been from Marlene, since she wasn't an outsider like Jacob was.
  • I was able to watch this with a few girlfriends, but being the only one to have read the book, I'm not sure that I would classify the book as a romance in my prospective. There wasn't a lot of interaction between Marlene and Jacob that we got to see. We got the ideas behind it, but most of the romance seemed to take place off pages and we just heard tidbits from Jacob later. I liked how the movie drew out the romance of it and we got to see a bit more.
  • I got to be honest. I know nothing of what it takes to get a circus going. Especially in 1930. We don't get the full picture, I think, but we do get an idea of what it takes to and how many people it takes to get a circus set up and torn down.
  • I liked the music. I'm not so sure about the fancy clothing (I am not fashion wise, unfortunately). I think it adds to the movie since we can't really hear or picture that stuff in the book.
  • You know, I'm going to say I liked the novel August better. While the August in the movie was still the bad guy, the novel August had a different effect. He was described as a paranoid schizophrenic in the book, but I think he was very manic at the very least. I don't think that came through in the movie. In the movie, August always seemed to be calculating and watching, without the on and off we get from the book August.
  • I'm not going to lie. Quotes are the worst for me. Even though I had watched the movie and read the book the weekend before, I wasn't able to pick out which one was from the book or movie!


WATER FOR ELEPHANTS DVD
Street Date: November 1, 2011
Pre-book Date: September 21, 2011
Screen Format: Widescreen 2.35:1
Audio: English 5.1 Dolby Digital Spanish,
French 2.0 Surround DD
Subtitles: English, Spanish
U.S. Rating: PG-13
Total Run Time: 2 hours, 29 minutes
Closed Captioned: Yes

Friday, October 21, 2011

Review: Sign Language by Amy Ackley

Released: August 18, 2011
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon | Book Depository
*Book was provided by author for honest review*
Young adult fiction winner Amy Ackley of Brighton, Mich. is a mother of three whose career has included a variety of jobs, from public administration to labor relations for top automakers. Ackley left home at the tender age of 16 and has supported herself ever since. Inspired by the loss of her father and two close friends to cancer, Sign Language tells the story of twelve-year-old Abby North. Her first hint that something is wrong with her dad is the scar that appears on his stomach after he goes in for kidney surgery. Soon, the thing she calls "It" has a real name: cancer. Before, her biggest concerns were her annoying brother, the crush unaware of her existence, and her changing feelings for her best friend, Spence. Now, her mother cries in the shower, her father is exhausted, and nothing is normal anymore. Nancy Werlin said the novel "tells its story beautifully and movingly, and it earns its hopeful ending. Ackley is without question a talented writer."

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Review: Jenny Pox by JL Bryan

Released: July 24, 2010
Publisher: CreateSpace
Rated: Adult
Series: The Paranormals, Book 1
Buy: Amazon
*Book was provided by author for honest review*
Jenny has a secret. Her touch spreads a supernatural plague.
She devotes her life to avoiding contact with people, until her senior year of high school, when she meets the one boy she can touch, and she falls in love. But there’s a problem–he’s under the spell of his devious girlfriend Ashleigh, who secretly wields the most dangerous power of all. Now Jenny must learn to use the deadly “Jenny pox” she’s fought her entire life to hide, or be destroyed by Ashleigh’s ruthless plans.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Book Tour: Jenny Pox Week with JL Bryan

The Paranormals series:

Jenny Pox, Book 1
Tommy Nightmare, Book 2
Alexander Death, Book 3

About The Book:
Jenny has a secret. Her touch spreads a supernatural plague.
She devotes her life to avoiding contact with people, until her senior year of high school, when she meets the one boy she can touch, and she falls in love. But there’s a problem–he’s under the spell of his devious girlfriend Ashleigh, who secretly wields the most dangerous power of all. Now Jenny must learn to use the deadly “Jenny pox” she’s fought her entire life to hide, or be destroyed by Ashleigh’s ruthless plans.


 Jenny Pox Playlist


I’ve always liked the idea of creating a “soundtrack” playlist for books.  I’ve played with creating some, but I’ve managed to put off publicizing them for so long that I can now use them as features for this blog tour :).

Each Wednesday, we’ll be revealing a soundtrack for one of The Paranormals books, starting with the Jenny Pox playlist today.  I’ve made them as YouTube lists, because I like doing them that way, and sometimes you luck out and find a video that’s extra good—maybe a live performance, maybe somebody’s homemade video of their own memories using the song as a soundtrack.  Not every video was a special gem of a find, but some were.

Here are some of the songs from the Jenny Pox playlist.  Feel free to comment on these choices, how or whether you think they fit the book, or you can suggest other songs you would add (assuming you’ve read the first book...):

“Creep” by Radiohead.  This song is still one of the best expressions of loneliness, hopelessness and feeling depressed and worthless that I’ve ever felt.  To me, it really fits Jenny’s emotional place early in the story, and for most of her life.

“Mushy Love Song” by Tsunami Bomb.  It’s fun, it’s cute, it’s romantic, it’s sad, it’s self-satirical and somehow extra genuine because of it.  The beginning of Seth and Jenny’s relationship.

“Walkin’ After Midnight” by Patsy Cline.  This would be the kind of song Jenny loves, something from the boxes of old country records that belonged to her mom.

“All Tomorrow’s Parties” by Velvet Underground and Nico.  I love this song, and it reminds me of Jenny.  Intensity and sadness.

