CTR Current Contests and Events

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Review: Getting Over Garrett Delaney by Abby McDonald

Released: January 24, 2012
Publisher: Candlewick
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
Seventeen-year-old Sadie is in love: epic, heartfelt, and utterly one-sided. The object of her obsession — ahem, affection — is her best friend,Garrett Delaney, who has been oblivious to Sadie’s feelings ever since he sauntered into her life and wowed her with his passion for Proust (not to mention his deep blue eyes).
For two long, painful years, Sadie has been Garrett’s constant companion, sharing his taste in everything from tragic Russian literature to art films to ’80s indie rock — all to no avail. But when Garrett leaves for a summer literary retreat, Sadie is sure that the absence will make his heart grow fonder — until he calls to say he’s fallen in love. With some other girl! A heartbroken Sadie realizes that she’s finally had enough. It’s time for a total Garrett detox!
Aided by a barista job, an eclectic crew of new friends (including the hunky chef, Josh), and a customized self-help guide, Sadie embarks on a summer of personal reinvention full of laughter, mortifying meltdowns, and a double shot of love.

Friday, February 24, 2012

Review: Ditched by Robin Mellom

Released: January 3, 2012
Publisher: Hyperion Book CH
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
High school senior Justina Griffith was never the girl who dreamed of going to prom. Designer dresses and strappy heels? Not her thing. So she never expected her best friend, Ian Clark, to ask her. Ian, who always passed her the baseball bat handle first. Ian, who knew exactly when she needed red licorice. Ian, who promised her the most amazing night at prom.  And then ditched her. Now, as the sun rises over her small town, and with only the help of some opinionated ladies at the 7-Eleven, Justina must piece together -- stain by stain on her thrift-store dress -- exactly how she ended up dateless. A three-legged Chihuahua was involved. Along with a demolition derby-ready Cadillac. And there was that incident at the tattoo parlor. Plus the flying leap from Brian Sontag's moving car... But to get the whole story, Justina will have to face the boy who ditched her. And discover if losing out at prom can ultimately lead to true love. Filled with humor, charm, and romance, Ditched: A Love Story by debut novelist Robin Mellom will have readers dreaming of love on their own prom nights.

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Review: Ties to the Blood Moon by Robin P Waldrop

Released: January 31, 2012
Publisher: Self Published
Rated: YA 
*Book was provided by author for honest review*
Genevieve is a teenage girl who moves in with her aunt in Alaska after the death of her mother. Soon after her arrival she learns the things she was raised to believe only existed in fairytales are in fact a big part of her history. When it gets to be too much she seeks refuge in the arms of her new boyfriend, William, only to find out he's not who she thought he was either.

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday: Books I'm Buying But I'm Not Sure Why



Desperately Wanting Wednesday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you want to participate, hop on over to her site, grab the button and sign up!

What I'm (not so) Desperately Wanting:


Okay... so there are a few series out there that I'm still buying books for, even though I haven't enjoyed the last book or the last few. It took me forever to finally give up on other series, such as Anita Blake (makes me want to puke just thinking about how that series turned out!) among many others.  

The first is Sookie Stackhouse. It has been a few books since the story has really blown me away or where I can get through a book without the fear that when I roll my eyes, my face will be stuck that way. The last book I truly enjoyed was All Together Dead. But I have kept reading. I'm at the point that I'm wishing that Ms. Harris will just wrap up the series already, since the plots have gotten recycled and there doesn't seem to be anything terribly new added to the series. And, might I add, of all the covers in the series, this is absolutely the worse. Hopefully it will make a little more sense after reading it.

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris
Sookie Stackhouse (aka Southern Vampire Mysteries), Book 12
With Felipe de Castro, the Vampire King of Louisiana (and Arkansas and Nevada), in town, it’s the worst possible time for a body to show up in Eric Northman’s front yard—especially the body of a woman whose blood he just drank.
Now, it’s up to Sookie and Bill, the official Area Five investigator, to solve the murder. Sookie thinks that, at least this time, the dead girl’s fate has nothing to do with her. But she is wrong. She has an enemy, one far more devious than she would ever suspect, who’s out to make Sookie’s world come crashing down.

I'm on the fence about this next book. I didn't care too much for the last book before this one. There are some major changes I don't know if I will enjoy in this series. I'm not so sure that something in the end that happens in this is even believable (although predictable).  I take that back. I actually enjoyed the first half of the book, the grief, sadness and watching as Merit learns to go on. The rest, I'm not so sure about. I said I would read this one and see how I feel after it. So, I'm going to make myself stick to that.

Biting Cold by Chloe Neill
Chicagoland Vampires, Book 6
Turned into a vampire against her will, twenty-eight-year-old Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago’s vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye—and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing—among humans or inhumans.

Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artifact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he’ll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.



Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Audiobook Review: Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

Released: October 4, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rated: YA
Series: The Carrier Trilogy, Book 1
Buy: (Although not recommended) Amazon
From the moment she sets foot at her new school in Ireland, Megan is inexplicably drawn to the darkly handsome Adam DeRis. But Megan soon discovers that her feelings for Adam are tied to a supernatural fate that was sealed long ago—and that the passion and power that unites them could be their ultimate destruction.
This electrifying debut novel was first discovered on inkpop.com. the online community for aspiring writers. THE CARRIER OF THE MARK sizzles with unbridled romance, a unique supernatural hook, and a breathtaking Irish setting, and will entice fans of the Need series by Carrie Jones and the House of Night series by P. C. and Kristin Cast.

Monday, February 20, 2012

Review: Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler

Released: January 3, 2012
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
Hudson can't wait to get out of Watonka, her working-class town outside of Buffalo. Once upon a time, her talent as a skater was going to be her ticket out... but when her parents' marriage unraveled three years ago, so did her dreams. Now, she buries herself in making cupcakes for her mom's diner and imagining her parallel life where she went on to skate to glory. But when she gets a letter inviting her to audition for a skating scholarship *and* the hockey team asks for her help with their technique (read: free ice time for Hudson), it's impossible to ignore the signs. Is she ready to get back on the ice? Could this be her ticket out? Hudson's determined not to let anything stand in her way. But between baking and waitressing at the diner, the love triangle that's developing with two outrageously cute hockey boys, and the simmering drama with her best friend, her future is anything but certain...

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Review: Existence by Abbi Glines

Released: December 12, 2011
Publisher: Wild Child Publishing
Rated: YA
Series: Existence Trilogy, Book 1
Buy: Amazon
What happens when you're stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course. Pagan Moore doesn't cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him. Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn't let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he's dead. Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn't realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all. He is Death and he's about to break all the rules.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday: Grim Reapers and Succubi



Desperately Wanting Wednesday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you want to participate, hop on over to her site, grab the button and sign up!

What I'm Desperately Wanting:

The first book is First Grave on the Right. I've read lots of positive reviews and heard from friends that this is just a great book. I'm not sure why it hasn't been in my virtual cart before, but this is one that I keep hearing about that I really do want to read.

First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones
Charley Davidson, Book 1

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper
Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.
This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense.

I love the Georgina Kincaid books by Richelle Mead. I love Seth, too. I read the first 5 back to back and was dying for the last book. The book has since been released. I still haven't bought it. I'm not sure why, because I'm still interested in what happens at the end of the series. There are some supporting characters I even want to see again, like Carter. But I haven't bought it. Along with the last few books in Mead's Dark Swan series.

Succubus Revealed by Richelle Mead
Georgina Kincaid, Book 6

In Georgina Kincaid, succubus and she-demon, #1 New York Times bestselling author Richelle Mead has created one of her most enticing characters. But with a shot at love, and maybe even redemption, is the ultimate seductress finally going soft? Like hell she is. . .
Georgina Kincaid has had an eternity to figure out the opposite sex, but sometimes they still surprise her. Take Seth Mortensen. The man has risked his soul to become Georgina's boyfriend. Still, with Lucifer for a boss, Georgina can't just hang up her killer heels and settle down to domestic bliss. In fact, she's being forced to transfer operations. . .to Las Vegas.
The City of Sin is a dream gig for a succubus, but Georgina's allies are suspicious. Why are the powers-that-be so eager to get her away from Seattle—and from Seth? Georgina is one of Hell's most valuable assets, but if there's any way out of the succubus business she plans to take it—no matter how much roadkill she leaves behind. She just hopes the casualties won't include the one man she's risking everything for. . .

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Love? Maybe. by Heather Hepler

Released: January 5, 2012
Publisher: Dial
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
Just because Piper's birthday is on Valentine's Day does not mean she's a romantic. In fact, after watching her father and then her stepfather leave, she's pretty sure she doesn't believe in love at all. Then her friends concoct a plan to find them all Valentine's dates, and somehow Piper finds herself with the most popular guy in school. But true love never follows a plan, and a string of heartfelt gifts from a secret admirer has Piper wondering if she might be with the wrong guy.
In this heartwarming romance, true love is more than a maybe - and it might be closer than you think.

Saturday, February 11, 2012

Gone Reading Promotion

Description: Gone Reading


Brad from Gone Reading emailed me last year and was wondering if I would help spread the word for his Gone Reading Store. After reading about the company, I said yes. Obviously, I love books. And I was excited to spread the word on a company that develops libraries in the developing world.  Here's a little note that Brad sent me:

Now I’m writing to see if your readers would be interested in a 25% off coupon code for purchases on our website.  The extra traffic and buzz would be a nice boost for our philanthropic work!

FYI, we’ve added some great new products, with much more coming online soon:


We’ve got an aggressive goal to quadruple our donations in 2012 to help fund several new libraries across the developing world.  We’re on track, but we’ve certainly got our work cut out for us.

Coupon code: COFFEETABLE25
               
The coupon expires one month from today, and is good for 25% off of any purchases at www.GoneReading.com except our bookends.


I've checked out their site and there is lots of great stuff to browse through! So, go check it out! Buy something! 

I've decided to do a little giveaway. I will be giving away some bookmarks from the Gone Reading Store. It is open to US/Canada and the UK.  Leave your email below for entry. Extra entries are available if you add the Gone Reading graphic with a link to the store on your blog, facebook, a link on twitter, etc (leave a separate comment with link). Winner will get to choose one charm bookmark and two regular bookmarks. Giveaway ends February 29th!

Friday, February 10, 2012

Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith

Released: January 2, 2012
Publisher: Poppy
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything? Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life. She's stuck at JFK, late to her father's second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley's never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's in seat 18B. Hadley's in 18A. Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver's story will make you believe that true love finds you when you're least expecting it.

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday: Dark Hunters and Fracture



Desperately Wanting Wednesday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you want to participate, click the banner, grab the button and sign up!

What I'm Desperately Wanting:

I started reading the Dark Hunter series over a year ago. But I made the mistake of reading the first 6 back to back and burnt out on the story. I have always meant to go back to the series and pick it up again but haven't done so yet. I'm hoping the next time I do get into it again, I'm smart about it and rotate books in between as I get caught up, since I hear Acheron's book is the best in the series.


Sins of the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book 7 of the Dark Hunters Series
In the realm of the Dark-Hunters there is a code of honor that even immortal bad boys must follow:

Harm no human. Drink no blood. Never fall in love.

But every now and again a Dark-Hunter thinks himself above the Code. That's when I'm summoned. Who am I? I'm the one thing the fearless fear. Step over the line and it's my wrath you will face. Nothing can touch me. Nothing can sway me. I am relentless and unfeeling.

Or so I thought until I met a female Dark-Hunter who goes by the name of Danger-it's not just her name, it's how she lives her life. She doesn't trust me at all. And who could blame her? She alone knows that I'm here to be judge, jury and most likely executioner of her friends. Yet she is my key to saving some of them. Without her, they all will die.

Dangereuse St. Richard is a deadly distraction. Something about her is reawakening a heart I thought was long dead. But in a race against evil, the only hope mankind has is that I do my duty. And how can I do my duty when it means that I will have to sacrifice the only woman I've ever loved?

This book is already out, but I didn't have it in my budget to get it the last time I bought some books. But I hope to be able to get it soon and to start digging in, because the cover is very eye catching and the blurb makes me wish I had made room for it, despite money issues.


Fracture by Megan Miranda
Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine-despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she's far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can't control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she's reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy's motives aren't quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?


Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Review: True Love and Other Disasters by Rachel Gibson

Released: April 28, 2009
Publisher: Avon
Rated: Adult
Series: Chinooks Hockey Team, Book 4
Buy: Amazon
Disaster Number One: Men
Hard knocks and hunger taught Faith Duffy not to believe in love. Still, when she married her very wealthy—and very old—husband, she became the perfect wife. And then he went to that big bank in the sky, leaving Faith with lonely nights, a pile of money, and a total mess of a pro hockey team. Heck, Faith doesn't even watch hockey! Disaster Number Two: Passion
But most of America and half of Canada is watching Ty Savage. His lethal sex appeal and deadly right hook make him the favorite of fans. For most of Ty's life, he's dreamed of winning the Stanley Cup. The last thing he needs is a bimbo messing up his plans.
Disaster Number Three: Love
Faith loathes Ty on sight, but she can't stop thinking about him all day . . . and night. Then a moment of temptation ends with Faith in Ty's bed, and she begins to see there's more to him than sex appeal. Ty discovers there's far more to Faith than beauty and billions. But a relationship with Faith is impossible, and falling in love—that would be a disaster.

Friday, February 3, 2012

Review: The Trouble with Valentine's Day by Rachel Gibson

Released: January 25, 2005
Publisher: Avon
Rated: Adult
Series: Chinooks Hockey Team, Book 3
Buy: Amazon
Kate Hamilton should know. Dumped by her boyfriend, stressed out by her job, she's returned to Gospel, Idaho, for some rest and small-town fun. But when her first attempted seduction of a hunky stranger is completely rejected, she wonders what else could go wrong?
Well, for starters, she quickly realizes that the Mountain Momma Crafters' original poetry readings is about as good as it gets on a Friday night. Then she comes face-to-face with Rob Sutter, former ice hockey madman, owner of Sutter Sports--and the hunky stranger who told her to get lost.
Rob's been more than burned by love--but then he and Kate find themselves in an ultra-compromising position in the M&S Market after hours, giving the phrase "clean-up in aisle five" a whole new meaning, and causing a whole lot of gossip in Gospel...

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday: Detectives and Werewolves

Desperatly Wanting Wednesday, hosted by Parajunkee's View
Desperately Wanting Wednesday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you want to participate, hop on over to her site, grab the button and sign up!

What I'm Desperately Wanting:

I read a lot of YA, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy and any sort of Romance novels. But when I first started getting back into reading, it was the Harry Bosch novels that got me hooked again. And it wasn't until Harry Potter that I took a walk on the Paranormal side that got me hooked into a whole other genre. Which has made it hard to go back to the gritty detective novels I fell in love with.

Harry Bosch, Book 14

Harry Bosch is assigned a homicide call in South L.A. that takes him to Fortune Liquors, where the Chinese owner has been shot to death behind the counter in an apparent robbery.

Joined by members of the department's Asian Crime Unit, Bosch relentlessly investigates the killing and soon identifies a suspect, a Los Angeles member of a Hong Kong triad. But before Harry can close in, he gets the word that his young daughter Maddie, who lives in Hong Kong with her mother, is missing.

Bosch drops everything to journey across the Pacific to find his daughter. Could her disappearance and the case be connected? With the stakes of the investigation so high and so personal, Bosch is up against the clock in a new city, where nothing is at it seems.

 This I found on Goodreads. I had read a review by another blogger and the story caught my eye so it is now on my Wishlist.


Wild About You, Book 1


Emma Gavin writes about werewolves, but that doesn't mean she believes in them-not until a pack of real-life New York weres decide to investigate the striking accuracy of her "fiction."
When Aiden Wallace, son and heir of the pack leader, tries to sniff out Emma's potential informant, he discovers something even more dangerous- an undeniable attraction to her.



LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns