CTR Current Contests and Events

Friday, April 20, 2012

Review: In Too Deep by Amanda Grace

In Too DeepReleased: February 8th 2012
Publisher: Flux
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
I never meant for anyone to get hurt. All I wanted to do that night was make a play for Carter Wellesley. His heartless rejection was mortifying, but people got the wrong idea when they saw me leaving his bedroom, crying. That’s how rumors of rape started.
Now girls at school are pouring out their sympathy to me. Guys too. But not everyone’s on my side. The school has become a war zone and the threats are getting scary. What began as poetic justice has morphed into something bigger—forcing me to make a terrible choice.

Monday, April 16, 2012

Review: Just Your Average Princess by Kristina Springer

Just Your Average PrincessReleased: October 11th 2011
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
Jamie Edwards has loved everything about growing up on a pumpkin patch, but ever since her cousin Milan Woods arrived, things have really stunk. Jamie can’t imagine it was easy for Milan to leave her life back in Los Angeles and move to Average, Illinois, population one thousand. But it’s kind of hard to feel sorry for her since (a) Milan’s drop-dead gorgeous; (b) she’s the daughter of two of Hollywood’s hottest film stars; (c) she’s captured the attention of everyone in town, including Danny, Jamie’s crush since forever; and (d) she’s about to steal the title of Pumpkin Princess right out from underneath Jamie!

Friday, April 13, 2012

Review: The Year Nick McGowan Came to Stay by Rebecca Sparrow

The Year Nick McGowan Came to StayReleased: April 8th 2008
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
Seventeen-year-old Rachel Hill is the girl most likely to succeed. And the girl most likely to have everything under control . . . that is, until her dad invites Nick McGowan, the cutest boy at school, to live with them. Rachel worries that this could only be a recipe for disaster, but her best friend Zoe thinks it’s the perfect opportunity for lurve. Sparks start to fly for all the wrong reasons. Nick finds Rachel spoiled and uptight and Rachel dismisses Nick as lazy and directionless. But a secret from Nick’s past draws them together and makes the year Nick McGowan came to stay one that Rachel will never forget.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday: The Emotional YA Picks

Desperatly Wanting Wednesday, hosted by Parajunkee's View


Desperately Wanting Wednesday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you want to participate, hop on over to her site, grab the button and sign up!

What I'm Desperately Wanting:

There are a few YA books I've been eying that seem to be on the "Tugging on the Heartstrings" side. These are the few I've been looking at and will try to make room for on the book budget soon.


In Honor
In Honor by Jessi Kirby
Releases: May 8th, 2012


Hours after her brother’s military funeral, Honor opens the last letter Finn ever sent. In her grief, she interprets his note as a final request and spontaneously decides to go to California to fulfill it.

Honor gets as far as the driveway before running into Rusty, Finn’s best friend since third grade and his polar opposite. She hasn’t seen Rusty in ages, but it’s obvious he is as arrogant and stubborn as ever—not to mention drop-dead gorgeous. Despite Honor’s better judgment, the two set off together on a voyage from Texas to California. Along the way, they find small and sometimes surprising ways to ease their shared loss and honor Finn’s memory—but when shocking truths are revealed at the end of the road, will either of them be able to cope with the consequences?
  
Someone Else's Life Someone Else's Life by Katie Dale
Released: Feb 2nd, 2012


When seventeen-year-old Rosie’s mother, Trudie, dies from Huntington’s Disease, her pain is intensified by the knowledge that she has a fifty-per-cent chance of inheriting the crippling disease herself. Only when she tells her mum’s best friend, ‘Aunt Sarah’ that she is going to test for the disease does Sarah, a midwife, reveal that Trudie was not her biological mother after all... Devastated, Rosie decides to trace her real mother, hitching along on her ex-boyfriend’s GAP year to follow her to Los Angeles. But all does not go to plan, and as Rosie discovers yet more of her family's deeply-buried secrets and lies, she is left with an agonising decision of her own - one which will be the most heart-breaking and far-reaching of all...


Dead to You Dead to You by Lisa McMann
Released: Feb 7th, 2012
 
Ethan was abducted from his front yard when he was just seven years old. Now, at sixteen, he has returned to his family. It's a miracle... at first. Then the tensions start to build. His reintroduction to his old life isn't going smoothly, and his family is tearing apart all over again. If only Ethan could remember something, anything, about his life before, he'd be able to put the pieces back together. But there's something that's keeping his memory blocked. Something unspeakable...


Monday, April 9, 2012

Review: The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

Released: February 21, 2012
Publisher: Dial
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
BRIE'S LIFE ENDS AT SIXTEEN: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn't love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally.
But now that she's D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there's Patrick, Brie's mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after.
With Patrick's help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she's ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday: On the Preorder List

Desperatly Wanting Wednesday, hosted by Parajunkee's View


Desperately Wanting Wednesday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you want to participate, hop on over to her site, grab the button and sign up!

What I'm Desperately Wanting:

I don't preorder often. Usually I have a stack of books I have to get through before I get to new books anyway, so I see no point in preordering when it will sit at the bottom of a pile. But, there are a few, that I'm excited for that once I receive them, they are on the preorder list and they will not be put at the bottom of the pile, instead, they will bypass my other books to be read straight away.

To be honest, I wasn't sure if I would like this series. I went into the first book a bit skeptical. I even had a hard time with the first few chapters. But then the story took off and left me panting when the book was done. Now that I'm a believer, I had to add the second book to the list.


The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2)The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead
Bloodlines, Book 2
Release Date: June 12th, 2012

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

Sydney would love to go to college, but instead, she’s been sent into hiding at a posh boarding school in Palm Springs, California–tasked with protecting Moroi princess Jill Dragomir from assassins who want to throw the Moroi court into civil war. Formerly in disgrace, Sydney is now praised for her loyalty and obedience, and held up as the model of an exemplary Alchemist.

But the closer she grows to Jill, Eddie, and especially Adrian, the more she finds herself questioning her age-old Alchemist beliefs, her idea of family, and the sense of what it means to truly belong. Her world becomes even more complicated when magical experiments show Sydney may hold the key to prevent becoming Strigoi—the fiercest vampires, the ones who don’t die. But it’s her fear of being just that—special, magical, powerful—that scares her more than anything. Equally daunting is her new romance with Brayden, a cute, brainy guy who seems to be her match in every way. Yet, as perfect as he seems, Sydney finds herself being drawn to someone else—someone forbidden to her.

When a shocking secret threatens to tear the vampire world apart, Sydney’s loyalties are suddenly tested more than ever before. She wonders how she’s supposed to strike a balance between the principles and dogmas she’s been taught, and what her instincts are now telling her.

Should she trust the Alchemists—or her heart?

I loved Catching Jordan. A lot. So I didn't even hesitate to add this next one to the list. There isn't much of a description yet, but no matter. It's still on my list.


Stealing ParkerStealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally
Companion novel to Catching Jordan
Release Date: October 1st, 2012
About a 17-year-old girl named Parker who falls for the new 23-year-old coach of the baseball team.
 









I was pulled into this next series with the first chapter of the first book. I loved it. The drama, the tension, the romance. I'm excited for the final book in the trilogy. The ending of book 2 left me desperate for this one.



This Is So Not Happening (He's So/She's So, #3)This is So Not Happening, by Kieran Scott
He's So, She's So, Book 3
Release Date: May 1st, 2012



After their long summer apart, Ally and Jake were hoping for a drama free senior year. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like things will work out that way...again. — It turns out that Chloe is pregnant and says that Jake is the father. Hammond is pissed at his best friend, but mostly can't believe that Ally would stay with Jake. But Ally is tired of being apart from Jake and is willing to make it work. But that is easier said than done when Jake starts blowing Ally off to go to doctor's appointments with Chloe and Ally joins the school play and meets a new cute guy.

But as graduation approaches, things get more complicated as new secrets come out and Ally realizes maybe Jake isn't the guy she thought he was. After everything they've been through can Ally and Jake get out of Orchard Hill with their relationship intact?
 


Monday, April 2, 2012

Review: Sweethearts by Sara Zarr

Released: February 1, 2008
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
Rated: YA
Buy: Amazon
As children, Jennifer Harris and Cameron Quick were both social outcasts. They were also one another's only friend. So when Cameron disappears without warning, Jennifer thinks she's lost the only person who will ever understand her. Now in high school, Jennifer has been transformed. Known as Jenna, she's popular, happy, and dating, everything "Jennifer" couldn't be---but she still can't shake the memory of her long-lost friend. When Cameron suddenly reappears, they are both confronted with memories of their shared past and the drastically different paths their lives have taken. From the National Book Award nominated author of Story of a Girl, Sweethearts is a story about the power of memory, the bond of friendship, and the quiet resilience of our childhood hearts.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs All Images from the Coffee Time Kit by Manudesigns