And what costume shall the poor girl wear
To all tomorrow's parties
A hand-me-down dress from who knows where
To all tomorrow's parties

“Help Me Make it Through the Night” by Kris Kristofferson, performed by June Carter and Johnny Cash.  Well, I think you know what scene this is.

“The End” by The Doors.  You can probably guess this scene, too.  I spent a lot of time thinking over the right song for this, and I considered things by Tool and even Gwar.  But in the end, I chose The End.  I think it gets across the emotional and psychological distortion, as well as the murderous violence.

“Time after Time” by Cyndi Lauper.  You know you like this song, even if you’re too cool to admit it.  I really, really wanted to use the original 80s video for this, but the one I found on YouTube cuts off before the song ends :(.  If you don’t think it sounds right to represent the end of Jenny Pox, have a stiff drink, think about lost love or something nostalgic, and listen again.

What do you think?  We’ll do the Tommy Nightmare soundtrack next Wednesday, and the Alexander Death soundtrack the following Wednesday.  Thanks for following the blog tour!

 

About JL Bryan



J.L. Bryan studied English literature at the University of Georgia and at Oxford, with a focus on English Renaissance and Romantic literature. He also studied screenwriting at UCLA. He lives in Atlanta with his wife Christina, dogs Violet and Tiger Lily, and cats Shadow and Sue.



Contest Info: Jeff is offering two EPIC give-aways for his tour!


The first give-away is a daily Trick-or-Treat give-away that will run throughout the tour. Each day, one of our cute/creepy trick-or-treaters will show up offering a trick or a treat! See which one you got below!

The second give-away is a Kindle Fire, skinned in the winner’s choice of Paranormals artwork and loaded with an AMAZING indie library! Simply fill out the form below (just once during the course of the tour) and you’re entered to win the latest and greatest from the biggest name in eReaders: an Amazon Kindle Fire! Open US/Canada. See full contest rules here.











 

By leaving a comment on the blog, you automatically get 3 extra entries for the Kindle Fire!









Jenny Pox week:


Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Review: All These Things I've Done by Gabrielle Zevin

Released: September 6, 2011
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Girou
Rated: YA
Series: Birthright, Book 1
Buy Amazon | Book Depository
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty. And yet, for Anya Balanchine, the sixteen-year-old daughter of the city's most notorious (and dead) crime boss, life is fairly routine. It consists of going to school, taking care of her siblings and her dying grandmother, trying to avoid falling in love with the new assistant D.A.'s son, and avoiding her loser ex-boyfriend. That is until her ex is accidently poisoned by the chocolate her family manufactures and the police think she's to blame. Suddenly, Anya finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight--at school, in the news, and most importantly, within her mafia family.

Monday, October 17, 2011

Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Released: September 27, 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Rated: YA
Series: Mara Dyer, Book 1
Buy Amazon | Book Depository
Mara Dyer doesn't believe life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can.                                                                                                                                                  
She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed. There is.                                                                                                       
She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love. She's wrong.

Friday, October 14, 2011

Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Released: September 29, 2011
Publisher: Dutton Children's
Rated: YA
Series: Companion Novel to Anna and the French Kiss
Buy Amazon | Book Depository

In this companion novel to Anna and the French Kiss, two teens discover that true love may be closer than they think.
For budding costume designer Lola Nolan, the more outrageous the outfit—more sparkly, more fun, more wild—the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins move back into the house next door.
When the family returns and Cricket—a gifted inventor and engineer—steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Review: Fourteen by CM Smith

Released: July 28, 2011
Publisher: The Writer's Coffee Shop
Rated: YA
Buy Amazon
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
High school is hard enough when you do fit in, but if you don’t look a certain way or have the right friends, you’d better hope you grow a thick skin to defend yourself from the ones that do. Arianna Weller and Evan Drake are worlds apart, moving in different circles until they are forced together for a science fair project. Putting aside their differences from the past is not easy for either of them, but can they do it long enough to realize that they’re not that different after all?

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Review: Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Released: July 26, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rated: YA
Series: Paranormalcy, Book 2
Buy Amazon | Book Depository
Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for. But she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be... kind of boring. Just when Evie starts to long for her days at the International Paranormal Containment Agency, she’s given a chance to work for them again. Desperate for a break from all the normalcy, she agrees.
But as one disastrous mission leads to another, Evie starts to wonder if she made the right choice. And when Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears with devastating revelations about her past, she discovers that there’s a battle brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole supernatural world into chaos. The prize in question? Evie herself.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

ARC Review: Touch by Jus Accardo

Released: October 9, 2011
Publisher: Entangled Publishin
Rated: YA
Series: A Denazen Novel, Book 1
Buy Amazon
*Book was provided by publisher for honest review*
When a strange boy tumbles down a river embankment and lands at her feet, seventeen-year-old adrenaline junkie Deznee Cross snatches the opportunity to piss off her father by bringing the mysterious hottie with ice blue eyes home.

Except there’s something off with Kale. He wears her shoes in the shower, is overly fascinated with things like DVDs and vases, and acts like she’ll turn to dust if he touches her. It’s not until Dez’s father shows up, wielding a gun and knowing more about Kale than he should, that Dez realizes there’s more to this boy—and her father’s “law firm”—than she realized.

Kale has been a prisoner of Denazen Corporation—an organization devoted to collecting “special” kids known as Sixes and using them as weapons—his entire life. And, oh yeah, his touch? It kills. The two team up with a group of rogue Sixes hellbent on taking down Denazen before they’re caught and her father discovers the biggest secret of all. A secret Dez has spent her life keeping safe.

A secret Kale will kill to protect.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns